Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 02:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.31 sfs loads into RAM with 188MB RAM.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sun 26 Dec 2010, 16:02    Post_subject:  Puppy 4.31 sfs loads into RAM with 188MB RAM.  

350MHz HP 4530 (AMD K6-2 cpu), upgraded from 32MB to 192MB (4MB are used by video). Puppy 4.31 loads itself into memory, leaving 4MB free ram to work in. On a Thinkpad 770E with 228MB memory it does not load itself into ram, and I have 145MB free to work in and puppy runs quite quickly. I tried on the HP pfix=noram and pfix=nocopy (booting with loadlin). Also when I select 'save to hda2' it saves but on boot ignores the saved info so I had to save to a file. I now also have a 200MB swap file.

On a slow computer with slow hard drive will puppy run faster from memory or from hard drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PANZERKOPF

Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 27 Dec 2010, 10:41    Post_subject: Re: Puppy 4.31 sfs loads into RAM with 188MB RAM.  

sindi wrote:

On a slow computer with slow hard drive will puppy run faster from memory or from hard drive?

RAM is always faster than HDD. (I mean usual mechanical HDD).

_________________
SUUM CUIQUE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Mon 27 Dec 2010, 12:38    Post_subject: saving to hda2
Sub_title: does not work and causes problems
 

When I saved to /dev/hda2 various partitions with files appeared in my puppy partition, but on reboot I was again asked to
choose keyboard and resolution, and I had only 4MB free RAM. When I saved to a pup_save file in the same partition (and
deleted /etc /initrd etc.), on the next boot my settings were still there AND I had much more free memory (the main sfs
file was probably not loaded into memory). Frugal install. I had thought saving to /dev/hda2 would reduce memory usage,
but it was the opposite. In my experience, on a computer with 350MHz cpu it takes a few seconds from clicking on the icon
to when a program starts to load with frugal install. Would it load faster from full install with slow cpu? (Problem is
when the user turns it off without shutting down, from full install, it crashes unfixably, even e2fsck run manually from
the live cd could not fix it - I experimented repeatedly with this). I upped it from 188 to 252MB memory because Firefox
3.6 was using 113% of physical RAM, and will try booting with pfix=nocopy if 252MB is not sufficiently low to stop puppy
from automatically loading into RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0405s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0032s) ][ GZIP on ]