Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 14:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-511
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 18 [259 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9126
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2011, 11:10    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
Interesting. Epson tools from cups doesn't work without usblp - and yet the same cups won't work with usblp (I'm talking about default cups in FD64).

Were you talking about escputil? It is actually part of the Gutenprint package, not CUPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
l2ulinux


Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 148
Location: Blountstown, Fl.

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2011, 18:15    Post subject: Fatdog64
Subject description: Working Well
 

It is working very well and THANKS for the chance to get to use it.

Operating System
Version
Kernel Linux 2.6.35.7 (x86_64)
Compiled #1 SMP Tue Nov 9 00:23:48 GMT+5 2010
C Library GNU C Library version 2.11.1 (stable)
Distribution Puppy Linux 0.50
Current Session
Computer Name fatdog64
User Name root (root)
Home Directory /root
Desktop Environment Unknown (Window Manager: Openbox)
Misc
Uptime 3 hours, 57 minutes
Load Average 0.05, 0.05, 0.06
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 29 May 2011, 19:30    Post subject: Useful Configuration  

@Ray MK and @Rickkk, welcome to 64bit world of Puppyland; nmely FATDOG.

I am not the official greeter, but I have been using FATDOG on an 8GB and a 4GB system without incidents. The help I have received and the understanding that these Puppy owners provided me is extremely good, clear, and consistent.

I run a LiveDVD environment, as such, I have NEVER installed anything on a HDD/USB ever in running FATDOG! My HDD/USB are ONLY used as storage devices; never for running the OS (This is a personal preference for I have outstanding performance running as I do from the LiveCDs/LiveDVDs/PXE.)

Most everything I need is in FATDOG so I may NOT be a good example, but let me share what I have in my 8GB PC. It has 2 services added via PPM and 1 service that Kirk has made available, almost exclusively, to me for Sharing files from FATDOG with all of my LAN PCs (including all windows and all Linux distros) Those services are the latest nVidia PET, the SAMBA PET (that I referenced) and 2 PETs which allow FATDOG to be a boot server to various other machines I test with on the LAN (this was provided, Thanks to JamesBond). That's it. (I think I may have flash installed, but its been so long ago, I can't remember if I did or not.)

That PC is a main system that is used everyday for internet, multimedia playback, NAS storage, adjustments of test cases used on other PCs. The PC has only been down 3 times in the year I have run V5 FATDOGs:
1. changed to new 5.10 ISO
2. change to new 5.11 ISO
3. Test a feature for comparison
Thus, the system is stable, Stable, STABLE!

The 2 systems have DVD writers, so, I write my ISOs to DVD in "multi-session mode" so that FATDOG can save all of my work whenever I need to reboot the system. This has worked flawlessly over time.

One thing that you MAY want to do is to setup a SWAP partition that is the size of your RAM. As, I have found that from time to time the system has used it, although those have been rare occasions. (Right now for example, my browser has 5 windows open with about 5-6 tabs open within each window.

Should you want to use the services I mentioned for your FATDOGI am expecting that the SAMBA PET will be made available via PPM in the upcoming June upgrade to FATDOG.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Mon 30 May 2011, 19:41    Post subject:  

I am having trouble connecting to my wireless. i manage to get it to connect. until i remove my dsl cable then it disconnects.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 31 May 2011, 14:29    Post subject: Problem with LAN  

HiDeHo wrote:
I am having trouble connecting to my wireless. i manage to get it to connect. until i remove my dsl cable then it disconnects.
Can you run this command in a terminal
Code:
ip address show
and post, back here, 2 things:
  1. results before you disconnect the cable
  2. results after you remove the cble to your PC's ethernet card
please.

Looking forward

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aung

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 119
Location: Hervey Bay

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun 2011, 00:58    Post subject: new AMD cpu/gpu
Subject description: gpu is in the cpu
 

I have a new AMD E 350 fusion cpu that has the graphics inside the cpu. Could the drivers for it be included in the next Fatdog. The dash hound in ones face looks more like a sauuuuuusage dog and looks like Fatdog sat on the Firefox icon. Others on my wish list, auto line wrapping in Geany and Nicoedit and a delete to rubbish bin instead of delete to the never never. 3G modem support would be great also but that a hard one so not pushing for it. Aung
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun 2011, 18:38    Post subject: Syslogd  

I need to run a syslog server. In FATDOG, I see
Code:
# ps waux | grep sysl
root      9906  0.0  0.0   7208   316 ?        Ss   May28   0:00 syslogd -m 0
root     21309  0.0  0.0   4176   512 pts/3    S+   18:37   0:00 grep sysl
But, I cannot find a syslog log file or a syslog conf file.
  • Could someone help by directing me to where these may be hiding in the system?
  • Does anyone know if syslogd logs from the "standard" port when LAN connected machines direct to it?
  • Has anyone ever used syslog on a PUP (If so, could you share your experiences)?
Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rickkk


Joined: 07 Oct 2010
Posts: 23
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jun 2011, 13:25    Post subject: VirtualBox in FatDog ?  

Hey all,

Please point me in the right direction if the answer to this question is already somewhere in the topic ...

Is there a way to get 64-bit VirtualBox working on FatDog ? The installer from the Oracle site seems to install the app, but it just won't start when selected from the menu (nothing happens ...).

Thanks again for any guidance ...

Cheers,

Rick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jun 2011, 22:20    Post subject: Re: VirtualBox in FatDog ?  

Rickkk wrote:
Hey all,

Please point me in the right direction if the answer to this question is already somewhere in the topic ...

Is there a way to get 64-bit VirtualBox working on FatDog ?
jamesbond wrote a script to d/l and install the latest VB, get it here. Need the fd64-devx_511.sfs installed before running the installer--if not it will let you know it isn't available. Also need at least ~250MiB free space if you're using a frugal install, and I symlink /root/.VirtualBox out to somewhere in /mnt/home or another partition. When an app won't start, try typing the executable in a terminal. In this case that would be
Code:
VirtualBox
The app typically installs in /opt/VirtualBox.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2011, 16:05    Post subject:  

I wanted to see if Firefox was faster on Fatdog 64 than on Lucid 5.2.5, and the answer is Yes. This is a special Firefox 5.0b5, compiled for my AMD Phenom cpu in Fatdog 64 and I compared it to a version likewise compiled for Phenom (amdfam10) in Lucid 5.2.5. This one is 64-bits and the Lucid build is 32 bits. The Lucid build scores 4900 on the Peacekeeper benchmark and this one scores 5431, which makes it a solid 10% faster. The score for unknown: unknown is for the version of Firefox (Namaroka) 3.6.13 that is included with Fatdog 511.



If you have a Phenom or an Athlon 2 (I am not sure about Athlon 64) this build should work for you in Fatdog 64 only of course.

Firefox 64 5.0b5 for amdfam10/Phenom -> http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/firefox64-5.0b5-amdfam10.pet

It is possible to compile it on and for your own cpu. There are some instructions for Lucid. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67756

The version currently linked is recompiled with kirk's options, from the message below.

.

Last edited by playdayz on Sat 18 Jun 2011, 22:10; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1409
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2011, 17:14    Post subject:  

playdayz,

I build Firefox like this:

./configure --prefix=/usr --disable-dbus --disable-hal --disable-crashreporter --enable-strip --enable-application=browser --disable-libnotify


You shouldn't need any other dependencies that way. Fatdog64-520 has Firefox 4.0.1. I'll be posting a beta soon hopefully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rickkk


Joined: 07 Oct 2010
Posts: 23
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2011, 17:24    Post subject: Re: VirtualBox in FatDog ?  

tazoc wrote:
Rickkk wrote:
Hey all,

Please point me in the right direction if the answer to this question is already somewhere in the topic ...

Is there a way to get 64-bit VirtualBox working on FatDog ?
jamesbond wrote a script to d/l and install the latest VB, get it here. Need the fd64-devx_511.sfs installed before running the installer--if not it will let you know it isn't available. Also need at least ~250MiB free space if you're using a frugal install, and I symlink /root/.VirtualBox out to somewhere in /mnt/home or another partition. When an app won't start, try typing the executable in a terminal. In this case that would be
Code:
VirtualBox
The app typically installs in /opt/VirtualBox.
-TazOC


Thanks, Tazoc (and JamesBond). The script did the job most painlessly ... Wink

Once again, kudos to the FatDog/Puppy community for excellent support !

Cheers from warm, sunny (yay !) Montreal,

Rick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jun 2011, 15:30    Post subject:  

I couldn't use Fatdog without my trusty audio player, so here is Audacious 2.5.1 for Fatdog. The main thing I like is that it is easy to choose whichever audio device, without changing the default. It plays everything. I just like it.

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/audacious64-2.5.1.pet

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jun 2011, 19:52    Post subject: Would the same parms be used for SeaMonkey 2.1  

kirk wrote:
playdayz,

I build Firefox like this:

./configure --prefix=/usr --disable-dbus --disable-hal --disable-crashreporter --enable-strip --enable-application=browser --disable-libnotify ...
Would the same parms be used for SeaMonkey 2.1?

Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1409
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2011, 16:56    Post subject:  

Quote:
playdayz,

I build Firefox like this:

./configure --prefix=/usr --disable-dbus --disable-hal --disable-crashreporter --enable-strip --enable-application=browser --disable-libnotify ...
Would the same parms be used for SeaMonkey 2.1?


Yes, except --enable-application=browser would be something like --enable-application=suite. Not sure if that's exactly it. Type ./configure --help and check for the exact option.

playdayz,

I repackaged your Audacious pet and put it in the repo. Please check it out and make sure I didn't break anything. I guess I need to find the source as well. Your pet was really big, due to it being unstripped mainly. Here some things to check if making a pet package:

1) Strip all binaries and libraries like this:

# strip --strip-unneeded *

2) Is anyone likely to compile another package that depends on this one? For almost all applications the answer is no, so delete all include files and static libraries (blabla.la or blabla.a) and macros /use/share/aclocal.

3) Delete unneeded or excessive localization files or documentation. Localization files are usually in /usr/share/local. Keep in mind this is an english only distro, so having tons of localization files for your app is probably not useful. If these files may be needed and they're large consider making another pet package with the SameName-dev-version or the SameName-doc-version. Look at the repo for examples.

4) Boot up pfix=ram and test your package to make sure needed dependencies are in the base iso. If not, they need to packaged If they're already in the repo, the dependencies need to specified when running dir2pet.

Actually before doing all of that make sure things are configured right when you compile it. Generally when we compiling something:

./configure --prefix=/usr --libdir=/usr/lib64
make
new2dir make install

We want to do ./configure --help and check for options we want or want to disable and add those options to the ./configure line above. When you run ./configure and it errors with a missing dependency, check ./configure --help and see if you can disable that dependency.

I'm planning on uploading Fatdog64-520 beta1 tonight. I'll make an announcement when it's there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 18 [259 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1829s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0336s) ][ GZIP on ]