Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 11:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
4G internet - Vivid Wireless
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
mcalex

Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 78
Location: Perth, WA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 04:46    Post_subject:  4G internet - Vivid Wireless
Sub_title: can puppy do this?
 

Hi all

Vivid Wireless, a WA ISP company, have a thing they call 4G internet.

I'm buying a USB modem for their service tonight. Does anyone know if puppy does '4G' internet?

Hi Rerwin if listening - I'm guessing you'll have an interest if this doesn't work?

cheers

mcalex
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 05:27    Post_subject:  

One would expect BK would have access and be interested in this (at least when he is frequently in perth). He is currently beeing with 3g modems so you may be in luck if you bring it to his attention. As to if it would work as is. hey this is Linux so everything new takes that much more effort and frustration due to obfuscation design of the pre-entrenched monopoly.

http://vividwireless.com.au/
and look they even show you how fast they are (see attached). dont you think thats fast? wow.


(or maybe it is so fast that slow old me with my unfast connection cant see it)
fast.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.09 KB
 Viewed   1851 Time(s)

fast.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mcalex

Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 78
Location: Perth, WA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 09:23    Post_subject:  

Odd USB thing. It's only got the business half of a normal USB port (doesn't have the thin metal edge that completes the rectangle)

1st attempt: NFG. I get no indication of a USB device being plugged in on puppy. Tried every different USB port on the 'puter

flipped over to windoze and tried from there. XP knew a device had been plugged in, but didn't recognise it & said it malfunctioned.

Any ideas anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 10:18    Post_subject:  

try plugging in before you boot. and after if you have tried before. this seems critical sometimes. you might want to tell us which puppies you are using.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 11:06    Post_subject:  

now there is speed info which i couldnt get before but is it anything to write home about?
Quote:
http://www.vividwireless.com.au/discover-it-now/our-speed
Our Speed


How fast is faster?

Our network testing of the USB modem reveals an average download speed of 6.7 Mbps, with typical download speeds between 5 and 8 Mbps within our coverage areas. The speeds experienced across the network are not only lightning fast - they are remarkably consistent day and night, when you expect more users on the network.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mcalex

Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 78
Location: Perth, WA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 11:21    Post_subject:  

OK, tried with the dongle installed before boot up. Didn't work. (The package says to stick it in while the 'puter is running). Pulled it out, stuck it in again. Still nothing.





____________________________
I'm on puppy 5.0
My box is an Athlon XP 1700+ (lol not all dinosaurs are extinct)
The USB modem is described as a Huawei BM358
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 13:42    Post_subject:  

The OS doesn't care if the modem is 3g or 4g, only whether the hardware looks like a modem or not.

You can see how far it gets by running dmesg after plugging the modem in. It would be useful to find out the make and model of the modem so you can see if there is a driver for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mcalex

Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 78
Location: Perth, WA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 22:05    Post_subject:  

I've attached two dmesg files. The first one had so much stuff in it, I took the modem out and put it back in again to see what got added (I also stuck a thumbdrive in so I could copy the files). This might make working out the useful additions a bit difficult.

To make things more difficult, I'm currently (successfully) using a different USB modem (Huawei e169) which might muddy the information contained in the dmesg files.

The modem I'm having difficulty with is a Huawei BM358

cheers

mcalex
mesg2.zip
Description  second output
zip

 Download 
Filename  mesg2.zip 
Filesize  7.22 KB 
Downloaded  389 Time(s) 
mesg.zip
Description  first output from dmesg
zip

 Download 
Filename  mesg.zip 
Filesize  7.02 KB 
Downloaded  377 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 22:18    Post_subject:  

Is the other modem removable?

If you reboot, and just test the one that doesn't work, the log file might make more sense.

I'm guessing it's the one with all the error messages... it's not looking good. I might agree with XP that it's malfunctioning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mcalex

Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 78
Location: Perth, WA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Dec 2010, 22:38    Post_subject:  

yeah, did this in a rush this morning.

Will give it a more systematic attempt this evening. gotta do that work thing in the meantime Wink

cheers & thnx
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mcalex

Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 78
Location: Perth, WA

PostPosted: Fri 10 Dec 2010, 09:43    Post_subject:  

OK, slightly more concerted effort.

Startup. No USB storage. No USB modem
file: mesg1.txt

Plugged in vividwireless modem.
file: mesg2.txt

both text files in attachment

doesn't look like much happened successfully

hope someone can read machine

thnx
mcalex
dmesg.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  dmesg.zip 
Filesize  12.9 KB 
Downloaded  393 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mcalex

Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 78
Location: Perth, WA

PostPosted: Fri 17 Dec 2010, 07:17    Post_subject:  

hmmm, wonder if it doesn't like that I don't have USB2.0. Anyone got a list of USB error codes anywhere?

anyhoo, plugged the modem into a different puppy (in a newer box) and it seems to work more.

however, when i try to run the probe from pupdial it reports back 'no modem', and dmesg on this machine says:
Code:
config 1 interface 0 altsetting 0 bulk endpoint 0v81 has invalid maxpacket 256
eth2: register 'cdc_ether' at usb-0000:00:1d.7-5, CDC Ethernet Device, 00:16:08:ff:00:04
usbcore: registered new interface driver cdc_ether
usbcore: registered new interface driver cdc_acm
cdc_acm: v0.26:USB Abstract Control Model driver for USB modems and ISDN adapters


any ideas anyone?

tia,
mcalex

ps: thanks for the heads-up aarf. Smile I mentioned on BK's blog I had done a bit of research, but when I bought my previous modem (a Huawei e169) the research suggested I wouldn't get that working, but excellent work by the puppy devs - rerwin in particular - now have me happily posting this using my e169 beastie.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
J_Rey


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 276
Location: Northwest Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jan 2011, 01:26    Post_subject:  

Well, the main thing is we need to find out who makes the chipset for your BM358 modem. Huawei only puts the parts together. If you could go to Menu -> System -> System Status and Config and let us know what both HardInfo and PupScan show when only your vividwireless 4G WiMAX USB modem is plugged in (not with the other Huawei modem) then we can go from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
J_Rey


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 276
Location: Northwest Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jan 2011, 02:47    Post_subject:  

OK after looking through the Windows driver files for this modem, it specifically mentioned NDIS 5 (upper range) & Ethernet (lower range) which seems to match what was recognized & listed/loaded in the dmesg log. Also I found in the files & by the MAC ID/OUI that Sequans Communications makes the chipset. Your last post shows some loaded modules that seem likely to work, so doesn't seem too proprietary/obscure. Don't bother with pupdial since this one doesn't work like a dialup modem. First pull up IP Info from the menu & see if eth2 has a valid IP address & what it shows for DNS & Routing because it may already be ready just not configured/setup yet. Try the Internet Connection Wizard or Network Wizard or Simple Network Setup. Chose the Wired LAN & use DHCP for each. Let us know what you find out of course.

Another important thing is have you got it working with Windows/Mac yet? I certain it will be needed to do it at least once for the initial device activation to go through. Unless you want to muck around with OMA in Linux that is. Also the firmware update from their website shouldn't hurt too.

So, what version of Puppy are you using by the way?
___
Above was edited after additional research.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM YIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0752s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]