First Run Dialog for next Lucid Puppy

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#116 Post by bigpup »

shinobar,
Resolution issue.
Could all the resolutions that come up on the list be set to have a refresh rate of 60HZ, Like locked setting? I think any monitor could handle that refresh rate, with no problems, for any resolution setting.
Just an idea for you to think about.

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

fix the refresh rate to 60Hz

#117 Post by shinobar »

bigpup wrote:Could all the resolutions that come up on the list be set to have a refresh rate of 60HZ, Like locked setting?
We know the xrandr reports wrog in many case.
So, the bigpup's proposal is very attractive.
I am not sure all or most of the hardwares can manage it.

The problem is how to organize the testers.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

Re: fix the refresh rate to 60Hz

#118 Post by bigpup »

shinobar wrote:
bigpup wrote:Could all the resolutions that come up on the list be set to have a refresh rate of 60HZ, Like locked setting?
We know the xrandr reports wrog in many case.
So, the bigpup's proposal is very attractive.
I am not sure all or most of the hardwares can manage it.

The problem is how to organize the testers.
I have never seen specs, on a monitor, that did not list 60HZ as a refresh rate for any resolution. I think it is a standard supported by all.
From Wikipedia;
From Wikipedia wrote:Windows XP, Windows Vista and Windows 7, set the default refresh rate to a "conservative" rate, usually 60 Hz.
(Why did my screen go black when I wrote that quote)?
My LCD monitor support suggests I use 60HZ refresh rate all resolutions.
All the resolution settings listed in my monitor manual have 60HZ as a setting.
From HP Support wrote:The most common refresh rate for LCD monitors is 60 Hz. This normally cannot be changed for flat panel displays using Plug and Play settings.
Suggested refresh rate for CRT monitor at HP support how to in that other operating system.
Attachments
refresh.png
Refresh rate setting
(41.02 KiB) Downloaded 922 times
Last edited by bigpup on Sun 31 Oct 2010, 04:32, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Update v1.1

#119 Post by shinobar »

Mobeus wrote:Bad news: Upon reboot the screen was black.
Fixed.
But note that the xranrshell nor xorgwizard are not yet fixed.
They still have a problem with selectiong the refresh rate with some hardware as Mobeus reported.

The proposal from bigpup (not rely xrandr refresh rate) is pending for this update, v1.1.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
Mobeus
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu 26 Aug 2010, 15:49

#120 Post by Mobeus »

Success! No problems here with v1.1in Luci-234. Set to 1024x768/60, and retained it after reboot. Installed Xorg-High and still had the desired settings after rebooting.

FYI the v1.0 built in to Luci-234 gave a black screen after rebooting.

Congratulations!

:D :D
/root for the home team

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

#121 Post by L18L »

firstrun-1.1
revised german translation attached
Attachments
countrywizard-de.tar.gz
/usr/share/doc/countrywizard/nls/de.po
/usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES/countrywizard.mo
(3.59 KiB) Downloaded 419 times

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#122 Post by 01micko »

shino

On some thinking about fullstart..

This is all that is needed

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

. /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE #get pupmode

if [[ $PUPMODE != 2 && $PUPMODE != 3 ]];then exit
	else 
	first-run.sh &
	#rm -f /$HOME/Startup/fullstart  #this file self destructs after first run
	chmod -x /root/Startup/fullstart ##change permission instead
fi
That way the code will only execute once in pupmode 2 and 3 only (full installs to fast and slow media respectively).

There is no need of the permission change in /usr/bin/first-run.sh... (unless of course this one is removed :wink: maybe more correct syntax that way )

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

fullstart

#123 Post by shinobar »

01micko wrote:On some thinking about fullstart..
Maybe playdayz mistook in packaging Luci-235.
My code in firstrun-1.1.pet, /root/Startup/fullstart:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
[ -s /tmp/firstrun ] && chmod -x $0 && exit
firstrun
[ -s /tmp/firstrun ] && chmod -x $0
Seems tricky but may work.

EDIT: I forgot the detail of these scripts... :lol:
It is quite complex.
One thing i remember is the firstrun(countrywizard.qs) can be canceled with CTL-ALT-BS when trying new resolution.
Another, the delayedrun may change its sequence in the future... etc.
My thought, the delayedrun need not call the first-run.sh, but should launch the Startup scripts soon. It must be more simple with the variety of install style.

By the way, i see you use '[[ ]]'.
what is the difference from '[ ]'?
I am not familiar with '[[ ]].
Last edited by shinobar on Wed 10 Nov 2010, 02:40, edited 1 time in total.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#124 Post by 01micko »

Hi shino

Yes I use the [[ ]] to avoid "[; unary operator expected" error which occurs when using "not" operator... it's not fatal but it does produce an error. Also is necessary when testing 2 conditions with "&&" or "||".. (or even -a or -o).

Perhaps you are right that playdayz did misplace a file as we did discuss the full install earlier.

Also I agree with the delayedrun call not being a good idea. /root/Startup/* is executed just after and is very versatile. If you put "0_<scriptname>" in /root/Startup it gets priority.

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

double braket

#125 Post by shinobar »

01micko wrote:Yes I use the [[ ]] to avoid "[; unary operator expected" error
Thanks mike for the lecture. Lastly I got it :)
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Refresh rate

#126 Post by shinobar »

I am trying to implement bigpups proposal, separating the refresh rate.

Image

I am facing to the difficulty how to get the current refresh rate when we do not rely the xrandr reports.
Your help wanted.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

gcmartin

Best Startup for a RAM-based system I've ever seen

#127 Post by gcmartin »

shinobar wrote: ... Image
... .
Congratualations on your work thus far. For LiveCD implementations, this is the BEST startup I've ever witnessed thus far. This single piece of work is any user's dream (newbie or advanced).

Your work here is going to end up everywhere (especially in future LIveCD/RAM based systems.

Hint: When time permits, move for a GNU licensing ("a software form of patent") of your work. It truly is far-reaching.

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#128 Post by bigpup »

I am facing to the difficulty how to get the current refresh rate when we do not rely the xrandr reports.
Your help wanted.
Does it really matter if the refresh rate is good in the beginning if you are going to be able to change it at start with the first run dialog. I never had a problem getting a desktop to appear, I could not get the proper combination of resolution and refresh rate to choose in First Run Dialog. That is why I suggested have it give everyone a 60Hz refresh rate at first. Everyones monitor and video card should be able to handle that refresh rate in the beginning, but then offer to let them change it to what they want along with changing the resolution.
Also, if you are a total newbie and do not understand refresh rate, you can change the resolution and 60HZ refresh rate should work with any resolution setting. Should stop from getting the Black Screen of Death because the combination of resolution and refresh rate is unable to be used by your monitor.
Image

Jim1911
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 20:39
Location: Texas, USA

#129 Post by Jim1911 »

Please include a firstrun.desktop file with a cute little icon, so that a menu entry will be generated. I know that it can be started from the console, but a menu entry is handy.

Thanks,
Jim

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

menu entry

#130 Post by shinobar »

Jim1911 wrote: I know that it can be started from the console, but a menu entry is handy.
The title of the menu entry is 'Parsonalize Settings' under 'Setup' you can find.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

Jim1911
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 20:39
Location: Texas, USA

Re: menu entry

#131 Post by Jim1911 »

Thanks to Shinobar and James C for pointing me in the right direction. "Personalize Settings" does make more sense than First Run.
Jim :oops:
Last edited by Jim1911 on Fri 05 Nov 2010, 04:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#132 Post by James C »

Located at:

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#133 Post by playdayz »

Fullstart. Yes, I checked and there was an older fullstart that took the place of yours shinobar. It should be correct in luci-236. I am sorry for missing it.

Please let me know when that kind of thing happens. 01micko is not shy about it ;-)

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#134 Post by 01micko »

I made a post about what I think causes playdayz problem with LANG="C"

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 003#464003

Do you think this could cause the problem?

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

some fixes

#135 Post by shinobar »

Thanks playdayz.
I will fix the UTF typo and '@euro' support.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

Post Reply