Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 23:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Puppy Linux Windows Installer - V1.1 released
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 21 of 23 [336 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
phredo

Joined: 21 Oct 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue 25 Feb 2014, 22:11    Post subject:  

Quote:
The uninstaller just removes the entry from the boot.ini (along with deleting the grub4dos and puppy files.


In the case of the setup I referred to, I did run a file named "grubinstall.exe" that must have done something. I did the placing of the puppy and grub folders myself, as well as adding the line to boot.ini. I wonder what it was and if it's something I would need to undo, if I wanted to back out of it?

I like it that your exe sets up an "uninstall" option and that it doesn't change the mbr. I'm ready to try it on our desktop computers, especially my wife's, which only has a gigabyte ram. I just need to do a few more experiments with wine and vbox first. By the way, I haven't tried "default=C:\BOOT\STAGE1" yet, but I'll report if it works soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
phredo

Joined: 21 Oct 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed 26 Feb 2014, 16:59    Post subject:  

"default=C:\BOOT\STAGE1" worked to make Puppy the boot default. Makes it much easier to start up unattended without slipping into Windows by mistake with its long start up and shut down times.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2014, 11:32    Post subject:  

The installer for Slacko Puppy 570 has been released.

phredo: great to hear that it worked!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
phredo

Joined: 21 Oct 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 14:54    Post subject:  

Thanks, noryb009 -

I've installed both your Precise and Slacko on several computers at home, and I love the ease of installation and the nice touches you put into the menu. I customized menu.lst, because I put both Puppy directories into a "Puppy" folder, both just to centralize everything and also to have a convenient place to add sfs files common to both, download files to so they'll be outside the save file(s), and anything else that comes to mind. It makes for something I can copy to another computer, with or without the original installation directories.

Because of the above, it would probably be easier for me to download an iso of Slacko 570 and just replace the 560 files with the new ones. Which files would I need to copy, just the puppy_slacko_5.7.sfs or some or all of the other files? Alternately, I could just save my menu.lst, install from your new exe, move things around and edit my old menu.lst, if needed.

Also, will my old save files work with 5.70?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Thu 13 Mar 2014, 17:27    Post subject:  

Thank you! Smile

Quote:
Which files would I need to copy, just the puppy_slacko_5.7.sfs or some or all of the other files?

You need to copy the .sfs, initrd.gz, and vmlinuz (in some puppies, you also need the zdrv, but slacko doesn't have one).

You can do it either way. If you understand the menu.lst, you can also just make a new folder, copy the three files there, then add that to the menu.lst.

Quote:
Also, will my old save files work with 5.70?

I'm not sure about this. I know that some Lucid Puppies were backwards compatible, but I'm not sure about slacko. You might want to ask in the main 570 thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
as77

Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 11:57    Post subject:  

Windows Installers mostly run OK, but ... but a lady after downloading and running one was disappointed to have just a blank screen in her Amilo. The display of which I know to be problematic. But which I know how to force to VESA drivers. Even she knows the steps needed to use xorgwizard to get VESA working when booting from a cd

BUT this neat Windows Installer gives no chance to go to xorgwizard?
The blank screen situation is so stuck that no Ctrl-Alt-Backspace helps

Any advice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8034

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 13:11    Post subject:  

From a laymans point of view this would be in the domain of the puppy installed rather than the installer BUT if there are any vga or video related settings in the menu.lst produced (or it needs some for this machine) that could be a factor.

Blank screens are usually a framebuffer problem.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
as77

Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 14:01    Post subject:  

I made a similar setup in my HP XP laptop. The Win-installer made just 7 files, none of which have any driver configurations to be edited.

These driver settings are buried in the "zipped" slackosave.2fs file? There is no menu.lst
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8034

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 14:24    Post subject:  

vga= is a kernel boot option set in menu.lst or whatever boot method is used....only a suggestion.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 14:48    Post subject:  

mikeb is right, this is more of a Puppy problem. Nevertheless, I'll try to help.

You can find the menu.lst at C:\menu.lst in windows, or at /mnt/sda#/menu.lst in another puppy.

If you want to try a menu.lst configuration without going into windows or puppy, you can go to "Start Puppy Linux", hit the Esc key (there might be a message box?), select the entry with up/down, then press "e" to edit the entry.
You probably need to add pfix=nox to the line that starts with "kernel". From there, you should be able to run xorgwizard.

If you are still having trouble finding the menu.lst, reply here. If you still have trouble with the blank screen, you would probably have more luck in the Beginner's forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 16:00    Post subject:  

Hello, friends!

I put this windows installer on my mom's laptop.
It works very good and she likes to use puppy, it's much faster than win7 that is preinstalled on the laptop.

I did not want to wipe win7 at all. It's much easier to use windows installer:).

The only thing I'd like to do is to edit the boot loader menu and put puppy on the first place because sometimes my mother forgets to choose puppy.

So, what file must I edit?
Thank you

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8034

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 16:11    Post subject:  

You can do it in windows ...computer advance settings and change the default to the one called puppy

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
as77

Joined: 25 Feb 2014
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 23:59    Post subject:  

magerlab wrote:
... sometimes my mother forgets to choose puppy.. So, what file must I edit? Thank you

That's something I'd like to hear. I mean EXACTLY HOW, which file in which path ... Not Just "just do it" or "it is easy".
Many of us have a real life, not just googling and experimenting various things for hours and hours

Thanks to noryb009. Indeed there was menu.lst in c:\ with indeed looong rows ending pfix= ...
Not that the lady loves to visit xorgwizard at every boot. But maybe in the next months I have some hours spare time to find the very secret "pfix" to force VESA drivers
_ _ _

One more nice feature in these excellent Windows installers that after the blank screen in Linux there's the good old working XP and Notepad to edit the configuration. Still better were if only someone would tell how ...

Those frquent blank screens are doing excellent job in frightening ordinary users away from Puppy Linux to say Ubuntu where display recognizing is coded correctly

"Beginners Help" should have a sticky thread "Blank Screen". Now these discussions are scattered in maybe hundreds of threads. In which one very often finds just advice like "try this Puppy" or "try that Puppy"
_ _ _

E: Stuggling with the blank screen is over. Funny but true that her switching the Slacko 5.7.0 to non-PAE version cured the problem. Thanks again to the easiness of Windows installers not very many clicks were needed!

Last edited by as77 on Fri 18 Apr 2014, 20:51; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8034

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2014, 05:46    Post subject:  

If you are talking about XP then yes here is an example.

[boot loader]
timeout=0
default=C:\GRLDR
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
C:\GRLDR="Puppy Smile"
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Windows 2000" /fastdetect

where the change is in bold.

magerlab was asking about windows 7 and you cannot do this with notepad it HAS to be done through the advanced settings. That varies with vista/7/8 and I don't have any of them to take a screenshot PLUS there are BILLIONS of google hits on that subject. Very Happy

mike

ps as for blank screens changes in the kernel/xorg have given puppy builders a hard time .... even the world of linux like to make it hard for the 'competition' Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2014, 22:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
Not that the lady loves to visit xorgwizard at every boot. But maybe in the next months I have some hours spare time to find the very secret "pfix" to force VESA drivers


You should be able to just use "pfix=nox" once, run xorgwizard, and create a savefile, then I think VESA would be used the next boot. I'm not entirely sure about it, though.

Quote:
Still better were if only someone would tell how ...


How to edit the file? Simply open it with notepad, make the changes, then save. To add pfix=nox, just change the line that looks like this:

kernel /Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0/vmlinuz psubdir="Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0" pfix=fsck

to

kernel /Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0/vmlinuz psubdir="Slacko-Puppy-Linux-5.7.0" pfix=nox

or similar.

How to fix the blank screen? Like I said before, I'm not an expert with video problems with Puppy. If the problem persists after trying pfix=nox, you'll probably have more luck posting to the Beginners Help, and in your post, include the video card and puppy version you are using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 21 of 23 [336 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0916s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]