Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 02:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
First Run Dialog for next Lucid Puppy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
Tasgarth

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 202
Location: France, Besancon

PostPosted: Sat 16 Oct 2010, 03:28    Post_subject: Settings Wizard
Sub_title: Settings Wizard
 

Shinobar wrote :
Quote:
The function of the first-run dialog is Country settings plus Resolution changer.
It is local settings matching the hardware, rather than 'personal'.
But also i think the word 'Local Settings' is not easy to understand...


Perhaps :
PC Settings Wizard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 16 Oct 2010, 03:58    Post_subject: version 9d
Sub_title: screen shot only
 

Next version shall be like this:

NOTE: the version name in the title bar is for debbuging.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5084
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 16 Oct 2010, 09:18    Post_subject:  

Add to info statement at top,
Make any required corrections and apply changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sat 16 Oct 2010, 13:14    Post_subject:  

Looking great shinobar. I agree with Bigpup about a bit more explanation at the top, but I can do that--I probably will tinker with it just to be obsessive Wink so don't stress about it--I will do that!

The two buttons Apply and OK confuses me. I think Apply and Close would make more sense. And make them the same size. But one button Apply might be enough, because the current version posts a message "Nothing was Changed" if nothing was changed and th program ends.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3250
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 16 Oct 2010, 14:01    Post_subject: keyboard image  

Here's my attempt to show a keyboard with a first run app.
No disk space is wasted because it's text.

Click to enlarge
[url][/url]

_________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 16 Oct 2010, 16:25    Post_subject: Re: version 9d
Sub_title: screen shot only
 

shinobar wrote:
Next version shall be like this:

NOTE: the version name in the title bar is for debbuging.
Looks good, but can I repeat the suggestion done before to add a selection for the 12/24 hour clock.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 16 Oct 2010, 17:32    Post_subject: keyboard layout, clock  

Thanks, don and Béèm.

As for the graphical keyboard layout, nice idea using text, but i am afraid i cannot gather all the 43 layouts the Puppy supports.
Or, do you know how to extract it from the X data base(/usr/share/X11/xkb) or from somewhere?

A selection for the 12/24 hour clock is atractive but i think it is the business of the window manager, i cannot manage.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 17 Oct 2010, 04:34    Post_subject: Sandbox  

Now, we can avoid 'Apply' button.
For the keyboard setting i put a sandbox. If you click 'Cancel' here, the main dialog comes back with previous keyboard layout.

Same as screen resolution. If you click 'OK' for every question, the main dialog disappears and never comes back unless you launch it from the menu.
Note the timezone and locale do not have cancel buttons.

As for the 'XorgWizard' button, after all other changes performed, you will be asked to go through the text mode. After the desktop comes back, the main dialog appears again.

Next version with 'XorgWizard' button and 'OK' button, without 'Apply' button, coming soon.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4334

PostPosted: Sun 17 Oct 2010, 05:15    Post_subject:  

here is a function from my latest version of bashbox that may be of help during language testing:

as a function
Code:
test_program_with_LANG() { #$1=LANG followed by command to test
REAL_LANG=$LANG
export LANG=$1
shift #removes $1 from $@
$@
export LANG=$REAL_LANG
}


or as a script
Code:
#!/bin/sh
REAL_LANG=$LANG
export LANG=$1
shift #removes $1 from $@
$@
export LANG=$REAL_LANG

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 18 Oct 2010, 03:55    Post_subject: firstrun-0.9d available
Sub_title: Also calling for translations.
 

Now the new version firstrun-0.9d-lupu.pet is available at the top of this topic.
Also calling for translations.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3250
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 18 Oct 2010, 13:55    Post_subject: keyboard settings  

Quote:
For the keyboard setting i put a sandbox.


I like this idea. Simple but effective.

This page describes finding the characters of a keyboard layout
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=48898

UK keyboards have one extra key which complicates things.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5084
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 18 Oct 2010, 18:03    Post_subject:  

Where are the resolution settings, that you can select, coming from? I ask because, none of them seem to have common refresh rates.
Example;
My monitors best setting is 1280x1024 at 60HZ.
There is a 50HZ, and nothing else.
Next best, 1024X768 at 60HZ.
There is a 57HZ.
All the refresh rates seem to be not normal settings for any resolution.
Like 52, 61, 63, 66, 74, 82, 89, 93 etc......
screen 1.png
 Description   resolution settings
 Filesize   174.23 KB
 Viewed   855 Time(s)

screen 1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 18 Oct 2010, 20:37    Post_subject: resolution settings  

bigpup wrote:
Where are the resolution settings, that you can select, coming from? I ask because, none of them seem to have common refresh rates.
Example;
My monitors best setting is 1280x1024 at 60HZ.
There is a 50HZ, and nothing else.
Next best, 1024X768 at 60HZ.
There is a 57HZ.
All the refresh rates seem to be not normal settings for any resolution.
Like 52, 61, 63, 66, 74, 82, 89, 93 etc......

It is the same as the Xorg Resolution Changer, found in the 'Xorg Video Wizard' on the main menu.
On the virtual terminal, type:
Code:
xrandr

It shows available resolutions and vertical frequencies.
But the Xorg Resolution Changer shows the lowest frequency.
I am not sure the Xorg Resolution Changer specifies the frequency or not at running 'xrandr'.

Note that If you once set the resolution with this Personalize Settings, or the Xorg Resolution Changer, the setting of xorg.conf is ignored, even if you run the XorgWizard and select different resolution.
It can be a problem when we take the 'xrandr' for the resolution setting.
EDIT: There are no problem with the XorgWizard, but with the Nvidia X Setting Wizard.

Bigpup, How does the 1280x1024 at 50HZ actually see? Is the display a CRT?
If it is serious, I have to add new menu for frequency.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5084
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 19 Oct 2010, 14:06    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Bigpup, How does the 1280x1024 at 50HZ actually see? Is the display a CRT?
If it is serious, I have to add new menu for frequency.

It is an LCD monitor so 50HZ is not a big issue, MAYBE? If it was a CRT it would be. The thing is, my monitor specs call for a refresh rate of 60HZ or 75HZ at 1280X1024 resolution.
I am using a Nvidia driver and the Nvidia X server setting program gives me the choice of 1280X1024 60HZ or 75HZ.
A troubleshooting question response from my monitors support;
If your LCD monitor is flickering, it probably means that the refresh rate is set too high. The optimal refresh rate for a Samsung LCD Monitor is 60 Hz regardless of the resolution you are running.
Before you say refresh does not matter on a LCD monitor read this.
http://www.tweakguides.com/Graphics_8.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5084
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 19 Oct 2010, 15:11    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Note that If you once set the resolution with this Personalize Settings, or the Xorg Resolution Changer, the setting of xorg.conf is ignored, even if you run the XorgWizard and select different resolution.
It can be a problem when we take the 'xrandr' for the resolution setting.

If I understand this, if you make resolution changes with "First Run Dialog screen" then using Xorgwizard will not make changes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0915s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]