Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 09:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
4.3.2-SCSI 2.6.30.5 full older modem support
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 11 [156 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1668
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 08:35    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Hmmm I just rebooted fresh and Xvesa worked, I wonder why it wouldn't work earlier, maybe it was loading a pupsave, well That's a good thing, too bad I just spent 2 hr compiling Xserver grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
ttuuxxx


Perhaps I should not be testing....here's what happens

xorg probe gives various choices....picking 12?? by 10?? gives me 16?? by ?? But then, I can use xvesa to chose something that works.

Seamonkey works once with shoutcast.com....subsequent tries result in no audio.

Will not shut down...

With that many problems, I didn't go any further

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 09:38    Post subject:  

tlchost wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:
Hmmm I just rebooted fresh and Xvesa worked, I wonder why it wouldn't work earlier, maybe it was loading a pupsave, well That's a good thing, too bad I just spent 2 hr compiling Xserver grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
ttuuxxx


Perhaps I should not be testing....here's what happens

xorg probe gives various choices....picking 12?? by 10?? gives me 16?? by ?? But then, I can use xvesa to chose something that works.

Seamonkey works once with shoutcast.com....subsequent tries result in no audio.

Will not shut down...

With that many problems, I didn't go any further

Thom

The only thing that I find broken now is the audio, my pc shutdown fine with xorg and Xvesa, plus the choosing the resolution works fine on my pc also, which is the normal xorg driver you use? That could be the issue for both things shutdown and display. If I knew which driver regular puppies work for you, I could compile it.
I'll work on alsa for now
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 657
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 12:59    Post subject:  

Hi all

clean frugal install, no problem apart from the xvesa one that has been mentioned. I am getting top quality video and sound

Downloaded htop-0.8.1-i486-uj with ppm from the puppy 5 official list.
(did the same to 431 to make some comparisons)

432 will recognise and use a twin core chip, 431 just recognises it and uses it as a single chip.

Just got a few numbers to see how heavier 432 is on resources

using the free comand in terminal (memory used)

Action 431 432 change % rise
at rest 301168 325188 = 24020 = 7.9%
playing 8.7mb mp4 345308 379924 = 34616 = 10.0%
playing 103mb HDmp4 406172 450467 = 44295 = 10.9%

using Htop (mem)

Action 431 432 change % rise
at rest 35 44 = 9 = 25%
playing 8.7mb mp4 63 81 = 18 = 28%
playing 103mb HDmp4 76 94 = 18 = 23%

Edited to say: sorry about the figures it was a table when It was submited honest. Rolling Eyes

I am just trying to get an idea of the differences in changing the kernel.

More importantly how does 432 perform on older hardware that was happily using 431 (apart from the bugs)

Hope this helps
Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 13:45    Post subject:  

Just finished downloading and burning 4.5.2-scsi (2.6.30.5).........be doing some testing in a few.... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 14:01    Post subject:  

Stripe wrote:
Hi all

clean frugal install, no problem apart from the xvesa one that has been mentioned. I am getting top quality video and sound

Downloaded htop-0.8.1-i486-uj with ppm from the puppy 5 official list.
(did the same to 431 to make some comparisons)

432 will recognise and use a twin core chip, 431 just recognises it and uses it as a single chip.

Just got a few numbers to see how heavier 432 is on resources

using the free comand in terminal (memory used)

Action 431 432 change % rise
at rest 301168 325188 = 24020 = 7.9%
playing 8.7mb mp4 345308 379924 = 34616 = 10.0%
playing 103mb HDmp4 406172 450467 = 44295 = 10.9%

using Htop (mem)

Action 431 432 change % rise
at rest 35 44 = 9 = 25%
playing 8.7mb mp4 63 81 = 18 = 28%
playing 103mb HDmp4 76 94 = 18 = 23%

Edited to say: sorry about the figures it was a table when It was submited honest. Rolling Eyes

I am just trying to get an idea of the differences in changing the kernel.

More importantly how does 432 perform on older hardware that was happily using 431 (apart from the bugs)

Hope this helps
Stripe



I'm not sure which version of 4.31 you're using for the comparison(4.30/4.31 had 3 or 4 different kernels available) but the default 4.31 kernel 2.6.30.5 was smp enabled and recognized and uses both cores of a dual-core.At least on my equipment. Smile

Kernels available were.........pup-431-k2.6.21.7-scsi-intel_modems
pup-431-k2.6.25.16-intel_modems
pup-431-scsi-intel_modems.iso
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 14:07    Post subject:  

Ha Ha, using Seamonkey 1x again is kinda ... quaint, Gnumeric 1.8 def is not, too flawed. If I remember correctly, Gnumeric 1.10 needs something else, goffice and libgf*** I think
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 657
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 14:13    Post subject:  

Hi all

Cups 1.1 is working great, no hassle installing a printer, I love it.
Right country and keyboard

Will see if I can get xvesa working with a clean boot

Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 15:38    Post subject:  

Quick first run, live pfix=ram on the old P3 test computer.

Sound and internet connection working on initial boot.Using xvesa, instead of my usual xorg, with no apparent problems.

Does seem a bit strange using the old 1 series SeaMonkey again. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 17:06    Post subject:  

Fresh manual frugal install on the old test box.

On initial boot used xorg to set correct 1024x768x24 resolution but sound and net were not auto-configured.A quick trip through the appropriate wizards configured both correctly. Smile

More testing.................. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 17:30    Post subject:  

Youtube works pretty well......................once I remembered to install the darn flashplayer Laughing
youtube.png
 Description   
 Filesize   132.22 KB
 Viewed   1447 Time(s)

youtube.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 21:47    Post subject:  

Hi Thanks to James pointing out to run the sound card wizard I know have sound, Barry has updated woof and when you update woof basically all the startup scripts get updated, The startup scripts are the same ones used in 5.1 by reading the change list. This could be a reason for the soundcards not being automatically picked-up.
scripts like
/usr/bin/xwin
/usr/sbin/delayedrun
/usr/sbin/xorgwizard
etc, etc so its bassically a needle in a haystack. find the right script and revert it back or update it.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 657
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 21:57    Post subject:  

Hi all

Xvesa loaded when done from a clean install before the save file was created. (Thanks for sharing)
I am now using 432 to use woof no problems, I cant find anything wrong, how is everybody else doing?

Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1020
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 23:54    Post subject: scsijon box1  

Welll... what a supprise,

Box 1 (the one that gave me all the video problems with puppy4 and 5)

frugal install, sat access via ethernet,

no problems found so far. Confused

The video works perfectly with xorg from the start, even runs 1024x768@85hz with only a little narrowing of the screen width as it's actually running 1024x768/68.68Khz/84.89Hz.

installed without problems
packages installed no problems
sat working (and seems to be with a faster response than 5.1)

just had to put the results up Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

on to box 3 next (office users box)

regards
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 00:04    Post subject:  

/dev/mixer is missing, When I tried to compile a volume/mixer app I was getting gtk2 gseal errors, So I downgraded gtk2 and the gseal went away, not good. anyways If someone could focus on getting the volume to autostart/detect I could focus on building a new backend, I only have really the weekends to get this in depth and well its Sunday today.
Hmmm maybe gtk3? I haven't tried it but wouldn't mind giving it a shot.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1020
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 07:21    Post subject: scsijon's Boxes 3 & 4  

Box 3

an older ati system, no web access.

no problems found with both vesa and x-org

installs ok, prints ok


Box 4

a dell optiplex gx280, never had linux only a win parn as it does my leadlighting cad. Want to put 432 and add wine131 as the package works under 131 (still have to check the drum printer will).

Sad Shocked yuck, will have to rework this one and try to work out what's going wrong, no video would work to start with, eventually got vesa to work but only at 800x600@60hz

however found a package missing:

Grub, only get error messages saying it's missing or can't be found. even when no-x and grubconfig is called. One for you I fear ttuuxxx!

Dialup (box 2) will have to be tomorrow afternoon, but not expecting too many problems as 431 works brilliantly out off-the-cd on it as did 214ce and 214x.

regards
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 11 [156 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0880s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]