Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Sep 2018, 21:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.02 185M
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 11 [154 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
AndrewG

Joined: 02 Feb 2010
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jan 2011, 15:35    Post subject:  

Quote:
Try opening /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf with a text editor and add a line
Code:
blacklist rtl8187
if it isn't already there, save and reboot. Or try BootManager | Give one module preference... | scroll down to the end and type
Code:
rtl8187:ndiswrapper
on a new line, press OK and reboot. BootManager writes to the file /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG
-TazOC


@TazOC thank you so much for your help.
adding a line in blacklist.conf file solved my problem.
There was no rtl8187 entry in this file when bootmamnager- black list module was showing it in 3 copies at the same time.

@beem. Thank you for info about weather plugin update.
I can setup up this finally. thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jan 2011, 16:03    Post subject:  

AndrewG wrote:
@TazOC
Thank u for reply.
The wrong download link I got from Puppy Package Manager when I click LightHouse. It directs me to:
http://www.lhpup.org/download502.htm#SFS


thanks and regards
Andrew
You have embedded a picture here.
The picture is too large for people with small screens.
People have constantly to side scroll at every post.
There is a convention, that if you embed a picture, it shouldn't be larger then 600 pixels wide.
So can you reduce the size of your picture to meet this convention and edit the post with the big picture.

P.S. Instead of embedding a picture, you can also add it as an attachment. In this case a download link is presented to the posters and it doesn't effect the size of the post.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jan 2011, 16:15    Post subject:  

tazoc, bad news. LHP lose connection to internet.

Did not happen using Fluppy or Snow Puppy. Very sad.

What can I do to have reliable connection with LHP?

Fluppy uses frisbee is that one possible as a pet something to add to LHP?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
AndrewG

Joined: 02 Feb 2010
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jan 2011, 17:16    Post subject:  

@Beem
Ok. I removed this big picture. sorry
There is also a convention to send a private message instead of making offtopic in a main thread. It concerns also to my reply Smile
regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 31 Jan 2011, 21:34    Post subject: lhp-update-notifier  

nooby wrote:
How do I turn off the automatic check it does for updates and such? At least it looks like it automatically take home things without asking me and I have no Browser or Email or anything activated. Does it check updates of LHP PPM or check time or what is it that goes on. Where do I shut this off?
Move /Startup/lhp-update-notifier into DisabledItems. Then the notifier will not run.

Otherwise the notifier checks for updates on remote server once with X start up. Just the package list (here) is downloaded and nothing is uploaded except the package list request:
Code:
 wget -nd -q -c --read-timeout=300 --retry-connrefused --header "Accept-Encoding: gzip,deflate" "http://lhpup.org/update/${DISTRO_VERSION}/PKG_LIST"
If no Internet connection is detected, it exits.

The actual updates are only transferred if a user selects them in Lighthouse Update. The scripts are /usr/sbin/lhp-update-notifier and /usr/sbin/lhp-update.

You may have received the new update splash twice yesterday. I uploaded Opera 11.00 in the morning. After verifying the upload I learned that Opera 11.01 was released on the 27th, Exclamation had security updates, prompted to update, but would not do so with out a full manual install! Mad So I built and tested 11.01 and uploaded it later in the day. I wish that Opera had a working updater in Linux like Firefox and SeaMonkey.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 01 Feb 2011, 04:21    Post subject:  

Thanks for good explanation good that Opera think about our security.
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 01 Feb 2011, 14:03    Post subject: Internet configuration lost  

Internet configuration lost

I had to go to Windows, which seldom occurs.
When I rebooted 502G, I had no more internet connection and had to reconfigure it.
When I do reboots from 502G to 502G I don't have that issue. The connection is made automatically.

What could have happened?
This hasn't happened to me before when going to Windows.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Thu 03 Feb 2011, 06:22    Post subject:
Subject description: Psync at boot
 

Psync does not work properly at boot. The autostart window comes up blank. Starting Psync from the menu works perfectly. This is not a problem with LHP 5.00 G on the same machine so I am rather puzzled.

I am currently using a simple "hack around" with the following one-liner in /root/Startup:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
# mytime calls psync at boot time
exec /usr/local/psync/psync


This opens the manual psync window at boot, "reminding" me to set the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
its-me-again

Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Thu 03 Feb 2011, 07:51    Post subject:  

hi i am trying to undestand if teh grub infomation sample ou give is grub one or grub 2 i would love a grub 2 example for my bootloader
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2460
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 03 Feb 2011, 10:50    Post subject:  

its-me-again wrote:
hi i am trying to undestand if teh grub infomation sample ou give is grub one or grub 2 i would love a grub 2 example for my bootloader
See this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 03 Feb 2011, 13:27    Post subject: Network connections
Subject description: Psync at boot
 

@Béèm,
I don't know; I haven't rebooted into Windows this year! Was the failure with a wired or wireless connection? Sometimes you can right-click on the network tray icon and choose Reconnect. Wireless connections usually do not persist on reboot in LHP anyway. I'm looking into Nooby's suggestion to try Frisbee.
drblock2 wrote:
Psync does not work properly at boot. The autostart window comes up blank. Starting Psync from the menu works perfectly.
Psync 1.6 pristine has no autostart window.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42978
Quote:
In response to requests on Lupu thread this version when set to autostart will be a 'quiet' version. There will be nothing to show it is autorunning at start.
For Lighthouse I added a brief splash to indicate time set and offset, however if a working Internet connection is not present at startup the offset is blank. To test this, click on /Startup/timesync.sh. This assumes that Psync has been run from the menu at least once and the Autostart button was pressed.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 03 Feb 2011, 18:48    Post subject: network connections.  

@tazoc,
I have a wireless connection, ipw2100.
The config/connection persists between LH boots.
Am I lucky?
Well, it's not a big deal to reconfigure, I just wondered why it happened.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 14:12    Post subject: reBooting Mariner LiveCD after session save  

I know that this problem is being worked on but I just wanted to know if your scenario and mine match,.

Scenario Multi-session LiveCD/LiveDVD:
  • Boot Mariner. with ram,sfscfg boot options.
  • at Initial Save Message, I select "Do Not Save..." to get to the desktop
  • At desktop complete some minor customization , then logout...reboot
  • At session-save text screen, save to CD
  • System completes Pop the CD back in to allow system to reboot from LIveCd
  • Keyboard not touch until 5 minutes after I notice the ...optical drive ...done message where system appears to be stalled.
  • Press the PC's power button, and I get a "WOOF!" AND SYSTEM PROCEEDS TO DESKTOP.
  • Noticed that CPU meter is unusually high. Run top
  • See blkid -s TYPE is the hog
I cannot KILL this "blkid" task, it keeps coming back.

Now for a question on a different topic
Is there a tool so I can see what SFSs are installed once LiveCD boots to desktop?

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Fri 04 Feb 2011, 14:20; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 14:17    Post subject: SSH in LHpup?  

BTW; This is a well thought-thru paclage. And it approaches Multi-User in implementation.

Question: Is there a document or write up for Lighthose so that one can SSH into it and get an Xwindow L:ighthouse desktop?

If not, anyone know how to go about doing this if you have 2 lighthouse PCs running? Want to SSH from one I'm sitting at into the other?

Thanks for all the excellent work which went into this.

And thanks in advance for any help on this question.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 17:15    Post subject: Re: reBooting Mariner LiveCD after session save  

Béèm wrote:
ID3 tags in audio files

I had to need to see the tags in a mp3 file and eventually edit them. ...I looked in the thread for pmetatagger and realize the latest post is from nov 2008. A bit old. ...

Did anybody succeed in seeing/editing tags?
Yes, open the mp3 with Audacious, right-click the mp3 in the playlist | View Track Details, to view (and edit|Save) ID3 tags. Amarok in the KDE SFS can do the same, as well as edit all of the tags in an album at once.

I used ROX Properties of several mp3s and found 3 versions in my collection: ID3v1, ID3v2.3 and ID3v2.4.
Pmetatagger and Pmusic could view and edit tags of the first two versions, but not the common ID3v2.4. I tried updating taglib, mp3info and libid3tag but it made no difference.
gcmartin wrote:
I cannot KILL this "blkid" task, it keeps coming back.
Yes, same here. I'm replacing blkid and libblkid with the Puppy versions, and fixing other bugs with the experimental multi-session CD/DVD mode.
Quote:
Now for a question on a different topic
Is there a tool so I can see what SFSs are installed once LiveCD boots to desktop?
From first boot/liveCD open /initrd/tmp/bootinit.log with a text editor. (There are links to this log and others at /var/log/BootLogs.)

After creating a save file on reboot, then should also be able to use the GUI: Menu | System | BootManager | Select and configure SFS.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 11 [154 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2027s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0168s) ][ GZIP on ]