Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Feb 2020, 05:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to use Cricket modem with Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
NutMeg

PostPosted: Fri 24 Dec 2010, 00:18    Post subject:  How to use Cricket modem with Puppy
Subject description: My feeble attempts up to now have been unsuccessful

Hello Everyone,
I'm new to Linux, and just got Puppy installed and running tonight on a USB flash drive. It's version 5.1.1. I really haven't done anything with it yet except play around with some of the settings and open some of the apps it came with. It looks really good.

But my priority is an internet connection. Cricket does say that they don't support Linux (fools), but the modem setup I ran on Puppy seemed straightforward and I really hoped it would work. Alas, it was not to be. At least not yet. (I'm trying to be optimistic here.)

Puppy's setup routine found the modem and its initialization strings. I had to plug in the number to dial, the username, and the password. Then I tried dialing, and up came a window recording the process - which seemed very like the one I used when I was on dialup. But it couldn't make a connection. It was an automatic redial, so I let it keep trying for a while, but eventually stopped it.