Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 06:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Newbie who needs help with thin client and usb
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
plockery

Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 06:04    Post_subject:  Newbie who needs help with thin client and usb  

Just discovered Puppy! What a gem!
But need help in trying to do a couple of things.

1. I have a network at home with a main pc (athlon XP2500) and 4 workstations (pentium 11 350's).
Moving now from windows to Linux.
Have setup Ubuntu Hoary on the main pc with LTSP.
I want to setup the workstations with puppy to be able to login to the ubuntu box.
Do I need LTSP on ubuntu to do this?
Haved enabled XDMCP in gdm.conf in ubuntu box.
Ubuntu only has gdm not xdm (I think). Is that a problem?

What is the best way to get users to be able to login? Tried
# X -query peter [peter is the name of the ubuntu server]
but puppy workstation hangs with following lines:

This script will run X windows for you...
Starting X with video mode 0x0114 and mouse psaux......

Obviously I don't quite understand what to do.
Can someone help?

2. Tried to connect an external usb external hard drive (NTFS partitions) to test usb connectivity, but puppy doesn't seem to recognise it.
Puppymounter doesn't list it, But from another post I read it only lists 4 options and I dual boot with win95 on the workstations which means 4 options are already listed.
Is this the problem.
Is USB dynamically recognised in puppy?
I seem to see the usbfs system mounted during boot.
How can I check whether USB is working?

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
thoughtjourney

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 61
Location: Sutton, NSW

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 07:24    Post_subject:  

G'day,

sorry, I'm not much help to you on your first question.

MToolsFM (under file managers in the root menu) may be of use to you here, and from what I have read, you don't need to mount the usb drive for it to work. I'm not sure if it would work with an NTFS filesystem on the USB drive, but don't quote me on that.

To check things out manually, you could create a mount point for you usb device like so:

1. open rxvt
2. type

mkdir /mnt/usbdrive

You would then mount the device by typing:

mount -t ntfs /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbdrive

Note that sda1 refers to the first usb device that is plugged in. If you don't have success typing sda1, try sda or sdb1.

Check to see what devices are mounted by typing

mount

If you see something like

'/dev/sda1 on /mnt/usbdrive'

you are good to go, and you can check out the contents of your usbdrive like this

cd /mnt/usbdrive && ls -a

Or, of course, you could use rox for this last step.

Good luck with your network... it sounds like heaps of fun

_________________
in the beginning was the Logos

http://thoughtjourney.aus.cc
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
plockery

Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jun 2005, 09:42    Post_subject:  

Thanks thoughtjourney.

I will try that when I get the chance. My external drive is in use a lot of the time, so I when I test it again I will post a reply here.

Update to 1.

I put the server's address in the hosts.allow file and commented out the All:All in the hosts.deny file in puppy and was able to login.

However, the new problem here is the resolution and speed.
The resolution was appalling - like 16 colours under windows and the spped was terrible.
I thought that by logging in to an Xserver I should get the screen resolution of the server and the corresponding speed.

But i am getting neither.
Does anyone have any clues as to why this is?

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0546s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]