Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 06:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy installed along with SUSE
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
raphyboi02

Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 15:51    Post subject:  Puppy installed along with SUSE
Subject description: Can't boot SUSE
 

A friend installed Puppy4.2 on my HP Mini-Note laptop, 1.2 GHz, 120G HD. It was shipped with SUSE Linux Enterprize Desktop.
On boot up I get the HP boot screen then the puppy logo, with the options:
Linux (on /dev/sda2)
Linux (on /dev/sda3)
Install GRUB to floppy disk (on /dev/fdo)
Install GRUB to Linux partition (on /dev/sda3)
Help
Usage examles
Hitting enter on sda2 results in this:
VFS: Cannot open root device "sda2" or unknown-block(0.0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel panic - not synsing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on uinknown-block(0.0)

Hitting enter on sda3 boots up Puppy which works properly.
But I would like to have dual boot options.
How do I fix it?
Thanks, Ralph
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 16:02    Post subject:  

I would use grub4dosconfig and let it find a way to do it properly

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697

You can use it on CD/DVD or USB or on the HDD too as I get it.

Read the thread and see what is easiest for you to apply

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raphyboi02

Joined: 29 Dec 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 29 Dec 2010, 19:34    Post subject:  

Thanks, I'll give it a try!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 30 Dec 2010, 16:39    Post subject:  

SUSE might not use a link vmlinuz to something like vmlinuz-2.6.27-9-generic
at its /boot folder .

There must be /boot folders on both Linux (on /dev/sda2) and Linux (on /dev/sda3)

Look inside the boot folders from running puppy.

There must be a folder called /boot/grub

Look for the file /boot/grub/menu.lst or /boot/grub/grub.cfg

Clicking the file should open the defaulttexteditor /FILE

There you should add or change the entry for SUSE

## This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for an existing
## linux installation on /dev/sda1.
title SUSE LINUX 9.2 (on /dev/sda1)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 vga=0x31a selinux=0 splash=silent resume=/dev/hda2 desktop elevator=as showopts
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd
savedefault
boot

# This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for an existing
# linux installation on /dev/sda1.
title Failsafe -- SUSE LINUX 9.2 (on /dev/sda1)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off vga=normal noresume selinux=0 barrier=off nosmp noapic maxcpus=0 3
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd
savedefault
boot

for legacy grub <=1.0
(Note this 5 year old suse still uses hda ((p)ata) instead of sda ((s)ata) )

and for grub2 :
## BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry "SUSE LINUX 9.2 (on /dev/sda1)" {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 045a68d4-a1ac-4840-9d76-30820b36ae50
linux /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 vga=0x31a selinux=0 splash=silent resume=/dev/hda2 desktop elevator=as showopts
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd
}
menuentry "Failsafe -- SUSE LINUX 9.2 (on /dev/sda1)" {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 045a68d4-a1ac-4840-9d76-30820b36ae50
linux /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off vga=normal noresume selinux=0 barrier=off nosmp noapic maxcpus=0 3
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd
}


I further wonder where /dev/sda1 is ? Is it a 10 G Win recovery partition ?

You would have to change root (hd0,0) to root (hd0,1)
Quote:
Please append a correct "root=" boot option

and root=/dev/sda2 or root=/dev/hda2
to the menu.lst
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0496s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0100s) ][ GZIP on ]