Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 00:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 25 of 27 [404 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
stray_dog

Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Mon 11 Aug 2014, 19:34    Post subject:  

Joking aside and such, they both seem really smart & I bet them comparing notes would be fascinating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1541
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 23:05    Post subject:  

Scooby,
Thanks for taking the time to discover the problems you mentioned. Sorry to take so long to respond. Many distractions. Although I have sent you a more detailed PM about it, here is a summary of my answers:
    1. Removal of dropwait option: I am updating frisbee to remove all code that handled the user adjustment of the delay value, now that I have settled on a dropwait version of dhcpcd 6.4.2 that checks for reconnection after only 1, 2, and 3 seconds before abandoning the link.

    2. Single instance execution: I have added the "flock" solution, of which I was unaware. Brilliant!

    3. Version numbering: OK. I cave. If we consider the 20140724 version to be 1.2.1, then the new one can be 1.2.2. Right?

    4. Hook scripts: The zero-length "99-" hook script files were there to support uninstallation of frisbee, to restore 6 old files from either the Frisbee "betas" or my initial attempt to reorganize the "99ers" -- I am removing those files, so uninstall will no longer restore any old versions of them; the only "99ers" should be 99-notify and 99-network_tray.

    5. TERMEMLTR: Actually, it was set in the wrong place in the code; I have moved it to where it works as intended, without an export.

    6. DHCPCD messages: They are logged in the system log, which usually is /var/log/messages; but gentoo linux and "metalog" appear to use /var/log/everything/current, instead, resulting in my having frisbee check for the existence of either and reading whichever is present (but not both).

Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1541
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 Aug 2014, 18:46    Post subject: Updated Frisbee 1.2.2 Available  

I have made Scooby's changes to frisbee and uploaded frisbee-1.2.2 to the usual place on page 21:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=780962#780962
The details of the changes are there, as well.

For the best performance and to use the almost-latest dhcpcd with the new dropwait implementation, also install dhcpcd-6.4.2-patched-dropwait, the third (or fourth, for slacko) attachment here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=790629#790629
Richard

UPDATE: The package is back in the usual place, as 20140818.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1541
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Sep 2014, 17:38    Post subject: Frisbee-1.2.3 Now Available  

I have uploaded another version of the frisbee network manager, frisbee-1.2.3-20140912:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=780962#780962

The main improvements are to the dialogs involving selection of items in a table and to the support of multiple wifi devices, plus various bug fixes.

Be sure to use only this version of "1.2.3", because its predecessors, 20140910 & 20140911, contain code that prevents wifi support from operating reliably or even normally. Any of those older copies of the pet packages should be uninstalled (if installed) and deleted permanently, to avoid inadvertent usage.

As usual, please report any problems with "1.2.3", so that I can continue to refine frisbee.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stray_dog

Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri 26 Sep 2014, 18:49    Post subject:  

Hi there, rerwin. For other folks, this refers to http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=800870#800870 & I'm bringing the conversation to the right spot. I'm not sure how much insight I can offer, but I'll try. The first thing I've noticed is the pop-up asking for ssid only happens on the machine I'm using right now, an hp elitebook 8530p that uses the iwlwifi driver. I've also used an hp dv1227us (somewhat old) that has never ever displayed the popup box. So I can only conclude that something about the driver/firmware for each wifi card plays a role. What that is though, I don't know. The other thing I notice is that on this machine I'm using now, it has only happened to me when attempting to connect to open unencrypted wifi networks. But then - most of my time accessing a network is to an open one, so I haven't had enough time trying it out on WPA or other types of networks requiring a password, etc. I've experienced it using the Frisbee version that was built-in to Slacko 5.6. And I've seen it with your Frisbee 1.2-20 as well. If you're on 1.2.3, that kind of gives you a window. One thing I noticed in late spring is that on our university network, when the students are here & there's a lot of network activity, it didn't happen much. But when they left for the summer & there was a lot less activity, it happened a lot more to me. Which was funny, because when I got on, the bandwidth was spectacular, but it could take a while to get on. Now that they're back, it hasn't happened once for weeks and weeks, until today! I've been using your patched dhcpcd 6.4.2 for slacko for most of this summer & fall season. Since the phenomenon literally *just* happened to me trying to get on tonight, I turned off my wifi rfkill switch & ran the frisbee diagnostic to get a tarball, I'll try to attach it here if it could yield any useful information.
pdiag-20140926.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pdiag-20140926.tar.gz 
Filesize  140.8 KB 
Downloaded  34 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron

Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Fri 26 Sep 2014, 19:22    Post subject:  

When I installed the bash "shellshock" fix (either the first or second one, using ubuntu precise packages for my precise 5.7.1 pup) it seems to have broken frisbee somewhat. It connects okay (to the previously configured network) and I can run the manager, but no networks show up in the scan results window, and no interfaces show up in the interfaces tab window. Anyone else have this problem?

When I switch back to a save file without the bash fix, frisbee works fine.

Last edited by cimarron on Sat 27 Sep 2014, 20:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stray_dog

Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri 26 Sep 2014, 19:56    Post subject:  

Weird! I will test & report back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron

Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2014, 08:04    Post subject:  

Here's at least one confirmation, by OscarTalks:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=95819&start=65
Quote:
I was testing Slacko 5.7 with the first slackware patch applied yesterday and did notice that Frisbee seemed dead as a dodo. Other network tools were still OK.


When I uninstalled the patch, Frisbee was okay again. I'd rather have bash unpatched than lose Frisbee, but if there is a way to fix it, all the better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3385
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2014, 14:14    Post subject:  

Request - if samba or samba client is running then warn the user.

_______________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1479
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2014, 19:53    Post subject:  

cimarron wrote:
When I installed the bash "shellshock" fix (either the first or second one, using ubuntu precise packages for my precise 5.7.1 pup) it seems to have broken frisbee somewhat. It connects okay and I can run the manager, but no networks show up in the scan results window, and no interfaces show up in the interfaces tab window. Anyone else have this problem?

When I switch back to a save file without the bash fix, frisbee works fine.


Frisbee beta4 in Carolina won't import functions with all versions of the patched bash that I've tested.

Sample:
Code:
sh: error importing function definition for `get-interfaces'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-dhcp-auto-wireless'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-bssid'
sh: error importing function definition for `start-wpa'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-priority'
sh: error importing function definition for `wpaconf-edit'
sh: error importing function definition for `wait-disconnect'
sh: error importing function definition for `reset-dhcp'
sh: error importing function definition for `set-drop-timeout'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-static-ip'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-conn-state'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-dhcp-auto'
sh: error importing function definition for `update-dhcp'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-gateway'
sh: error importing function definition for `set-ap-scan'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-status'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-enc'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-auth-alg'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-mask-wireless'
sh: error importing function definition for `connection-check'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-key'
sh: error importing function definition for `current-status'

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2014, 01:25    Post subject:  

With the patched bash there is a problem using hyphens in functions: you have to change them in underscores. I reached some success in patching frisbee but I am not a programmer. It's a job for more experienced guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1541
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2014, 12:52    Post subject: Re: stray_dog's and cimmaron's Issues  

Sorry to be so silent on these issues. Distracted by other high priority activities. I have been working the SSID prompt problem as part of my next frisbee upload, 1.2.4. The problem appears to be a timing problem in that the networks are scanned every 15 seconds and the results obtained. Independently, when the user clicks "Connect", the results are also obtained at that time, regardless of the state of scanning. In my testing, too, I sometimes see only a partial list of the available networks, indicating that a desired network may not always be seen by wpa_supplicant (which is doing the scanning).

For connecting, the SSID and encryption settings are obtained from reading the scan results. If the entry for the desired network is not obtained, the SSID prompt is issued. That prompt appears to be intended only for "hidden" SSIDs; but the other case is not separately detected. I am changing that. I am about to make a "debug" version of frisbee to log what happens in these cases, so that I can add code to handle them.

Regarding the Bash patches and frisbee's function names containing hyphens, I would like to wait to see if the intolerance of the hyphens is now permanent in Bash or is just a bug in the patch. So that I can continue working on frisbee, could some of you research the prospect for hyphens and Bash going forward? If it turns out that hyphens will be forbidden, I will change the names to use underscores. But I first need to know whether that is actually necessary.

Afterthought: Since puppy seems to use underscores instead of hyphens in function names, I think I will go ahead and convert the function names to use underscores. That just seems better, to conform to puppy convention.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1810

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2014, 15:22    Post subject:  

AFAIK hyphens were never allowed in shell names and thus variable names.
I do not think that is the new bash versions that did that.
(here is a fast ref). They are allowed in function names, however and this still works with the new bash versions.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron

Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2014, 18:08    Post subject:  

I can verify that watchdog's advice can be used to fix Frisbee so it works with the updated bash. Mine works fine now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1541
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2014, 19:24    Post subject: Debug tool for SSID prompt problem  

Here is a debug patch to frisbee that logs info when a "Connect" cannot be processed due to absence of an SSID when frisbee needs it. Instead of the "Enter the SSID" message (unless the SSID is hidden), the message will be:
"Network information for [interface] not available. Please try again to connect."

The data will be logged to /tmp/debug.log, which will be captured by a pdiag operation.

The debug code is in the 'func' file, which contains some other fixes going into 1.2.4. It should work, though, with the 1.2.3-20140912 that you are probably using. You can uninstall the debug package to restore whatever you had before as the 'func' file.

Please send me the debug.log file or a pdiag containing it, or just post the content of the file if it is small. Thanks for your help with this.
Richard
frisbee_debug-20140928.pet
Description  Debug package for users seeing the "Enter SSID" message when trying to
connect to a wireless network.
pet

 Download 
Filename  frisbee_debug-20140928.pet 
Filesize  19.96 KB 
Downloaded  47 Time(s) 

Last edited by rerwin on Mon 29 Sep 2014, 11:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 25 of 27 [404 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1210s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0242s) ][ GZIP on ]