Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 07:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to Use the P910nd Print Server
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [31 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
DanielV

Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun 06 Mar 2011, 18:55    Post subject: Tried this  

I have added this command to the post-boot (if you thought to add there ("at the start")). I don´t know exactly where, therefore I did it two times. See attachment for script and appropriate log. Again prints only second printer when attemped to print on first one. Nothing new.

If I can answer your question - I have erased post-boot script and connected only first printer. Log in the attachment.
Log_only 1st printer without script.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  Log_only 1st printer without script.zip 
Filesize  87.36 KB 
Downloaded  167 Time(s) 
Log_2.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  Log_2.zip 
Filesize  87.98 KB 
Downloaded  154 Time(s) 
Script_2.PNG
 Description   
 Filesize   20.24 KB
 Viewed   514 Time(s)

Script_2.PNG

Log_1.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  Log_1.zip 
Filesize  87.91 KB 
Downloaded  153 Time(s) 
Script_1.PNG
 Description   
 Filesize   20.15 KB
 Viewed   514 Time(s)

Script_1.PNG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 06 Mar 2011, 19:35    Post subject:  

Your original post has this code:
Code:
p910nd -f /usb/dev/lp0 0
p910nd -f /usb/dev/lp1 1

But we have been using:
Code:
p910nd -f /dev/usb/lp0 0
p910nd -f /dev/usb/lp1 1

Which of these is valid?

A useful command is
Code:
ps | grep p910

This will show what servers are running.

Change the first line of the script from
Code:
#!/bin/sh

to
Code:
#!/bin/bash


Type each of the commands in the script individually. After the line
Code:
D=${L:15:1}

type
Code:
echo $D

This value should be either a zero or a one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DanielV

Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 16:30    Post subject: Tried all  

Valid code was
[code] p910nd -f /dev/usb/lp0 0
[code] p910nd -f /dev/usb/lp1 1

It was my mistake. I wrote this from my memory(head). /usb/dev even doesn´t exist in my system.

But this code now also doesn´t work!

Only thing that works now is to run these code when router and printers are on:

[/code] p910nd -f /dev/usb/lp1 1

Then servers running, see attachment (Servers running_no script).

I tried everything you suggested, #!/bin/sh or #!/bin/bash results in the same - prints only second printer when attempting the first one.

When this script is running, command ps | grep p910 resulting in, see attachment, maybe this will be important for you (When script is running).

I couldn´t display the value $D, blank line in Putty, blank in System Command field in router web interface.

Thanks
Script_current.PNG
 Description   
 Filesize   20.4 KB
 Viewed   492 Time(s)

Script_current.PNG

When script is running.PNG
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  When script is running.PNG 
Filesize  79.17 KB 
Downloaded  264 Time(s) 
Servers running.PNG
 Description   
 Filesize   16.75 KB
 Viewed   494 Time(s)

Servers running.PNG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 17:03    Post subject:  

The "ps" command shows that both servers are running. However, if the router is servicing one of the printers on its own, I don't know how to turn that off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DanielV

Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Tue 08 Mar 2011, 03:19    Post subject: Never mind  

I want to say that you did great work. Thanks again.
I will solve this probably by flashing with OpenWRT firmware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DanielV

Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 17:16    Post subject:  

I have solved the problem with two printers but not via software way. Simply I changed Asus WL 500G Premium with Asus WL 500G and all is done. This router is equipped with parallel port too. And this unit services both LPT and USB printers at the same time perfectly.
Anyway, why p910nd works fine with WL 500G but with WL 500G P not? Maybe here is the solution... I think a lot of people want to solve sharing two printers at the same time with WL 500G P.

Last edited by DanielV on Sun 27 Mar 2011, 06:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 26 Mar 2011, 17:40    Post subject:  

Glad to hear you got it working.

So how are the printers installed on your client machines? Is the parallel printer always on port 9100 and the USB printer on 9101?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DanielV

Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 06:49    Post subject:  

Thanks again for your interest!
No, the USB printer is always on 9100 and the parallel printer is on port 9101. This is recommended:

e.g. here (in czech): http://netcode.cz/articles/router-asus-print-server.aspx or e.g. here (in english): http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=771

I followed that and works fine.

I am still afraid of flashing with OpenWRT, cause I am still green in Linux. Therefore I looked for this router (WL 500G) and I am glad that works. For sure, Asus WL 500G has 1x parallel and 1x USB 1.1 ports.

I will post here logs, commands again, if needed.

Thank you very much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DanielV

Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 16:14    Post subject: Log_WL 500G  

In the attachment is Log file from Asus WL 500G. It works fine with two printers, no matter in which order they are turned on, etc.
Maybe you have an idea what to do with WL 500G Premium to get it working ...
WL 500G_System log.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  WL 500G_System log.zip 
Filesize  95.79 KB 
Downloaded  137 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 18:25    Post subject:  

Here is one more script to try. Change the PID's to match your two printers.
p910nd-start.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  p910nd-start.tar.gz 
Filesize  311 Bytes 
Downloaded  208 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DanielV

Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 17:13    Post subject:  Log  

Using this script again prints only the second printer on port 9101. There is log file from WL 500G premium in the attachment.
WL 500G Premium_System Log.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  WL 500G Premium_System Log.zip 
Filesize  93.4 KB 
Downloaded  129 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DanielV

Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sat 02 Apr 2011, 02:42    Post subject: I have an idea  

Is it possible to run only one instance of p910nd and the other printer run on LPR? Cause it is hard to run automatically two instances of p910nd this could work. Can you write this script?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Apr 2011, 08:46    Post subject:  

That script works correctly for me on an actual Puppy machine. But I have no idea what's happening inside your router. And it's impossible for me to tell by looking at the logs. I don't suppose that you want to send me the router? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DanielV

Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sat 02 Apr 2011, 09:20    Post subject:  Why not?  

Cause I am very wondering why this cann´t working, I would like to send you this router, of course! Smile

But I live in Czech Republic, you probably in Canada. That´s the problem Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4309
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 30 Dec 2013, 17:21    Post subject:  

We followed all of the steps & not working - still appears to be using CUPS in Linux.

Did we need to first delete the printer(s) in CUPS?

In Microsoft Win7 also followed steps & it doesn't work - getting "Print Error".

When running "p910nd-start" is the script supposed to run and go to "script complete hit return to close window" or should it be "scanning" - looking for printers on port 9100?

EDIT: Just observed on another Puppy computer that the P1006 printer shows up there as:
p1006@192.168.1.135 -- but when I sent a print job it just disappeared.

If I send a print job from the computer that has previously been used to manage both CUPS & the Router printer settings it now also disappears.

I went to Console on that computer, powered off the printer, then ran the code you gave me, then powered on the printer - which cycled as it always has:
Code:
cat /usr/share/foo2xqx/firmware/sihpP1006.dl | nc -w 1 192.168.1.1 9100


I then sent another job, which showed up in Jobs in CUPS, but it never printed.

WDYT?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [31 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0756s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]