Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 10:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to Use Samba-TNG Server in Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 10 [148 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10
Author Message
ralplpcr

Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jan 2014, 19:01    Post subject:    

ralplpcr wrote:
<snip>
I'll try sharing them individually to see if that fixes the problem. If it does, then I just need to figure out how to make my smb.conf organize them better. </snip>


That was the issue. As soon as I set "disk3" to have it's own share (and mount under it's own drive letter), the error message went away. Very Happy

Of course, now I have some random "network resource has gone away" errors... but I don't think that's Samba's fault. More than likely because I've got it temporarily hooked up via wireless until I can get it running and moved back to it's normal home.

Anybody have ideas how to tweak smb.conf to keep them under a single share?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jan 2014, 21:20    Post subject:  

What is the combined size of the three drives? Maybe the movies share has exceeded some allowable maximum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ralplpcr

Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jan 2014, 22:39    Post subject:  

The three drives are as follows:
1tb, 1.5tb, 1tb

They're formatted NTFS, so overall available size is around 3.1tb.

Although it's not *exactly* how I want it, as long as I set each individual drive as a share in smb.conf, it does work well.

I don't see any limit anywhere within the share, but I am still somewhat of a novice with Linux. Any suggestions where I might check for this limit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 00:07    Post subject:  

ralplpcr wrote:
They're formatted NTFS, so overall available size is around 3.1tb.

That would seem to be the answer. You have a non-network-aware application trying to access a single drive Z: that is exceeding the standard 2 TB limit for Windows.

Maybe for the purposes of your burning program, you could map Z: to movies/disk3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ralplpcr

Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 19:28    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
You have a non-network-aware application trying to access a single drive Z: that is exceeding the standard 2 TB limit for Windows.


I thought of that, but it doesn't make sense how it worked that way when I had them running in the 2003 server using that setup. If that's the case, then I wonder what will happen when I replace one of those drives with a 3TB drive, as I was planning to do in the near future? Will I be able to "see" it at all?

For that matter, I certainly hope that Puppy can mount it - - being only 32 bit. I had heard that kernel support was present for a few years now for larger drives, but worst case I can migrate from Slacko 5.6 to something like FatPup.

In any case, I do appreciate your help and patience! Smile Even if I can't make it work exactly as I used to have it, I'm still quite pleased that it's working... and I can adjust to having to do things a little differently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ralplpcr

Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 19:08    Post subject:  UPDATE: Success!  

Just giving an update:

It involved a little trickery, but I have now successfully mounted and shared my 3 drives under a single drive letter. My non-network aware ripping program on WinXP is completely "tricked", and will correctly save it's output to whichever of the 3 drives I choose now.

The secret is in how the drives are mounted, and where. Here's the Samba-autostart settings that did the trick:

Code:
#Mount any shared drives here:
sudo mount /dev/sda1 /movies
mkdir /movies/disk2
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /movies/disk2
mkdir /movies/disk3
sudo mount /dev/sdc1 /movies/disk3

#Start the Samba-TNG server
samba-start
Xdialog --title " " --infobox "Samba-TNG started" 0 0 2000


You'd think that I could create the "disk2" and "disk3" directories once, rather than at each bootup, but for some reason when I mount the /movies directory, it seems to hide anything that's already in there.

What I end up seeing is over 3TB of data mapped to a single drive letter on a 32bit WinXP. The 1.5TB drive and 2nd 1TB drive map perfectly under pseudo-directories "disk2" and "disk3", and Windows only sees the full size of disk1 as 1TB.

On to the next challenge now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3261
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 10 May 2014, 14:26    Post subject:  

I'm having trouble downloading samba-tng-rcrsn-0.5-rc1.pet from the
first page but here's an alternate link...


http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/samba-tng-rcrsn-0.5-rc1.pet

________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3261
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2014, 15:35    Post subject:  

Download from first post now works Cool
____________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 24 May 2014, 15:45    Post subject:  

Thanks for reporting this. This was one of many attachments that got deleted by the new forum download restrictions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n3w_puppy


Joined: 15 Jun 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 19:49    Post subject:  

Hello,

I have problems with samba share on my 2 computers running dual boot XP & Puppy Precise 5.7.1. installed on HDD Linux partition.

I installed samba TNG Server on both computers and configured according to first page tutorial ( ... I think ) but when I try to connect from one computer to another YASSM see the server and shares but at mount I get error: No connection to ...( share name ). Evil or Very Mad
No difference if I try to use IP address or computer name. Evil or Very Mad

With Puppy I can access share from XP on both computers but from XP of course I can't access shares from Puppy. Evil or Very Mad

I disabled firewall ( I think ) on both computers to eliminate this problem but still no luck.

Can anybody try tp help me to solve this problem, I lost many days & nights and now at 02:45 am, I still can't find the problem after deleting samba config & reinstalling TNG...

Don't think it matter but on both computers OS is installed something like this:
sda1 NTFS - XP
sda2
sda6 FAT32 - share
sda7 ext4 - Puppy
sda5 linux-swap
sdb1 usb hdd NTFS - share

thank you.

p.s.
Python share I tested and it is working but I need samba to share the same like in XP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jun 2014, 20:07    Post subject:  

From the main instructions:
Quote:
If the client machine is using a recent 3.x kernel, please see the note in YASSM regarding the sec=ntlm option.

At the YASSM login screen, there is an Options line. Enter "sec=ntlm".

Quote:
but from XP of course I can't access shares from Puppy.

This is a separate issue. If you create the desktop shortcut "\\pupserver", what happens when you click on it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jun 2014, 04:31    Post subject:  

No reply? That's too bad. If there is a problem, your contribution would be useful to other community members.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n3w_puppy


Joined: 15 Jun 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jun 2014, 05:51    Post subject:  

Code:
At the YASSM login screen, there is an Options line. Enter "sec=ntlm".


I just wake up ( I'm still a zombie ) and tested, this saved my day, now it is working.

thank you for help, now I can move further with share configure - testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 10 [148 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0862s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0112s) ][ GZIP on ]