Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 20:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Puppy Linux Windows Installer - V1.1 released
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 23 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23
Author Message
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jun 2014, 14:25    Post_subject:  

Puppy does NOT appear in the boot tab of msconfig. You aren't missing anything there.

When you reboot, a screen similar to this should appear for about 5 seconds. At that point, press the down key to select "Start Puppy Linux", then the enter key.

If you do not see this when you boot up, open a cmd with administrator privileges, and run the command "bcdedit" . Look at the timeout (first section), and make sure there is a real-mode boot sector section with:
identifier {random-characters}
device partition=C:
path \grldr.mbr
description Start Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1342
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jun 2014, 19:20    Post_subject:  

Code:
harry@biker:/media/01CF54DDED227E00/Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0
$ ls
initrd.gz               readme.txt               uninst.exe
puppy_slacko_5.7.0.sfs  slackosave-harry1st.3fs  vmlinuz
harry@biker:/media/01CF54DDED227E00/Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0


and

Code:
harry@biker:/media/01CF54DDED227E00
$ ls
093230c5be3240a86616              HP
093715c866f26335dee0              menu.lst
0ded4fd792b54934c37990734bc6      pagefile.sys
21e88d5f9c2745d30fd1              PerfLogs
39f271f968959cc8a5a9              ProgramData
3fe615a2c03ab6176f1b99657e389b45  Program Files
5edea29ffb268815c72de41ef40ad9    Program Files (x86)
7cd0958650ead77664d485f8d4        Puppy_Backup
a1b5c8f927bd741f7033              Recovery
Backups                           $Recycle.Bin
boot                              RHDSetup.log
bootmgr                           SearchProtect
c7f44a32908ea3f3d2989dfd16d996ce  skype-4.0.0.8.sfs
Config.Msi                        Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0
devx_slacko_5.6.0.sfs             SWSetup
Documents and Settings            SYSTEM.SAV
eac9405019a001b1600419            System Volume Information
END                               Temp
grldr                             user.js
grldr.mbr                         Users
Grub_GUI.gz                       Windows
hiberfil.sys
harry@biker:/media/01CF54DDED227E00


and after I told the .exe to install grub during install process. I was left with a menu.list of

Code:
timeout=5
default=0
gfxmenu=/Grub_GUI.gz

title Slacko Puppy Linux 5.7.0
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0/initrd.gz
kernel /Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0/vmlinuz psubdir="Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0" pfix=fsck
initrd /Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0/initrd.gz
boot

title Slacko Puppy Linux 5.7.0 - Do not load save file
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0/initrd.gz
kernel /Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0/vmlinuz psubdir="Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0" pfix=ram
initrd /Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0/initrd.gz
boot


on my working install.

Code:
# df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda5       122G   43G   79G  36% /initrd/mnt/dev_save
/dev/loop1      4.0G  2.0G  2.0G  51% /initrd/pup_rw
tmpfs           158M  157M 1000K 100% /initrd/mnt/tmpfs
/dev/loop0      157M  157M     0 100% /initrd/pup_ro2
/dev/loop4      140M  140M     0 100% /initrd/pup_ro4
/dev/loop5       39M   39M     0 100% /initrd/pup_ro5
unionfs         4.0G  2.0G  2.0G  51% /
tmpfs           2.8G  1.5M  2.8G   1% /tmp
shmfs           149M  4.0K  149M   1% /dev/shm
/dev/sda3        15G   13G  1.7G  89% /mnt/sda3
/dev/sda6       9.8G  3.6G  5.7G  40% /mnt/sda6
/dev/sda7        77G   11G   62G  16% /mnt/sda7
/dev/sda4       4.0G  2.9G  1.1G  73% /mnt/sda4
/dev/sda1       199M   29M  171M  15% /mnt/sda1
# inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: biker Kernel: 3.10.32 i686 (32 bit gcc: 4.7.1)
           Desktop: JWM git-905
           Distro: Slacko Puppy Linux Linux 3.10.32 [ arch]
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard (portable) product: Presario CQ57 Notebook PC v: 068C110003204910000620100
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 3577 v: 24.48
           Bios: Hewlett-Packard v: F.42 date: 11/07/2011
CPU:       Dual core AMD C-50 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
           flags: (lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 3993
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1000 MHz 2: 1000 MHz
Graphics:  Card: ATI Device 9804 bus-ID: 00:01.0
           Display Server: X.org 1.12.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: vesa)
           tty size: 80x24 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.10.32
Network:   Card-1: Ralink Device 5390
           driver: rt2800pci v: 2.3.0 bus-ID: 07:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 2000 bus-ID: 06:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (33.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD2500BEVT size: 250.1GB
Partition: ID-1: swap-1 size: 5.07GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda8
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 60.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 60.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 105 Uptime: 23 min Memory: 294.7/1623.5MB
           Init: SysVinit runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 4.7.1
           Client: Shell (bash 4.1.01) inxi: 2.1.28

_________________
If you know nothing about Linux, take some time to get familiarized with these courses.
I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
moijdikssekool

Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 146

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jul 2014, 14:08    Post_subject:  

ok i have created a new topic here for my problem (no puppy at boot)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5167
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 02:26    Post_subject:  

Several people are posting warnings about installing Puppy on a system with Windows 8.

Example:
teddog wrote:
Grub needs to be GPT harddrive layout setup Grub4Dos is not. Not a good idea to setup dual boot with a win8 hardware. Win8 expects to be only OS on hardware and is very sloppy with harddrive to gain boot speed ( expects stuff to the byte for byte same as it left it. or it will self corrupt )
Hope you backup your machine prior to attempting dual boot, I got an un bootible and was so messed up I had to zero wipe and reload HD image from a eariler backup. This corruption also occurs if you access the harddrive outside of Win8 using ANY linux.

more on harddrive corruption issues The harddrive can be error free in linux but wrong since the copy of harddrive layout in hybridation is reused witbout reloading for changes. This is the source of the windows8 self corruption. Machines need to be shutdown without going into DEFUALT soft fast boot mode with hybernation mode. Win8.1 stop respecting user wishes and will override BACK to defualt mode during updates of anything.
Makes it almost impossible to safely dual boot. By design.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8257

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 04:27    Post_subject:  

I am of the way of thinking if you buy a shiny new windows 8 machine then use windows 8...thats what you have paid for after all.

I suppose the other approach is to remove windows 8 and try and make the bios/hardware behave as would normally be expected for a PC.

I don't believe windows 8 support has been added to this installer yet...and these complications is probably why.

I assume when these machines cease to be new then the linux world will have a handle on how to deal with them reliably.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jul 2014, 16:34    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I don't believe windows 8 support has been added to this installer yet...and these complications is probably why.


It wasn't for a while, mostly since I didn't have access to a secure boot windows 8 system. Playing around, I found that once secure boot is off and the UEFI is in legacy mode, it acts similar to Windows 7. I've been planning on making the installer compatible with secure boot and UEFI for a while, but I've just not had the time. I may look at it again this summer.

bigpup: I've heard that the windows can be unforgiving if you touch it when it's hibernated. When I researched the issue when I added Windows 8 support, I decided it was not necessary to disable fast boot. However, I'm adding it to the first post and adding notes to the downloads as a precaution. I've asked Ted Dog if he was using my installer at the time - I haven't heard of any unbootable windows installations caused by the installer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sevhead

Joined: 21 Aug 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 21 Aug 2014, 17:28    Post_subject:  

I wanted to use the .exe installer for how simple it seemed to use. I turned off fast boot, disabled secure boot, and and the UEFI is set to legacy. WHen the loader starts, I select "start puppy linux", and am given the folowwing error:

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Thu 21 Aug 2014, 19:40    Post_subject:  

Sevhead: I've been looking at this issue off and on, and as far as I can tell, it either has to do with having an GPT partition table, or UEFI (even on legacy). You are welcome to investigate further, and please share your findings if you do find a way to run it. Just a warning - if you decide to switch partition tables, everything on that drive will be deleted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0904s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]