Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 14:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Arcade 10
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 12 [177 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
zekebaby


Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2012, 22:07    Post subject:  

Gnuxo wrote:
I changed the folder name and yes I made sure about the sfs, I just copied the .sfs and related files into the folder

Try putting the initrd, kernel and sfs in the root folder, not in a subdir. I don't believe all 4.x puppies supported subdir booting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gnuxo

Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Thu 12 Apr 2012, 22:38    Post subject:  

How do I dual boot puppy arcade with Macpup then?

How do I set up Grub4dos to boot puppy arcade outside a subdir?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zekebaby


Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Fri 13 Apr 2012, 22:09    Post subject:  

Gnuxo wrote:
How do I dual boot puppy arcade with Macpup then?

How do I set up Grub4dos to boot puppy arcade outside a subdir?

Sorry, I don't have either distro, but assuming they both look like standard Puppies, all you have to do is simply rename your initrd and vmlinuz, and drop them all into your root directory along with the SFS files. Put something like this in your grub menu.lst:
Code:
title Puppy Arcade
  kernel vmlinuz_arcade
  initrd initrd_arcade.gz

title MacPup
  kernel vmlinuz_macpup
  initrd initrd_macpup.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 628
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 13:32    Post subject:  

To boot from the root directory just remove the subdir reference from the menu entry:

Code:
title Puppy Arcade 10
   find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /initrd.gz
   kernel /vmlinuz   pmedia=atahd
   initrd /initrd.gz


If MacPup is booting from a directory ok, just leave it where it is.

Have you also tried pmedia=idehd ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gnuxo

Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 15:58    Post subject:  

Errr...what's the difference between Ide and Ata? I'm pretty sure I have an Ata.

Also do you think Puppy Arcade has issues with Grub4Dos? Do you think I should get the grub bootloader instead? Or does it not matter?

Another issue is that I don't really have a root folder unless you count the puppy distros themselves. All of my puppy folders are directly inside mnt/sda1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gnuxo

Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat 14 Apr 2012, 20:46    Post subject:  

I've now installed the grub bootloader.

How do I get rid of grub4dos and use grub instead?

I've never tried using grub to boot puppy, so I'm a little nervous.

It's obviously not grub2 because I can't access grub from grub4dos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gnuxo

Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 14:56    Post subject:  

I just discovered an interesting error.

Ok...I don't have a large OS installed. I just made an ext4 partition and moved Macpup onto it and linked to it with Grub.

Now when I boot up the Puppy Arcade cd, it won't mount my sda1.
It also detects my hdd partition as ext3, not ext4. And when I try the installer it says I have no free space on my partition even though I have 70 gigs free.
My Macpup save file is 3fs. which means puppy arcade is trying to mount my Macpup save file instead of the sda drive itself.

Also a few of the emulators won't even open when I click on them.

These are all issues I am having and maybe its's why Puppy Arcade is having issues booting frugally.

Maybe it's not playing well with my Macpup. Or maybe it's just defective.

Any ideas folks?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 15:10    Post subject:  

Gnuxo wrote:
I just discovered an interesting error.

Ok...I don't have a large OS installed. I just made an ext4 partition and moved Macpup onto it and linked to it with Grub.

Now when I boot up the Puppy Arcade cd, it won't mount my sda1.
It also detects my hdd partition as ext3, not ext4. And when I try the installer it says I have no free space on my partition even though I have 70 gigs free.
My Macpup save file is 3fs. which means puppy arcade is trying to mount my Macpup save file instead of the sda drive itself.

Also a few of the emulators won't even open when I click on them.

These are all issues I am having and maybe its's why Puppy Arcade is having issues booting frugally.

Maybe it's not playing well with my Macpup. Or maybe it's just defective.

Any ideas folks?

Puppy Arcade is based on puppy 420, and the 2.6.25.16 kernel it uses does not support ext4... That will be the root of your problems, if trying to boot puppy arcade off an ext4 partition... If you have frugal installs it should be easy enough to copy the files over to another drive or partition, then reformat as ext3... Or not bother, if you don't think puppy arcade is worth it.. Wink It's up to you...

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gnuxo

Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Tue 17 Apr 2012, 15:57    Post subject:  

Oh, I figured that out on my own.

I already have Puppy Arcade up and running frugally. I made a new ext3 partition.

Getting some drivers, will copy them over to sda3 from Macpup. Wifi in Puppy Arcade doesn't work but It's for gaming so it doesn't matter.

Thanks for making Puppy Arcade 10 and hopefully 11 will be soon to follow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gnuxo

Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2012, 20:37    Post subject:  

A few interesting comments:

Under xvesa, snes9x won't even open. The screen flashes.

I had to switch to xorg which is much slower and install a .pet for my intel graphics chip.

The games run fine but I can't seem to figure out which settings to use because all of them seem to possess some graphical glitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johncl

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 04 May 2012, 01:40    Post subject: Boot stops at Grub4Dos  

Hi, I am in the process of building myself a Mame arcade cabinet and wanted to use an older Via Epia CN13000 (1.3 GHz C7 CPU, Via Unichrome Pro GPU, 1 GB memory). I tried Puppy Arcade 10 boot USB stick on my 3 year old work laptop and it booted up fine although the X3100 graphics chipset was not supported out of the box. The boot start shows me a fancy graphics based boot selector where I can choose to boot or install, etc.

But when I try to boot it on my Via Epia system it only brings up a textbased prompt for Grub4Dos with an option to press ESC to bring up a menu with 4 options, none which boots Puppy.

I am sorry but I am really Linux illiterate so that is really why I wanted to try out a prebuilt distribution for Mame fun. If it doesnt work on my Via does anyone have any experience in other linux distros that work fine and will allow me to run Mame at fullscreen for my arcade project? I'd rather use a faster Linux boot than WinXP if I could.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 06 May 2012, 06:13    Post subject:  

Gnuxo wrote:
A few interesting comments:

Under xvesa, snes9x won't even open. The screen flashes.

Maybe try the default Xvesa from pup4 repos: http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/xorg_xvesa-7.3-1.pet

Or if that is the one you're already using, see here (I cant remember which PA10 uses): http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=62145

Quote:
The games run fine but I can't seem to figure out which settings to use because all of them seem to possess some graphical glitch.

What kind of glitches? It might be that JWM is the culprit, especially if it's while trying to go fullscreen... I recommend testing IceWM, here: http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/icewm-1.3.2.pet

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 06 May 2012, 06:19    Post subject: Re: Boot stops at Grub4Dos  

johncl wrote:
But when I try to boot it on my Via Epia system it only brings up a textbased prompt for Grub4Dos with an option to press ESC to bring up a menu with 4 options, none which boots Puppy.

How are you trying to boot from this system? From live CD?
I've no idea why you're GRUB boot menus would differ if that is the case...

Quote:
I am sorry but I am really Linux illiterate so that is really why I wanted to try out a prebuilt distribution for Mame fun. If it doesnt work on my Via does anyone have any experience in other linux distros that work fine and will allow me to run Mame at fullscreen for my arcade project? I'd rather use a faster Linux boot than WinXP if I could.

Maybe try another puppy, and add the MAME .pet...

You could try these (Search this forum using link in my signature):

- Puppy 431
- TurboPup Extreme
- Lucid Puppy

You can then download various MAME versions (none so recent) from my online repo thingy: http://ppm.scottjarvis.com/?dir=./emulation/MAME

But please note, I never tested MAME on any other puppies,,,

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MarkHill

Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2012, 18:16    Post subject:  

morgonzola wrote:
well i installed xboxdrv (duh Laughing ) and then it needed libboost-thread1.42.0 which is available from Debian's site

i ripped debs of these and i am not sure if it works with turbopup due to a different glibc? (correct me if im wrong)

and yea i agree i think puppy arcade is a great puplet all you really need to do is adapt it to newer versions (or not)

i made the xboxdrv+liboost thing into an sfs so i can upload if you want.


Is this sfs available? I am interested in using the Xbox controller.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1621

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 04:29    Post subject: xserver headers  

Tried to compile the geode driver in Arcade 10 with devx_420 loaded but apparently xserver.h is not in devx.
Any idea where I could find it?
(other 4xx puppies maybe with the same xserver?)
Thx

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 12 [177 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0931s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0103s) ][ GZIP on ]