Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 05:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Snow Puppy 020 with more apps, fonts and themes
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 20:27    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Nooby. Thanks of your testing. VLC needs some investigation. Unfortunately codecs are hardcoded when compiling. Only way is to revert to the previous one or try another.

The browser problem happens to me also sometimes. Fortunately it has gone away after rebooting.

For ndiswrapper usage. I really don`t know much about it. For easier usage i made modified build of net_setup-20101020.pet

It will add back the classic internet wizard. After installing the pet the Internet by wired or wireless LAN menu option is enabled. So you can use it for ndiswrapper and windows .inf files loading. But I removed the original rc.network script from the pet, because Snow Puppies use modified rc.network already. Does that affect the loading of ndiswrapper or usage of windows driver, I don`t know. But you can test and report.


Hi, enjoyed ver.006 was able to connect with wifi straight away on my Latitude D610 with BCM 4313 ethernet. Now no go. will try this pet and let you know. thanks for the puppy jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bwh1969

Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 132
Location: Allentown, PA

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 22:46    Post_subject: reaktec  

with the sfs for the source included in 007, the realtec 8192se_pci source built fine.

Oddly, dhcpcd did not exist on my machine, nor dhclient. I tried both from the command line. I installed a pet for dhcpcd for 431 and rebooted and frisbee was able to configure my wireless and connect.

It still says wlan0 is down on boot and does not connect until I launch frisbee manually (I don't need to do anything other than open frisbee from the menu though so it did save my profile).

At any rate, it looks great and works fairly well. I would make a pet package for the wireless but I am unsure how to go about that as I have never tried it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb 2011, 01:30    Post_subject:  

Finally made the time to do a manual frugal install of 007 on my main Linux box.Everything worked on initial boot.......screen resolution(1440x900), internet and sound.
I'll confirm the missing codecs for VLC...mp4,wmv,avi,rm and mov results in no video in VLC.......they all play fine in MPlayer though. Smile
It's nice that you included Streamtuner 2, I use it a lot.
No real problems have appeared yet so on to some testing.Really solid release. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb 2011, 02:09    Post_subject:  

Hi folks. Thank you of your reports. The internet connection problems needs definetely investigation. I will look on to it. And make fixing pet or new Snow Puppy with fixes when I hopefully have resolved them. I made many things in fast time to get kernel module compiling environment working. Distro checking wasnt the first thing.

bwh1969. Please, can you upload the kernel module driver, ....ko something. I will package it as pet and i will also include it to the next Snow Puppy.

jim3630. What seems to be the problem. Does the driver load ? Doesnt it find your dhcp provider ? Or something else. I am curious and willing to find cure. Thank you.

About VLC. I will roll back to the good old 1.0.6 build which just works. There is also the dejan555 build version 1.1.0. When I meet him in the irc, I will ask if it supports those formats. Compiling VLC is something I still wouldnt like to do.

Dhcpcd. It is included in Snow Puppy in /usr/local/sbin/dhcpcd. It should be launched by Frisbee. At least it is with my laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb 2011, 09:59    Post_subject:  

Internet connection problems. I found already one reason.
In /etc/init.d there are 2 Frisbee launchers. 10-Frisbee and Frisbee. Delete /etc/init.d/10-Frisbee script. It is older one and not needed. Probably disturbs normal Frisbee startup. I will fix the problem in the next Snow Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bwh1969

Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 132
Location: Allentown, PA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb 2011, 12:21    Post_subject:  

@ pemasu --> I will package this up this evening sometime, EDT, USA.

Can you include LXTerminal... many people like the easy copy/paste into the terimal it provides. There is a pet for that @

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=15514

it needs vte

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=23643

No biggie if you are opposed to it, but it is a more funtional terminal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb 2011, 12:46    Post_subject:  

bwh1969. Snow Puppy has already Roxterm. It supports copy-paste. You can find it in menu - utility.
To make it default for file opening by right click - Window - Terminal here:
Right click any icon - Rox-filer - Options - Menus - change xterm to roxterm.

You can also drag /usr/share/applications/roxterm.desktop file to desktop.

I am sure the Console icon behavior is also possible to change.
EDIT: /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin and change row 27 to usr/bin/roxterm instead of urxvt.
Then in console: #rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
And console icon launches Roxterm.

I dont want to change default pinboard behavior, because woof building with downloaded packages would need manual editing everytime new woof is downloaded.

There is LXterminal and Sakura which both supports copy-paste. Snow Puppy has vte already. Just install LXterminal or Sakura and it works.
Hmm...LXterminal is small. I could add it also. Seems to work with vte already in Snow Puppy. Thank you of idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb 2011, 18:45    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:


jim3630. What seems to be the problem. Does the driver load ? Doesnt it find your dhcp provider ? Or something else. I am curious and willing to find cure. Thank you.


pemasu, in 007 deleted 10Frisbee as suggested and did not make a difference. In fact in 006 which I easily wifi connect both 10Frisbee and Frisbee are present in ect/init.d.

In 007 even after I manually enter IP info save, exit, reboot, try auto dhcp won't find my wlan0. Does see Eth0 but can't make a connection.

006 discovers sl0,wlan0,Eth0 through Frisbee but no connect at that time. then I went to the "simple network setup" and it found my 2wire, I entered the WEP saved exited and rebooted.

006 Auto connected wifi by the time I was at the desktop after reboot. Wished they all worked so well.

Hope this helps out. jiim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb 2011, 18:52    Post_subject:  

jim3630. Can you check in 006 what eth0 driver module and wlan0 driver module is loaded and works. You see them easily from SNS. And do you see them also loaded in 007 with SNS.

I can only think that kernel module driver has now problems with this newly compiled kernel. Drivers should be the same.
And does eth0 and wlan0 work in Fluppy 012 ?
Have you also checked the md5sum of your downloaded iso ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb 2011, 18:55    Post_subject:  

James C wrote:
Finally made the time to do a manual frugal install of 007 on my main Linux box.Everything worked on initial boot.......screen resolution(1440x900), internet and sound.
I'll confirm the missing codecs for VLC...mp4,wmv,avi,rm and mov results in no video in VLC.......they all play fine in MPlayer though. Smile
It's nice that you included Streamtuner 2, I use it a lot.
No real problems have appeared yet so on to some testing.Really solid release. Smile


Just for informational purposes........ I manually removed the installed VLC player and installed VLC 1.0.6 with Quickpet. Also needed to install libdbus and libhal (just searched in the PPM)....this VLC now plays all of the video formats again. Smile

Everything else is is still working fine.
snow puppy 007.png
 Description   
 Filesize   263.15 KB
 Viewed   1043 Time(s)

snow puppy 007.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bwh1969

Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 132
Location: Allentown, PA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb 2011, 20:14    Post_subject:  

@ pemasu

I attached a tar of the realtek wifi r8192se_pci compiled module. I copied it out of my snowpuppy lupusave file while running fluppy from the /lib/ and subsequent directories and deleted all but the firmware directory and the final wireless directory where r8192se_pci.ko resided.

Should make it easier to make a pet package. In the meantime someone can untar it and just copy it where it belongs along the directory tree and run

depmod-FULL -a
realtek_r8192se_pci-2.6.35.7.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  realtek_r8192se_pci-2.6.35.7.tar.gz 
Filesize  348.1 KB 
Downloaded  215 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Feb 2011, 20:39    Post_subject:  

Today, I finally got a chance and installed Snow puppy 007. I was happy to see the ndiswrapper tools included as .pet files. I run the live CD and used the net_setup thru the setup menu and installed the Windows driver for my wireless NIC. I could right away connect to the internet via my home LAN. Everything went smooth and I am typing this from snow puppy 007. So far everything seems to be working fine with no glitches at all. Nice work!
I only wish that the network connection icon for the system try was still there. Right now I do not have it on the system try.
The question I have is, is it possible to remove some of the installed (stocked) packages, e. g. abiword, gnumeric, etc.?
Will keep on testing.
Thanks for a well done job!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu 17 Feb 2011, 02:18    Post_subject:  

bwh1969. Thank you very much. I will make a pet of your driver package. And I will include the module to the next Snow Puppy also.
Code:
depmod-FULL -a

Well. Barry Kauler has changed it back some time ago. In woof build puppies just: #depmod works. depmod-FULL is just symlink nowadays I think.

marco07. Hey, it is great, that it worked. And that you reported it !
So...ndiswrapper module and net_setup package both worked. I will include them to the next Snow Puppy.

Network_tray. This is more difficult thing. There is already frisbee-tray. I removed the network_tray from tray purposely.
But here it is as original pet. You need to reboot or click /root/Startup/network_tray and it appears to tray.

About removing apps. Well, it is possible to certain level, you can edit the main sfs with Edit sfs app. Then replace the original version with the edited sfs. Also removing apps by Edit sfs needs knowledge so that you know what libs and dependencies to remove also so that size really goes down. Difficult job.

By just using delete when original sfs is loaded, nothing really vanishes from the sfs. The changes are just marked to the savefile as removed, but the original sfs is still the same and same size. If you want to make modified puppy, you can do as I. Create your own puppy with woof. There you can spesify what you want to be included.
And I dont want to wander too far away from Barry Kauler`s puppy philosophy. I respect and follow his guidelines.

To remove apps from Menu is easy. Just remove appropriate .desktop files in /usr/share/applications. Then in console run: #fixmenus. Restart jwm.
network_tray_lucid-2.4.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  network_tray_lucid-2.4.5.pet 
Filesize  19.57 KB 
Downloaded  212 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bwh1969

Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 132
Location: Allentown, PA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Feb 2011, 07:27    Post_subject: triggering tray for frisbee  

The tray for frisbee will load if you restart X if you had a network device configured and connected. I have a workaround where I put an "ifconfig wlan0 up" at the beginning of the frisbee script in /root/Startup, then a "sleep 7" after that, it still did not show, but it would always connect after i brought up wlan0 from terminal, so I ended the same script with another "ifconfig wlan0 up"

Redundant, but it automatically connects me now and brings up the tray icon for Frisbee although it shows the double square for hardwired? If I restart X, I get the wireless icon in the tray instead... and I get 2 of them.

Weird huh?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Feb 2011, 08:43    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:

marco07.
So...ndiswrapper module and net_setup package both worked. I will include them to the next Snow Puppy.

Yes. Definitely

Quote:

Network_tray. This is more difficult thing. There is already frisbee-tray. I removed the network_tray from tray purposely.
But here it is as original pet. You need to reboot or click /root/Startup/network_tray and it appears to tray.

My fault! When I reported, I was still in live CD. After a frugal install the freesbie wireless icon showed up in the system try. Thus, it is OK!

Quote:
About removing apps. Well, it is possible to certain level, you can edit the main sfs with Edit sfs app. Then replace the original version with the edited sfs. Also removing apps by Edit sfs needs knowledge so that you know what libs and dependencies to remove also so that size really goes down. Difficult job.

I will give up on this. Can live with installed apps.
I noticed a "Remove Builtin Pachages" item in the menu. Could this be used to remove a few packages without any problem?
Quote:

To remove apps from Menu is easy. Just remove appropriate .desktop files in /usr/share/applications. Then in console run: #fixmenus. Restart jwm.


Good to know since I am still new to Puppy am learning fast.
thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1009s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]