Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 09:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Yet Another Samba Share Mounter
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9205
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 07:51    Post_subject:  

Do you have Windows Live Essentials installed on your Win7 machine? It is known to block Linux Samba clients.

Do you have a second Windows machine on your network? You could use it to test that the Win7 share is set up correctly.

Quote:
If, I click the 'Shares' button in the credentials dialog I get a dropdown list with 'NONE' as the only item so it seems the pupshare directory isn't visible.


Using the Win7 username and password, run this command
Code:
smbclient -U username%password -L acer

Does that list the share?

Also try the command using the Acer's IP address instead of its name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PaulR

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 246
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 08:21    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the very quick reply!

No, I don't have Windows Essentials installed.

We have an infrequently used Vista machine..I'll check if that recognizes the share later.

Quote:

Using the Win7 username and password, run this command
Code:
smbclient -U username%password -L acer

Does that list the share?


No, it gives 'protocol negotiation failed' whether I use the name or the IP address.

Certainly seems like something is amiss on the Win 7 box.... I'll take another look at that end.

Thanks again

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9205
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 08:28    Post_subject:  

Maybe this will help?

I found a post by a Ubuntu user who fixed the problem by rebooting his Win7 machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PaulR

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 246
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 08:43    Post_subject:  

Thank you - rebooting has done the trick! (Insert equal amounts of Grrrr and Very Happy here)

So glad I didn't have to work through another load of instructions, I've been at this all day so far as it is!

Cheers

Paul

PS the Vista machine recognized the share before rebooting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9205
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 08:49    Post_subject:  

That's good news. It sounds like the problem is a memory cache issue on the Win7 machine as described in the link above. Rebooting cleared it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PaulR

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 246
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 09:03    Post_subject:  

Quote:
That's good news. It sounds like the problem is a memory cache issue on the Win7 machine as described in the link above. Rebooting cleared it.


Certainly is - thanks for creating this nice clear and easy-to-use set of utilities.

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1464
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 13:13    Post_subject: Wifi problems  

This is a follow-up attempt to solve the conundrum described in:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83929

The setup is:

A desktop and a laptop both running Slacko5.5
The desktop has samba-4.0.0-i486.pet installed
With the desktop hard wired to my router and the laptop connected by wifi (Broadcom B4312) then YASSM is able to faultlessly find the Samba share on the desktop.

However....
I need to relocate the router close to the main phone socket in preparation for the installation of fibre broadband.

This has meant that the desktop also has to be connected to the router with wifi - rt2800usb driver
Quote:
VendorID=148f ProductID=5370 Rev= 1.01
Manufacturer=Ralink
Product=802.11 n WLAN
SerialNumber=1.0
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 148f:5370 Ralink Technology, Corp.
rt2800usb : Ralink RT2800 USB Wireless LAN driver.

YASSM can no longer find the share in this new setup.

However....
If I probe the connection with PeasyPort - using various combinations of the "Scan" and "Names" tools then I am able to convince YASSM to access the share. A combination of scan + names + scan again seems to be needed.
Looking at the PeasyPort shellscript it seems to be issuing the mpscan and the pnscan commands - I also saw the nmblookup command recommended - the results of issuing these commands in a terminal are:
Code:
# nmblookup ATHOME
querying ATHOME on 192.168.1.255
192.168.1.64 ATHOME<00>
# nmblookup ATHOME
querying ATHOME on 192.168.1.255
name_query failed to find name ATHOME
#
# mpscan -p 139 -v 192.168.1.64
ip: 192.168.1.64 139 OK
# pnscan -t 2000 -v 192.168.1.64 139
192.168.1.64    :   139 : ERR : read() failed: Connection timed out


So what I'm wondering is, can I wrap /usr/local/yassm/samba-login in a wrapper that issues the necessary mpscan and pnscan commands to make YASSM connect reliably? and how do I work out which commands I need?

Or is there some other way to make Samba work in my setup?

And finally is there any diagnostics I should be looking at on the desktop to see why the connection is not succeeding?

Cheers & thanks for any advice and assistance
peebee

p.s. apologies for the rather long post

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9205
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 13:22    Post_subject:  

What happens if you run samba-login, but use the desktop's IP address instead of its server name?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1464
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 14:31    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
What happens if you run samba-login, but use the desktop's IP address instead of its server name?
After a short delay that works OK - thanks - should work OK as I can set my router to always use the same IP address I think.
Cheers
peebee
capture7568.png
 Description   
 Filesize   42.7 KB
 Viewed   484 Time(s)

capture7568.png


_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9205
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 14:37    Post_subject:  

Excellent.

Was samba-search able to find the desktop's share when connected by wifi?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1464
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 15:14    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Was samba-search able to find the desktop's share when connected by wifi?


No shares found by samba-search on initial boot

however after having made a connection using the ip address and then dismounting and running samba-search again the share on the server name was detected.....

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9205
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 15:20    Post_subject:  

It sounds like your USB adapter needs some coaxing to wake up and reveal the Samba server to the network.

Try using the combo server name in samba-login as described in the Help.
Code:
ATHOME?192.168.1.0

This will force a network scan. If it finds the share, you won't need to give the desktop a static IP address.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1464
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 16:02    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
It sounds like your USB adapter needs some coaxing to wake up and reveal the Samba server to the network.

Try using the combo server name in samba-login as described in the Help.
Code:
ATHOME?192.168.1.0

This will force a network scan. If it finds the share, you won't need to give the desktop a static IP address.


That just gives a "No Connection to Puppy" message - no share found....

Sad

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9205
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 16:10    Post_subject:  

That's too bad. So the only reliable method is to use a static IP address as the server name.

I wonder if Pnethood is any better at finding the server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1464
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 18 May 2013, 16:13    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
That's too bad. So the only reliable method is to use a static IP address as the server name.

I wonder if Pnethood is any better at finding the server.


Would have to try a different puppy - no pnethood any more in Slacko5.5....

Tried Precise5.5 - pnethood does not detect any share Sad

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0813s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]