How to clear Personal Storage?

Booting, installing, newbie
Rewl

How to clear Personal Storage?

#1 Post by Rewl »

Hey guys, this is my second day with puppy and I dont know why it says i have 504m of personal storage when my hard drive is 30gigs.
But, it says that I only have 17m's of personal storage, is there any way to free up the storage and go bak to green

Sylvander

#2 Post by Sylvander »

I'm no Puppy expert, but here goes:

1. Are you running Puppy from a live optical disk?

2. Did you make a pupsave file?
What size did you choose to make it?
That is your "personal storage".
Did you make it rather small?

(a) If you haven't made a pupsave file [or a Linux swap file or partition]...
Then your personal storage is your RAM only.
[Remember that under such circumstances, Puppy runs in RAM...if it can load all the necessary into it that is]

(b) If you then begin to do stuff that increases the usage of space in RAM [installing packages?]...
Then your RAM begins to fill and run out of space.

4. I hope experienced Puppians will correct any of my errors in knowledge/ideas/belief.

Rewl

#3 Post by Rewl »

i do not have save file. And I'm running it from HD(but it wont start up with out CD?) and I just botted a frugal on my flash drive. How do I make a save file so I can enjoy 30gb's of stuff :s

Sylvander

#4 Post by Sylvander »

1. Oh dear, looks like you need a Puppy expert, so I hope one happens along soon.

2. "i do not have save file. And I'm running it from HD(but it wont start up with out CD?)"
Ouch, that doesn't sound good.
Was that a full install with GRUB installed to the MBR?
Are you attempting a dual boot?
With Windows?
You musn't mess this up by deleting the contents of the MBR and/or deleting the contents of the partition where the GRUB menu file is held.
Wait for "someone who knows" to come along.

3. "I just booted a frugal on my flash drive"
Did it work OK?
I'm not even sure exactly of what a frugal install consists.