Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 19:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lucid Puppy Quickset edition (LupQ-511)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
bodbozzle


Joined: 03 Aug 2010
Posts: 45
Location: El Barrio GMT +1 (de)

PostPosted: Wed 10 Nov 2010, 05:14    Post subject:  

An older "AMD Thunderbird -PC" with an orphaned XP and no working CD-drive,
could be easily revived due to the
Lucid-Puppy-Quickset-511-installer.exe.
Smile
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 10 Nov 2010, 07:43    Post subject: Re: wacom tablet works  

don570 wrote:
I was able to get my wacom Bamboo tablet to work
perfectly now. ..

Lovely, thanks very much... Gonna try it today Smile

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 10 Nov 2010, 09:06    Post subject: Windows Installer  

bodbozzle wrote:
An older "AMD Thunderbird -PC" with an orphaned XP and no working CD-drive,
could be easily revived due to the
Lucid-Puppy-Quickset-511-installer.exe.

Thanks for the good news, bodbozzle Exclamation

We are still calling for your report regarding the Windows Installer > to all

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 10 Nov 2010, 15:10    Post subject: Re: Windows Installer  

shinobar wrote:
We are still calling for your report regarding the Windows Installer > to all

I had no problems with the .exe installer on my PC.. It would not boot on my EEE PC, gave an error and stopped, when uppacking the initrd.gz

On my PC:

I installed LupQ with the exe installer to an NTFS windows partition, booted fine, grub worked, no hard drive issues (which I was warned about on NTFS!)

However, I know that installing and booting Puppy from NTFS in not recommended, so I got found an old hard drive and formatted to ext3, then used the LupQ liveCD with frugall installer to install to my new HDD.

It's a lot faster on ext3, and so I uninstalled the .exe LupQ installer from my windows system/partition, but it worked fine.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 10 Nov 2010, 15:44    Post subject:  

Quote:
I know that installing and booting Puppy from NTFS in not recommended


But we are very many now that have done so for years and it works very good.

I have three computers and list them in my signatur and all of them have at least ten different puppies on them and all of them have frugal install on NTFS and it just works.

So is this not a very old recommendation? Or that it is for full install that it is not recommended?

For dual booting with windows it is the best thing if one have a brand new machine. If one have an old then one can chose to format it for linux but if you have to dual boot then NTFS for frugal is totally okay. ?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 09:10    Post subject: frugal install on NTFS  

nooby wrote:
I have three computers and list them in my signatur and all of them have at least ten different puppies on them and all of them have frugal install on NTFS and it just works.

What boot loader are you using, nooby?
I remember you have never been using grub4dos...

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 09:23    Post subject: Re: Windows Installer  

sc0ttman wrote:
I had no problems with the .exe installer on my PC.. It would not boot on my EEE PC, gave an error and stopped, when uppacking the initrd.gz

On my PC:

I installed LupQ with the exe installer to an NTFS windows partition, booted fine, grub worked, no hard drive issues (which I was warned about on NTFS!)

However, I know that installing and booting Puppy from NTFS in not recommended, so I got found an old hard drive and formatted to ext3, then used the LupQ liveCD with frugall installer to install to my new HDD.

It's a lot faster on ext3, and so I uninstalled the .exe LupQ installer from my windows system/partition, but it worked fine.

Thanks for testing.
Like to confirm:
You have 2 PC, 'my PC' and 'EEE PC', right?
You ran the installer.exe both on the 2 PC's.
The former 'my PC' got success, but the latter 'EEE PC' failed, right?
Will you tell me what Windows version of the both?
Do you have any idea why the latter 'EEE PC' failed?

You are right you avoid NTFS but frugal install on ext3.
NTFS works but ext3 is better.
I have too ext3 partition with many folder for Puppy's frugal installation.
I have NTFS partition with Windows and frugal installed Puppy only for test purpose.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 09:48    Post subject:  

It's one thing to say avoid NTFS in preference to ext3 and quite another to say it is not recommended to frugal install Puppy on NTFS.

Who is doing the recommending and why?

This myth that writing to NTFS from Linux is dangerous seems to have taken hold in the Knoppix forum - I would not like to see it take hold here.

Yes, in very rare cases, you can have problems but no worse than problems you might get running Windows XP - yet nobody recommends running Windows XP on FAT32.

Linux does its writing to ntfs through ntfs-3g. This has been very solid from the beginning but until about 2 years ago there was a possibility of error with a certain set of (rare) conditions. ntfs-3g was updated to remove this problem and puppies for some time have used this later version of ntfs-3g.

One can never be sure that software is bug free so there may still be some esoteric conditions where it is a problem. I just think the risk is no worse than that with Windows.

The one thing you do have to be aware of is if you write directly to NTFS then the permission system is different from an ext2/3 system. This is no issue for a Puppy frugal because the pupsave file created is set up internally as an ext2/3 system so any writes there retain the Linux permission system.

These myths hamper development. Tinybit, who created grub4dos, stopped support for ntfs after some unsubstantiated talk that things did not work correctly with Windows XP SP2, (Edit - I originally said Vista but then remembered it was before this). Thankfully, when Ubuntu Wubi came about, Bean took up the challenge to update grub4dos and the lack of support for ntfs in XP SP2/Vista/Win 7 was quietly removed!

Last edited by ICPUG on Fri 12 Nov 2010, 08:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 09:57    Post subject: Re: frugal install on NTFS  

shinobar wrote:
nooby wrote:
I have three computers and list them in my signatur and all of them have at least ten different puppies on them and all of them have frugal install on NTFS and it just works.

What boot loader are you using, nooby?
I remember you have never been using grub4dos...


Yes sorry, my bad I assumed that jolicloud would use grub4dos but I don't know what they use.

I am totally immersed now to get your grub4dosconfig going on a usb memstick so I have to deal with the hdd later.

sorry to derail your thread. I will reboot now after using gparted to partition and format and this time setting boot flag and doing your program and now most likely I have done it the proper way. Trying luci236 this time.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 11:23    Post subject: Puppy on NTFS  

ICPUG wrote:
I just think the risk is no worse than that with Windows.

Nicely ICPUG you say!

I personally use ext3 because of the convenience /mnt/home is ready as the working space for linux. And my ntfs partition is only for testing.
But for new comers from Windows users, i recommend to install Puppy in their existing Windows drive as is. It is easy and safe thanks to the grub4dos.
No new linux partitions, no swap partitions.

How to install Puppy on Windows PC
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61796

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 11:58    Post subject: Re: Windows Installer  

shinobar wrote:
Like to confirm:
You have 2 PC, 'my PC' and 'EEE PC', right?

Yes, I have 1 desktop PC and a netbook (the eee PC)

shinobar wrote:
You ran the installer.exe both on the 2 PC's.
The former 'my PC' got success, but the latter 'EEE PC' failed, right?

Correct. My desktop PC booted fine, but my Eee PC (my netbook) did not..

shinobar wrote:
Will you tell me what Windows version of the both?
Do you have any idea why the latter 'EEE PC' failed?

I have XP pro sp3 on both machines, both NTFS, both installed to the first partition of the hard drive.

I have no idea why my Eee PC fails to boot using the LupQ installer. Grub works fine, it can run Puppy from USB, but I can't make it boot a Puppy install from the NTFS partition.... Rolling Eyes

I will try another installer on my Eee PC..

shinobar wrote:
You are right you avoid NTFS but frugal install on ext3.
NTFS works but ext3 is better.
I have too ext3 partition with many folder for Puppy's frugal installation.
I have NTFS partition with Windows and frugal installed Puppy only for test purpose.

Yeah, I don't even know why NTFS is 'not advised', but I believe it Smile

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 12:08    Post subject:  

Scottman, I am a poor reader. Did you tell us what boot error it gave?

I had trouble with something close to the eee a Acer D250 and that one have win7 on it and when one do frugal it seems to be on the third partition so it looks like this

root (0,2) And name is Sda3

But I guess your usb booting should be able to tell you such thing.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 12:25    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
Scottman, I am a poor reader. Did you tell us what boot error it gave?

The error was: the initrd.gz file could not be unpacked... No matter where I put it, if grub found it and booted it, I got that error Embarassed

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 12:41    Post subject:  

oops okay, then we need experts that recognize what to do now.

I had hope it was something easy to put right. I bow out

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yordanj94

Joined: 16 Sep 2010
Posts: 77
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 16 Nov 2010, 12:02    Post subject: Iron broser  

Hi to all.
Can someone help me please !
I got no problem with the older version "Iron-6.0.475-Lucid.pet", but can't just run the new one "Iron-7.0.520.0-Lucid.pet"
It shows is installed ,but just doesn't run .
What am i doing wrong ?
I install it the same way as i do with the older one.
Thanks in advance.
Yordan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0944s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]