Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2

Configuration wizards, scanners, remote desktop, etc.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#136 Post by Argolance »

Hello rerwin,
I noticed that the file /usr/local/frisbee/func inside frisbee-1.0-20130131.pet you posted above cannot be executed because it has no permissions and...

Code: Select all

export TEXTDOMAIN=frisbee
export OUTPUT_CHARSET=UTF-8
. gettext.sh
... is missing at the beginning of the script.
On my side, I admit that I forgot to "gettext" 3 text label inside the "frisbee" file...

Cordialement.
Attachments
170459_846x426_easyshot.png
(60.42 KiB) Downloaded 922 times
pot_french-po-mo_files.tar.gz
The pot file updated and the po mo French files...
(8 KiB) Downloaded 365 times
frisbee.tar
To be renamed without .tar extention and copied into /usr/local/bin as replacement of the previous one.
(23.96 KiB) Downloaded 364 times
func.tar
To be renamed without .tar extention and copied into /usr/local/frisbee as replacement of the previous one...
(36.87 KiB) Downloaded 367 times

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

#137 Post by peebee »

Argolance wrote:Hello rerwin,
I noticed that the file /usr/local/frisbee/func inside frisbee-1.0-20130131.pet you posted above cannot be executed because it has no permissions
Hi Both

It seemed to work OK for me.....in English

Thanks
peebee
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

User avatar
rerwin
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 22:50
Location: Maine, USA

#138 Post by rerwin »

Argolance, peebee,
Please do not make the "corrections" to the difference in locations of the export and gettext.sh lines. The changes are intentional. I will explain.

First, the func file is not actually executed as a script. It is invoked by the "." method of "executing" script commands. But think of that as merely including the func code into whatever script is referencing it. It should not have execute permissions, since it is not executed independently. That is the way it came from the "betas".

The "export/gettext.sh" case is more complicated. Putting them at the beginning of func was not incorrect, just not necessary. The only script that uses func and needs those lines is frisbee. So I moved them there. Besides, they are needed in frisbee before the invocation of the func file. But they must also be added to the internal functions in frisbee, because those functions are spawned as separate processes, for which the initial set is ineffective.

Argolance, I have merged your changes into my current version, which now no longer kills the older network_tray daemon. Thanks for your updates. But I wonder about one of the updates:

Code: Select all

<label>$(gettext 'Wpa_cli')</label>
which is the name of the command, wpa_cli, the command-line interface to wpa_supplicant. I think it should not be translatable, as it stands. But maybe that is not good for a label, because a user would have no idea what it means. Do you (or anyone, for that matter) think we should change the label to something more meaningful? Maybe "WPA Control". It lets the user interact with Wifi Protected Access (wpa_supplicant).
Richard

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#139 Post by Argolance »

Hello,
rerwin wrote:Please do not make the "corrections" to the difference in locations of the export and gettext.sh lines. The changes are intentional. I will explain.
Sorry to land like a bull in a china shop! :oops:
ASRI suggested me collaborating in the translation of frisbee. As he first didn't succeed in making it working in French, I tried to find the reason why: I thought it was!
Thanks for explanations.
which is the name of the command, wpa_cli, the command-line interface to wpa_supplicant. I think it should not be translatable, as it stands. But maybe that is not good for a label, because a user would have no idea what it means. Do you (or anyone, for that matter) think we should change the label to something more meaningful? Maybe "WPA Control". It lets the user interact with Wifi Protected Access (wpa_supplicant).
ASRI and I indeed think that it should be useful to change this label (and some other similar) to something more meaningful. More: some chains translated to French (it is the same for Spanish and German), are much larger than the English ones and this makes the GUI to be larger too! This could be a problem for small resolutions. We both have suggestions:
  • - The title bar could be something like "Frisbee - Network Configuration", so it could be possible to label tabs shortly, something like: "Wireless Networks" and "Network Interfaces"
    - "Enable Wireless Network" and the rest of the line could be separated on 2 lines
    - ... and the "Exit" button apart and alone on a single line down the window (maybe add an Info or Help button too?) or simply limit the labels to the single actions as it is already specified through the tooltips.
Cordialement.

User avatar
rerwin
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 22:50
Location: Maine, USA

#140 Post by rerwin »

Argolance wrote:ASRI and I indeed think that it should be useful to change this label (and some other similar) to something more meaningful. More: some chains translated to French (it is the same for Spanish and German), are much larger than the English ones and this makes the GUI to be larger too! This could be a problem for small resolutions. We both have suggestions:
  • - The title bar could be something like "Frisbee - Network Configuration", so it could be possible to label tabs shortly, something like: "Wireless Networks" and "Network Interfaces"
    - "Enable Wireless Network" and the rest of the line could be separated on 2 lines
    - ... and the "Exit" button apart and alone on a single line down the window (maybe add an Info or Help button too?) or simply limit the labels to the single actions as it is already specified through the tooltips.
Excellent recommendations! I will implement them. Thanks.
Richard

Later: How about this:
Attachments
simplified_frisbee_screenie.png
(25.39 KiB) Downloaded 725 times

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#141 Post by Argolance »

Hello,
I think it is quite perfect but am surprised that the GUI is still so wide! Maybe is this due to the second tab? What about it? Did you make similar changes?

Cordialement.

User avatar
rerwin
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 22:50
Location: Maine, USA

#142 Post by rerwin »

Argolance wrote:I think it is quite perfect but am surprised that the GUI is still so wide! Maybe is this due to the second tab? What about it? Did you make similar changes?
The width appears to be set by the size of the "Scan results" table:

Code: Select all

     <table>
      <width>700</width>
      <height>200</height>
      <variable>TABLE</variable>
      <label>$(gettext 'BSSID                    |Freq  |Strength|Encryption           |SSID')</label>
      <input>get-scan-results</input>	
     </table>
The image was produced by my development copy of frisbee. So that is what I will release, with any further improvements we make. I think that table can be reduced to 600 wide. If the labels are long, everything will stretch as necessary. So, 600 it is.

I am still not comfortable with the button, "View Diagnostics", because its window does more than that. Would the label, "Troubleshoot", be acceptable? It means to determine the cause and fix a problem. But maybe I should just drop "View" and use the label, "Diagnostics". That seems safest.

As for the Wpa_cli label, I think I will go with "Control WPA" and expand the tooltip.

Anything else?
Richard

User avatar
ASRI éducation
Posts: 3197
Joined: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:10
Location: France
Contact:

#143 Post by ASRI éducation »

Argolance wrote:...
ASRI suggested me collaborating in the translation of frisbee. As he first didn't succeed in making it working in French, I tried to find the reason why: I thought it was!
Thanks for explanations.
...
Hello Richard,
I understand your explanation.
However, on my precise 5.4.3 (LiveCD + pack langFR, without backup), your Frisbee package refused to go French.
For a French translation, I had to use the Argolance package sent me by email.
I will make more tests in the coming days.
Cédric

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#144 Post by Argolance »

Hello,
This is what I got inside xerrs.log:
cat: /etc/frisbee/interface: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
ifconfig: SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
ifconfig: SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
dhcpcd[7135]: sending signal 1 to pid 1481
dhcpcd[7135]: waiting for pid 1481 to exit
dhcpcd[7252]: version 5.6.4 starting
dhcpcd[7252]: all: configured as a router, not a host
dhcpcd[7252]: forking to background
dhcpcd[7252]: forked to background, child pid 7253
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Looking inside /etc/frisbee/, I found a file named "interfaces". It seems to be an error: be that as it may, a link called "interface" to the file "interfaces" apparently solved the problem and there is no error message anymore...
Suggestion: there are gtk icons maybe more appropriate for "Connect" (gtk-connect) and "Edit..." (gtk-edit) buttons.

Cordialement.

User avatar
rerwin
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 22:50
Location: Maine, USA

#145 Post by rerwin »

Argolance wrote:Looking inside /etc/frisbee/, I found a file named "interfaces". It seems to be an error: be that as it may, a link called "interface" to the file "interfaces" apparently solved the problem and there is no error message anymore...
Suggestion: there are gtk icons maybe more appropriate for "Connect" (gtk-connect) and "Edit..." (gtk-edit) buttons.
Edit: Wrong! - /etc/frisbee/interfaces should be a directory containing null files named for each available interface (e.g., wlan0). /etc/frisbee/interface should be a file containing the name of the active interface (again, wlan0). Correct: Both are files containing interface names. And "iface" is for something else. End of edit.

Which version of frisbee are you seeing this problem with? What did you do just before you found the problem? Maybe there is a bug somewhere that is confused about which is which. I will look into this today, before releasing my latest version that has the button improvements.

Regarding the button icons: what do you recommend as replacements?
Richard
Last edited by rerwin on Wed 06 Feb 2013, 19:43, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#146 Post by Argolance »

Hello,
rerwin wrote:/etc/frisbee/interfaces should be a directory containing null files named for each available interface (e.g., wlan0). /etc/frisbee/interface should be a file containing the name of the active interface (again, wlan0).
There is no directory but an empty file called "interfaces" (in the plural). There is a directory called "iface" containing an empty file called eth0 (which seems to be the single wired network I have - I have no wifi).
Which version of frisbee are you seeing this problem with? What did you do just before you found the problem? Maybe there is a bug somewhere that is confused about which is which. I will look into this today, before releasing my latest version that has the button improvements.
I reinstalled and am actually running frisbee-1.0-20130131. I already noticed this problem which is sometimes occurring but couldn't reproduce it.
Regarding the button icons: what do you recommend as replacements?
Not a recommendation, only a suggestion! :wink:
It was just a detail without big importance: Some gtk icons may be more appropriate for "Connect" (gtk-connect instead of gtk-add) and "Edit..." (gtk-edit instead of gtk-preference) buttons.

Cordialement.

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#147 Post by Argolance »

Note.
This occurred and is occurring again:
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
About 10 times every minutes and this doesn't stop... I ran frisbee and asked for the DHCP to be initialized again. And as above, this too:
cat: /etc/frisbee/interface: No such file or directory
ifconfig: SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
Attachments
180556_173x42_easyshot.png
(3.82 KiB) Downloaded 680 times

User avatar
rerwin
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 22:50
Location: Maine, USA

#148 Post by rerwin »

Argolance,
I fear that you have caught me making some mistakes. First, I was wrong about iface and interfaces. You are correct. I suspect that the problem is triggered by your not having a wireless card/dongle installed. I have been testing on a PC that has wifi, but nothing to connect to. That is different than having no wifi, at all. I need to test on my other PC that has no wifi. However, I also suspect I have made an incorrect coding decision, maybe since 0131. So, I am not as close to releasing frisbee as I thought.

Also, my apology about the icons. You told me exactly which to use, gtk-edit and gtk-connect. I have changed to gtk-connect, but am retaining gtk-preferences for editing profiles. The edit icon appears to be associated with editing a particular file content, such as wpa_supplicant.conf. The "edit profiles" function deals with multiple files and includes the option of deleting them. I think of that as "managing" the profiles, so have changed the label and window title to use "Manage". The gtk-preference icon is the only one I found even close to "manage". So, I kept it.

Back to work.
Richard

User avatar
rerwin
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 22:50
Location: Maine, USA

#149 Post by rerwin »

Argolance,
Although we may have more work to do on the button text, I have uploaded what I have to the "kit" (on page 8) and to my original posting in a precise-pup thread, here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 521#662521

I think I fixed the cause of your endless wpa_supplicant messages. The function that tests the status of a wireless interface did not check for there being no such interface. Now, it does. Thank you very much for calling that to my attention. And I tested it on my non-wifi PC.

I rearranged the buttons in the "diagnostics" window into 2 columns of 3 buttons, If you like that, I can do the same to the edit-profiles window and maybe the "network interfaces window.

I released it because it is almost ready for woof. But we can keep refining it until Barry grabs it. It needs some time "in the wild".

Here is the experimental Diagnostic window. I left-justified the text within the buttons by adding trailing spaces to the text, until they looked right. If anyone knows how to tell gtkdialog to left-justify that text within the button, please tell me. Otherwise, each translator should make the adjustment by trial-and-error.
Richard
Attachments
diagnostic_screenie.png
(31.53 KiB) Downloaded 590 times

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#150 Post by Argolance »

Hello,
If wifi device not present, I always get the same error message as above, but not so invasive.
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
cat: /etc/frisbee/interface: No such file or directory
ifconfig: SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device
Now, I have an old wifi usb key I plugged for testing:
This is what I get:
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
/usr/sbin/pdiag: line 109: 15692 Terminated gtkdialog-splash -placement center -bg orange -text "`eval_gettext \"Collecting files into archive file: \\\$ARCHIVE_FILE_NAME.\"`"
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
killall: wait-disconnect: no process killed
dhcpcd[29692]: sending commands to master dhcpcd process
killall: wait-disconnect: no process killed
dhcpcd[30702]: sending commands to master dhcpcd process
killall: wait-disconnect: no process killed
dhcpcd[30975]: sending commands to master dhcpcd process
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
Frisbee - Configure Networks/Wireless Networks tab:

If no wireless interface, the Exit button should nevertheless stay sensitive letting user quit the GUI without having to do it trough the Network Interfaces tab. (detail: the picture of the button is explicit enough so that it is maybe not useful to show "Exit", already displayed in the tooltip, making the window a bit less wide?)

Frisbee - Wireless Diagnostic Tools:
  • View Wpa_Supplicant Log:
    The window title bar maybe should display "Frisbee - Wpa_Supplicant Log"
    Set Drop Timeout:
    Just the same for the window title bar. Text should be adjusted for the window to be smaller (see picture 120945_1028x136_easyshot.png below) and the "Configure" button show "Ok" (The word "Configure" lets user think there is still something to... configure)
    Set AP scan mode:
    Just the same for the window title bar.
    For us (non English speaking guys!), "AP scan" or "ap_scan" (tooltip) are not very understandable.
    Global suggestion:
    Create a frame labeled "Wpa_Supplicant", then 3 buttons inside:
    • View log
      Edit Configuration file
      Control
    A frame labeled "Settings", then 2 buttons inside:
    • Drop timeout
      AP scan mode
    (see picture)
Cordialement.
Attachments
120945_1028x136_easyshot.png
Real size 1028x136
(28.45 KiB) Downloaded 579 times
154507_630x484_easyshot.png
(37.63 KiB) Downloaded 567 times
Last edited by Argolance on Thu 07 Feb 2013, 17:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#151 Post by Argolance »

Hello,
Question: Why to persist in using carved xpm picutres that are very ugly most of the time while it is so easy to use smooth png pictures for the tray? :evil:
Sometimes, it is possible to bypass this (retrovol for example) in using pictures.png with links to them named "pictures.xpm". But this doesn't work with frisbee tray :?. Indeed, it should be much better to let everyone keep the existing ones or customize them as he wants and modify source files for!

Cordialement.

User avatar
rerwin
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 22:50
Location: Maine, USA

#152 Post by rerwin »

Argolance,
Barry is about to consider taking the integrated-frisbee packages. I need to have them robust and ready. So, for now, I have made all of the internationalization/wordsmithing changes I am comfortable with. I added your suggestions for the window titles, for all of the windows. Since frisbee will reside in the puppy repository, it should be easy to update as we continue polishing frisbee.

I also fixed another place that could be causing the remainder of your wpa_supplicant messages. If the connection status is "disconnected" or there is no interface, a "disconnect" is done, which also did not check for there being no wifi interface. Now, it does. Please test the new package, which is now in the "kit" but is available by itself, here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 521#662521

About the icons: I explained my thinking earlier in this thread somewhere. I chose to remain consistent with the current icon size, so the size issue would not impact Barry's acceptance of the kit. That will have to be worked with Barry, since he is final word about it.
Richard

User avatar
ASRI éducation
Posts: 3197
Joined: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:10
Location: France
Contact:

#153 Post by ASRI éducation »

rerwin wrote:...
Barry is about to consider taking the integrated-frisbee packages.
...
Excellent !

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#154 Post by Argolance »

Barry is about to consider taking the integrated-frisbee packages.
This is a really good news for Frisbee and for users... :D

Cordialement.

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

Test on Precise 5.5Alpha

#155 Post by peebee »

BK has announced the Precise 5.5 Alpha containing the infrastructure needed for the "new" Frisbee.

I have tested -
Pristine frugal install of Precise 5.4.90 - added frisbee-1.0-20130207.pet and network_tray-2.6-20130203.pet - successfully established wifi connection which was persistent through a reboot using the Broadcom wl driver.
Cheers
peebee
Attachments
capture20381.png
(79.92 KiB) Downloaded 1627 times
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

Post Reply