Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 03 Sep 2015, 21:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Keep your savefile slim and healthy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 10 [150 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Fri 25 Apr 2014, 18:46    Post subject:  

do you use the app-dirs?

what errors do you get when you try and copy them?

Might be a union/rox quirk

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 645

PostPosted: Fri 25 Apr 2014, 19:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
do you use the app-dirs?

Yes. Only today I created yet another for Libre 4.2.3 so that all the config and application files/libs are all within the app-dir (portable Libre that can be opened up with all changes preserved (persistence) even when booting using different versions of Puppy). I'm tending towards having a very small boot CD - that boots to a lean desktop, and have all the other extra's loadable via app-dirs.

However no longer a problem as I tried a reboot and all went well thereafter.

I guess with all the trying things out the messing around it probably caused some kind of lock that the reboot cleared. The test file (app) was a compress PET and maybe I kicked it off in the background and it might have been running waiting for a input, but not visible (I guess I should have had a look around with ps, but I didn't think to do that).

No matter what, the reboot fixed the problem. Razz

Just playing around now. Setting up one desktop with nearly empty pup_rw (banking mode with brand new version of Puppy and Firefox each time), another for office - different desktop background and apps loaded, another for multimedia (yet another desktop background, icons and set of apps) and jumping between each 'savefile' version within seconds using the exit X, run script, xwin restart.

Really neat! Most impressed.

Compression is slower to create (make a snapshot) than to restore (switch to a snapshot). So either way (copying as-is or using compression) seems to work as equally as well as each other AFAICT. Getting late however so I'll look to firm up the scripts etc another day. Off to have a beer to celebrate. Thanks yet again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
totolanio

Joined: 03 Jan 2015
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2015, 11:50    Post subject:  

How to decrease savefile size plz ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2015, 14:54    Post subject:  

Quote:
How to decrease savefile size plz ?

you can use the resize2fs command on the unmounted save file specifying the new size...make sure its still big enough for what it contains. see the hlep/man page.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
totolanio

Joined: 03 Jan 2015
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2015, 20:30    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Quote:
How to decrease savefile size plz ?

you can use the resize2fs command on the unmounted save file specifying the new size...make sure its still big enough for what it contains. see the hlep/man page.

Mike


Ok I'll try, hope it's not hard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2015, 05:27    Post subject:  

ok say your save file is on /mnt/sda2 and called pupsave.2fs

run puppy with pfix=ram so the save is not used.
Open a terminal/console

type and enter

resize2fs /mnt/sda2/pupsave.2fs 512M

will resize to 512MB......

its a good idea to run
fsck /mnt/sda2/pupsave.2fs before and after to run a file system check.

Please do make a copy of the save file before doing this just in case....

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007

Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 1114

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2015, 07:44    Post subject:  

What's the point of having a big save file? Probably the worst option one can follow when using Puppy. It just does not make sense. No save file or very small (not bigger than 60Mb) is the way to go. I tend to not go bigger than 32Mb on the odd occasion I use one. Basically only use it for the odd alteration like swopping desktop images. Never use it to install applications or store data. Just a waste of space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 645

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2015, 08:21    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
What's the point of having a big save file? Probably the worst option one can follow when using Puppy. It just does not make sense. No save file or very small (not bigger than 60Mb) is the way to go. I tend to not go bigger than 32Mb on the odd occasion I use one. Basically only use it for the odd alteration like swopping desktop images. Never use it to install applications or store data. Just a waste of space.

My remaster puppy script is two clicks, 30 seconds run time, forms puppy sfs, merges that into initrd and ouputs the new larger initrd directly to where grub4dos expects to find it.

Firefox and documents etc all stored outside of puppy, so any changes persist across reboots (portable firefox) and I don't change the core puppy that often. Additional programs - I load as sfs's. For each sfs I have a wrapper script that sym links the config directory/file(s) from /root (inside puppy) to outside of puppy (so program config changes preserved across reboots).

boot ram with no save file, and don't miss not having a savefile. Like the benefit of a read only puppy, pristine exact same each and every reboot, as that way I can try things out and when whatever I was trying results in a crashed puppy, reboot and back to normal again. With full installs I tend to find that a crashed system rarely coincides with having made a recent backup copy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2015, 09:11    Post subject:  

Me save sfs vary from 10 - 60MB in use.... that's uncompressed.
I do no linking out to anywhere except thunderbird profile (not linked out but the profile location is changed as per the mozilla recommended way) which is shared with windows. I used to but it gets so messy.

I don't like software that likes to dump huge profiles and leftovers.
sfs use for any additional software...not just the big stuff.
Never use pets unless testing one for someone....then its as ac ase of not saving at shutdown...more convenient than pfix=ram since you dont have so set things up each time... great for compiling too with the no save at shutdown.

A 30mb save sfs takes a fraction of a second to backup ( or simply renamed when created)..everything else is read only ...well so is the save for that matter. Linux is simply more reliable that way since there are no mechanisms to check and fix the system files.

KISS

mike

ps I always miss at least one thing when I remaster Very Happy Also sfs much easier to update/fix/tinker with individual applications...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 508
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2015, 09:22    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:

My remaster puppy script is two clicks, 30 seconds run time, forms puppy sfs, merges that into initrd and ouputs the new larger initrd directly to where grub4dos expects to find it.

May I try that script? I've not sucessfully done a remaster; perhaps I'm timid or stupid.

Thanks,
Sheldon
(primarily LuPu Super2 frugal)

_________________
Dell E6410: LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys; Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, Carolite
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2; ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
totolanio

Joined: 03 Jan 2015
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2015, 10:51    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
ok say your save file is on /mnt/sda2 and called pupsave.2fs

run puppy with pfix=ram so the save is not used.
Open a terminal/console

type and enter

resize2fs /mnt/sda2/pupsave.2fs 512M

will resize to 512MB......

its a good idea to run
fsck /mnt/sda2/pupsave.2fs before and after to run a file system check.

Please do make a copy of the save file before doing this just in case....

mike



Ok thank you, simple as that ! I'll do it !

Well I chose a big savefile because I'm not used to use SFS etc, but I'll try to do it as soon as possible !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 645

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jan 2015, 20:39    Post subject:  

sheldonisaac wrote:
rufwoof wrote:

My remaster puppy script is two clicks, 30 seconds run time, forms puppy sfs, merges that into initrd and ouputs the new larger initrd directly to where grub4dos expects to find it.

May I try that script?

Sorry but its my own Puppy specific. Heavily edited remasterpup2 to strip most of the interactions and alot of the code, replacing with more or less just copying of etc and root. I also pull in the CD files from internal copies rather than having to prompt for a CD or CD image. One click to launch, another to select where to form the puppy sfs and it runs to completion, leaving a new initrd.lzo ready for the next reboot. Its quick because I don't use any puppy compression.

I've dropped in the Slacko 5.7 kernel into my Slacko 5.3.3 to further complicate matters. The later kernel detects newer hardware and my Puppy includes a PXE server for booting local Windows PC's over the net/lan.

The core of the scripts working to merge puppy sfs into initrd looks like

Code:

mkdir $TARGETDIR/puppylivecdbuild/newdir
cd $TARGETDIR/puppylivecdbuild/newdir
rm $TARGETDIR/vmlinuz
cp -avr /usr/sbin/REMASTER/ISO-FILES/vmlinuz $TARGETDIR/vmlinuz &
zcat ../initrd.gz | cpio -id                               # Extract initrd content
mv ../puppy*.sfs .                                         # Copy in puppy sfs
find | cpio -o -H newc | lzo -c1 > $TARGETDIR/initrd.lzo   # Reform the initrd
mv puppy*.sfs ../.                                         # 2 moves quicker than copy
cd ..
sync
rm -rf $TARGETDIR/puppylivecdbuild/newdir

Which follow on from remasterpup having created puppylivecdbuild directory contents. You could run remasterpup2 (normal remaster) to create a puppylivecdbuild folder content and then use the above as a guide of how puppyxxx.sfs gets inserted into initrd and is then reformed.

I always include zdrv in with puppy by default when remastering, so that initrd holds everything. vmlinuz boots ... kicks of init inside initrd which sets the PC up and then loads puppy sfs. all drivers, firmware etc all contained in the one file, so only vmlinuz and initrd.lzo needed to boot. initrd is compressed (which includes the puppy sfs within it) using a fast compression method (lzop -1) which typically takes around 8 seconds to compress initrd with puppy sfs included inside that.

I'm happy with my puppy desktop so I don't change it that often and when I do want to mae a change I clean boot the desktop without loading any sfs's (otherwise they'd get incorporated into the new puppy), make the desired change and then remaster so that subsequent boots pick up those changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1074
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Feb 2015, 21:41    Post subject: And, of course, Remove Automatic Pupsave from Frugal Install  

I'm not certain if a prior post mentioned jpeg's instructions, so I am. You'll find them here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81911.

Pups operate entirely in RAM. That is, they decompress and then merge into RAM the compressed files which were included in your Pup's ISO, your SaveFile, and any SFS you've loaded. When you shutdown/reboot whatever had been in RAM is gone unless it's been written to "storage".

There's no reason for you to ever unintentionally save anything, which is what automatic Pupsave does. You can always intentionally save data to your home-partition and to any other intentionally mounted partition.

Without Pupsave working automatically, you can safely "extinquish" newly installed pets which haven't worked, or have generated conflicts. Just shutdown/reboot without saving. Until you save, the pet only exists in RAM; it hasn't yet been written to storage such as your SaveFile. Uninstalling a pet which has been written to your SaveFile runs the risk of unintentionally uninstalling some library or other file existing in your SaveFile needed by some other application you installed. E.g. Application XYZ you installed requires library xyz. XYZ worked well. Then you installed application ABC which also contains library xyz. ABC's xyz overwrites XYZ's library xyz. When you uninstall ABC is removes library xyz, leaving ABC broken.

And removing Automatic Pupsave increases the security of your operating system. Malware you may have picked up while surfing the net also only exists in RAM until written to storage.

For added security, where possible, apply MochiMoppel's instructions for modifying Puppy Package Manager to download pets without automatically installing them. http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96589. Pets are compressed files unlikely to be contaminated. If you have any question regarding malware you may have pickup while surfing, download the desired pet but don't install it. Reboot without saving "RAM to SaveFile". On bootup up, install the pet(s) and execute a manual Save.

The foregoing is not a complete solution. Just an easily applied added precaution.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2015, 05:54    Post subject:  

Quote:
Pups operate entirely in RAM.

This is only partially true...indeed addition sfs are not necessarily loaded to ram at all.

For usb the current session is in ram but the save file is not... the ram session is saved at shutdown and periodically... seems like this is what you are talking about and in this case you can opt to not save iff you add an addon script.

For hard drives and other fast media there is no ram for changes...the save file is used exclusively so any changes are instantly added.

Multisession is the only official load to ram and not save option...there is no save file.

Just wanted to clarify this so hard driver users are not looking for the dont save options.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1298
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 07 Feb 2015, 07:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
Multisession is the only official load to ram and not save option...there is no save file


Multisession [Multi-session live-CD/DVD] can save to dated save folders. That's why it's called "multisession".

Multi-session live-CD/DVD seems to lack Forum popularity, yet:

* it is unique to Puppy and Linux (though not every pup has it) and with a working optical drive it is easy to setup and run

* it is the only boot option which can provide a full audit trail of changes incorporating all session-to-session additions, amendments and deletions over an extended period of time (if continuation disks are used as needed)

* it is notedly secure and it also has unrivalled recovery from errors, viruses or unwanted amendments.

It is obviously not for everybody and I have read it's best suited to desktop computers. However, with sufficient RAM and especially if using a rewritable DVD/CD, it is cheap and easy to try many Pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 10 [150 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2884s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0138s) ][ GZIP on ]