Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 07:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lupu-515 Beta New Version DEC 18
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 99 of 210 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, ..., 208, 209, 210 Next
Author Message
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 12:32    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Lucid Puppy Luci-238 boots irregularly.

Hey brownmouse, try luci-239 later today or tomorrow. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 12:37    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
ttuuxxx,
We need the internal browser to run Cups which requires javascript, as well as to display Help and LupuNews from Quickpet. Thanks.

well it does work with cups, should display help and news fine. Dillo does work with javascript, It probably would work with Gmail also if ssl was working properly. I did compile it with ssl
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 12:38    Post_subject:  

Heck if you don't want want dillo, Just make sure ssl works in your next release and I'll compile something else Smile tomorrow
ttuuxxx

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 12:39    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Re hyphen or underscore

It was Barry who moved from underscore to hyphen sometime around 4.3.1 (? maybe before that). This caused a bit of a problem with any iso busting tools that did not take account of the CD format being used. A simple file rename would solve it.

I cannot remember when but Barry moved back to underscore again recently because of the problems. Presumably this is why underscore now appears with luci_238.

Barry has been doing a lot of things to woof recently and reversing some things he did previously.

Please anyone help me out here with some explanation.

The underscore is a problem for windows users booting from a usb stick. Do I have that correct--so I can report to Barry. Thank you.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 12:39    Post_subject:  

pmetatagger also uses id3tag/info/convert
In puppy 5.1.1(and luci238) pmetatagger only supports ogg and flac. With id3tag it supports 10 formats.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 12:41    Post_subject:  

Thanks Jades! Very good explanation and I agree that it is better to have that choice then it being autmoatically even when one don't want it to be Smile

Brown Mouse


I will try to start all over with the iso and and a totally new frugal install to see if that works better.

But I vaguely remember that I ahve tried that before.

I am on NTFS are you also dual booting with win7Starter?
I report later tonight. Has some house keeeping to do.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5788
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 12:49    Post_subject:  

Jeeeeeee, Dillo is fast Very Happy

Sad I loose the address-field and tool-buttons after entered many pages.


Thank you ttuuxxx

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 12:58    Post_subject:  

zigbert wrote:
Jeeeeeee, Dillo is fast Very Happy

Sad I loose the address-field and tool-buttons after entered many pages.


Thank you ttuuxxx


Your welcome Zigbert Smile

I was thinking If all those 24MB compressed doc's in the devX get moved into a sfs, Then wouldn't it make sense to add the static fltk-2.0 Lib's I posted ?, Less than 1MB, still would have an extra 23MB to play with Smile The nice thing about fltk-2.0 is that they compile apps small like dillo, Unlike QT where a min static app compiled is a min 6+MB, Most the time its around 10MB, but I have compiled a couple around 6MB. When they are that large, Its pretty much better just to add the whole lib backend If your including 2 or 3 apps.

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 13:03    Post_subject:  

Unfortunately, neither Dillo, Hv3, or Netsurf runs Cups completely. Thanks for the ideas. (01micko knew about Netsurf. I am just trying to summarize the situation.)

What we could really use from the gifted compilers is the latest version of Midori. Technosaurus's version that we are using is 2.5MB (no SSL--which is OK for use as an internal browser).

Any other *comparable* browser of the same size would be worth a look.

We need the internal browser for 3 reasons.
1. Cups
2. display Help
3. LupuNews in Quickpet (until people download a real browser).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 13:10    Post_subject:  

Quote:
- id3convert and id3cp (not in use by Pmusic)
- id3info and id3tag (in use)

Got 'em.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 13:24    Post_subject:  

Now look! Why cant I have a calender pop up when I click on the clock? Useability fail?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 450
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 13:31    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Thanks Jades! Very good explanation and I agree that it is better to have that choice then it being autmoatically even when one don't want it to be Smile

Brown Mouse


I will try to start all over with the iso and and a totally new frugal install to see if that works better.

But I vaguely remember that I ahve tried that before.

I am on NTFS are you also dual booting with win7Starter?
I report later tonight. Has some house keeeping to do.


nooby

No,I have XP Home on my netbook and I sat the Fluppy savefile and the 511 on the NTFS partition and boot from a usb flash drive.
Both work perfectly but what I found was,it's essential to start with a clean savefile.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 13:32    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Now look! Why cant I have a calender pop up when I click on the clock? Useability fail?

Right-click? It just worked for me, in Openbox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 13:38    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
Now look! Why cant I have a calender pop up when I click on the clock? Useability fail?

Right-click? It just worked for me, in Openbox.


Fails in JWM

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10843
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Nov 2010, 13:43    Post_subject:  

I just tried this static build qt browser that comes qt when you compile it, Its 14MB compressed single bin file, but it doesn't display the forums images, lol
Strange, but gmail works with it, lol
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 99 of 210 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, ..., 208, 209, 210 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1107s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0344s) ][ GZIP on ]