Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 18:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
lost sdb1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 17:19    Post_subject:  

Well that would indicate sdb1 is found, but you told in your previous post that sdb1 is still not found.
So I am confused now.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2673
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 23:12    Post_subject:  

drspastic wrote:
usb-storage: device scan complete
scsi 2:0:0:0: Direct-Access USB2.0 CardReader SD0 0100 PQ: 0 ANSI: 0
sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg1 type 0
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] 15523840 512-byte logical blocks: (7.94 GB/7.40 GiB)
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 03 00 00 00
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
sdb: sdb1
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI removable disk

im not sure about the scsi bit!


The scsi HDD driver bundle is used for a lot of different drives. So I wouldn't panic about that message.

Can you mount sdb1?

(BTW, I have a external HDD that has a goofy partition arrangement, and the primary/only partition actually shows up under sdb5 -- so...)

If it's not visible on the desktop, does Puppy Mounter see it? (right click on a drive icon, and look for the option)

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drspastic


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Location: ruse, bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 04:17    Post_subject:  

no, nothing.

im getting to the point of giving up but i really want to resolve this.

i may try making a backup of the file, then replacing the directories within one at a time untill the drive pops up again. its very clumsy hammer and duct tape fault finding but maybe i can narrow it down to a directory within the .3fs

any thoughts on what end to start hammering?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drspastic


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Location: ruse, bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 05:10    Post_subject:  

just to remind, i already merged /dev
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 09:54    Post_subject:  

During the years I use puppy, I had quite some save files, which didn't work any more. In the beginning, as you, I tried to find the cause and to repair them.
I never succeeded if a sfck didn't work in the first place.
Now I give up and create a new one.
I keep my save file small, 32MB, as my important applications are installed outside it. So I don't loose much time to redo some fine tuning.
Within minutes I am up and running again.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drspastic


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Location: ruse, bulgaria

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 05:00    Post_subject:  

thankyou for the sound advice to give up, but it does not lead to any progress or self betterment does it?

I am sure if John Murga had that attitude we would not be happily running the fastest and most professional distro that is available today (puppy).

I for one would still be struggling with running ubuntu on a little netbook, or getting stressed with DSL
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 05:59    Post_subject:  

As I have said, in the past I have tried for hours and hours and didn't come to a solution. This didn't contribute to progress nor to self-betterment.
The only lesson I learned was that sometimes one had to start from scratch.
I am very sure that John Murga at certain points had to take that same decision.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2673
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 15:00    Post_subject:  

drspastic wrote:
no, nothing.

im getting to the point of giving up but i really want to resolve this.

i may try making a backup of the file, then replacing the directories within one at a time untill the drive pops up again. its very clumsy hammer and duct tape fault finding but maybe i can narrow it down to a directory within the .3fs

any thoughts on what end to start hammering?


It almost seems that the hardware is not being identified correctly...

I have a Kingston brand SD card (well-known) in my eee PC, and I don't think that it works as well as it should. I'm quite tempted to move back to a physically very short USB flash drive.

I am booting from the SD, but it appears that it does not shut down properly. I automatically perform fsck on bootup, but it is always quite slow to boot, because the filesystem is not shutting down cleanly (regularly damaged).

On a different machine, I did not see this issue on a USB flash drive.

Note: I have applied a patch for clean shutdown, which works elsewhere, but does not seem to be working properly on the SD.

Note2: there are different "boot modes" from what I've read. That is, Puppy knows if it is on a SD, USB, normal hard disk, etc. So there may be an issue with the SD tree...

Can you copy to a USB flash, perform a fsck and boot there?

If that behaves differently than the SD card, that may indicate a fault in that media tree.

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2673
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 15:05    Post_subject:  

Béèm wrote:
During the years I use puppy, I had quite some save files, which didn't work any more. In the beginning, as you, I tried to find the cause and to repair them.
I never succeeded if a sfck didn't work in the first place.
Now I give up and create a new one.
I keep my save file small, 32MB, as my important applications are installed outside it. So I don't loose much time to redo some fine tuning.
Within minutes I am up and running again.


However, once you create a new pupsave (or restore from a working backup), you can open the old/broken pupsave and extract files from it (hopefully you have little other than Firefox bookmarks and such stored inside).

The other thing I do is keep a copy of the .pets installed inside, so a rebuild is simply going through the stack.

However, I have not had to rebuild since I patched the shutdown, and started performing fsck on every startup.

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 16:50    Post_subject:  

RetroTechGuy wrote:
Béèm wrote:
During the years I use puppy, I had quite some save files, which didn't work any more. In the beginning, as you, I tried to find the cause and to repair them.
I never succeeded if a sfck didn't work in the first place.
Now I give up and create a new one.
I keep my save file small, 32MB, as my important applications are installed outside it. So I don't loose much time to redo some fine tuning.
Within minutes I am up and running again.


However, once you create a new pupsave (or restore from a working backup), you can open the old/broken pupsave and extract files from it (hopefully you have little other than Firefox bookmarks and such stored inside).

The other thing I do is keep a copy of the .pets installed inside, so a rebuild is simply going through the stack.

However, I have not had to rebuild since I patched the shutdown, and started performing fsck on every startup.
Even the browser bookmarks are outside the save file.
I don't install applications through pet's.
On occasion a library if it's missing.
So I have no problems.

But recently I started to try Trinity (KDE) and there the save file regularly gets corrupted.
No big deal as there is nothing of interest, so I can start from scratch.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drspastic


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Location: ruse, bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 15 Nov 2010, 09:07    Post_subject:  

i have no problems mounting any of my savefiles, i have not yet corrupted one that far.
besides 'corrupted' is a strong term suggesting to me a garbled data file. its good to remember that 2fs, 3 or 4fs are nothing but regular linux filesystems but created within a virtual partition.
would i be getting different responses if i had the issue mentioned within a full install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 15 Nov 2010, 09:10    Post_subject:  

You ca only find out by trying.
Note that a FULL install doesn't use a save file.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3556
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Nov 2010, 14:18    Post_subject:  

1. I became aware...
Yesterday...
That If I boot a "live" Puppy CD...

(a) And tell it to make use of the pupsave file on an internal HDD [not the pupsave on the Flash Drive]...
That Puppy is then unable to see...
Either of the 2 partitions that reside on my 2 USB-connected HDD's.
[Doesn't matter which USB HDD I connect and power-up, it cannot see either]
And yet it can see [all 6 of (I think)] the partitions on the USB connected Flash Drive.
Some Puppies don't see/display sdc1, but do see/display sdc2,3,5,6,7.
1,2,3 are primary...
4 is extended...
5,6,7 are logical.

And yet...
(b) If I tell that same Puppy [BoxPup-431]...
To use the pupsave on [one of the 6 partitions on] the USB-connected Flash Drive...
It IS then able to see [and display] the partition on the USB-connected HDD.

2. Is there something significant going on here? Confused
Might it relate to what you are seeing?
If only I understood what it is you are seeing.
I cannot keep track of the ups & downs, and ins and outs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 15 Nov 2010, 14:35    Post_subject:  

I never had the problem Sylvander is describing in (a) on my regular puppies from 3.xx to 5.xx, wary, quirky included.
I have a USB HDD connected.
The same if I connect that USB HDD on another machine. No problem.
All partitions are seen.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drspastic


Joined: 29 Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Location: ruse, bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 15 Nov 2010, 15:17    Post_subject:  

that is very interesting, and whilst i have not had that problem with booting live cd, both problems relate to the filestructure within the savefiles.

does anyone here have a very good understanding of the linux filesystem and its mounting policys?
lets forget lalala savefile and fix on the filesystem they contain when mounted.

in /dev i see a list of devices, or more exactly files that relate to devices. in /mnt the files shown relate to devices contained in /dev after mounting to the active filesystem. also in /mnt are any ?fs filesystems mounted.

i suspect there may be a problem with recursive mounting of filesystems within filesystems within filesystems. if a /dev ismounted within a filesystem already containing a /dev then what happens?+-

_________________
in answer to the question of life, it is to ask that exact question.
only when we consider our own existence are we truly alive; a state that most will never attain, and from which none have ever recovered. Shocked


skype: drspastic
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0847s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]