Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 14:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Legacy OS (TEENpup) Feedback is it booting?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 7 [99 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 508
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 17:55    Post subject: Frugal Booting  

I tried to make a frugal install right from the iso, as I always do with new versions of Puppy. At first I couldn't boot because I had "root=/dev/sda1" instead of " . ./hda1." Then the boot went further. I put the main Puppy file directly in the root of the partition instead of in my "legacyos" folder, and it went a bit further. But I still can't get all the way to the desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
svgt

Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 18:18    Post subject: Can't boot from hda1 with full install  

Hi,

I am twiddling half an hour with boot trials. The live cd is booting without problems.I did the full install, called here coexist.

I limited the installation to exactly one ext2 partition and a swap file. nothing else,

First I got from grub (in mbr) -file not found - because vmlinuz was not in /boot/vmlinuz. I changed it to /vmlinuz. The next message was a problem with initrd.

Kernel panic - no init found - proposal to hand over init= parameter

My grub parameters in menu.lst are:

root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 ro vga=normal

Regards
Svgt

DFI AZ30-TL - 1.7GHz single core Athlon - 768 MB RAM - 7 years old
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1409
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 18:32    Post subject:  

Hello Everyone,

Legacy OS is built on Puppy 2.14 and the only major change is the updating of glibc 2.3.5 to Puppy series 3's glibc 2.5 like ttuuxxx did with 2.14x

Nothing else system wise had been changed. So anything ttuuxxx incorporated in to 2.14x from later puppy series isn't included in Legacy OS sorry!

Quote:
Am I right in assuming that using a subdirectory might cause the problem? Puppies of series 2 didn't have that option, yet, if I recall correctly.
Does Legacy? Ttuuxxx's 214X does have the subdirectory option, though.

Oh, and PMEDIA=idehd makes no difference at all.


Hello wuwei, Legacy OS doesn't have the subdirectory option like ttuuxxx's 2.14x sorry!

Quote:
At first I couldn't boot because I had "root=/dev/sda1" instead of " . ./hda1." Then the boot went further.


Hello davec51, Legacy OS still uses kernel 2.6.18.1 and internal Hard Drives are still seen as "hda" not "sda" like later kernels use.

In testing I use 4 PC's ranging from a 500mhz celeron to a 3ghz Pentium 4, 2 Laptops / 1 800mhz Pentium 3 and 1 duo core 1.8ghz 3 year old Laptop and all boot straight from the CD drive? I see some users are passing on commands etc when booting up from the CD. what happens if you just let the CD boot normally without doing anything?

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 19:09    Post subject:  

I've booted Legacy OS on 3 different machines, the two lower spec boxes I let boot normally.....no boot parameters added. The other box (2.6 dual-core w/2.5 gb ram booted pfix=ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 19:48    Post subject:  

For what its worth, Legacy OS has booted on 4 of 4 computers here.I grabbed another box off the shelf, booted pfix=ram and posting with it now.
AMD Duron 1.4 ghz w/384 mb ram and 1gb swap.

Using a lot of ram and swap but it's running pretty quick. Smile
legacy os.png
 Description   
 Filesize   330.94 KB
 Viewed   5274 Time(s)

legacy os.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sinc


Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 523
Location: Tampa, FL USA

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 19:55    Post subject:  

only tried a manual frugal install but was not able to boot. i tried in a subdirectory and at / and was unsuccessful ion both situations. same as 8 bit described for the frugal install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 03 Sep 2010, 20:55    Post subject:  

Me again................... Laughing

Went ahead and did a full install on the Duron box from the last post.Because I edit menu.lst instead of reinstalling grub I moved vmlinux into a new "boot" directory and messed with the syntax of menu.lst and it's booting and running fine. Smile

Resource usage dropped dramatically after Legacy OS was actually installed too.
full install.png
 Description   
 Filesize   140.02 KB
 Viewed   1521 Time(s)

full install.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
svgt

Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 04:50    Post subject:  

Me again ....

James C: Please write your menu.lst

I moved vmlinuz to the /boot folder. Then I added to my menu.lst

initrd /initrd.gz

With or without this statement I got kernel panic. There is this screenshot with initrd:
PICT6832.JPG
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  PICT6832.JPG 
Filesize  1.29 MB 
Downloaded  343 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 856
Location: SE

PostPosted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 07:03    Post subject:  

Hello Smile!

Booting from CD: OK Smile
Booting from manual frugal inst. on hdc13: not OK Sad
Created device nodes hdc9 - hdc15 in initrd.gz_/dev - now boots from frugal inst. on hdc13 Smile.

Yes, I know, I have quite a few partitions Smile.

Just in case someone else tried a manual frugal inst. on an "unsupported" partition:
Available device nodes in initrd suggest that frugal installations should be limited to hda1-15, hdb1-8, hdc1-8.

fwiw and hth Smile/
MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roger Hunter

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 11:05    Post subject:  

Still no joy.

This thing just refuses to boot.

I got past the first failure and ended up on another one but no keyboard response there either.

Then I downloaded the iso again and burned it to a DVD thinking it was a bit too large.

Same result.

Very strange, especially since 2.14 is my old standby and has never failed to load on any of my systems.

Roger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roger Hunter

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 12:33    Post subject:  

Tried again, same result.

Tried booting on a Dell D600 laptop. Same result.

The error message now is "access beyond end of device"

then

"squashfs error sb_bread failed 0xa9080"
"unable to read uid/gid table"

and eventually kernel panic.

Roger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technowomble


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Location: West Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 12:37    Post subject:  

DL'd and burned Legacy OS on my main Linux box, tried to test it but got the ' cannot find Puppy... ' message. Tried the same CD in my ca. 2000 laptop ( for which it was intended ) running as live CD ( Puppy pfix=ram ) and it booted OK. I've had problems testing Puppy on the ' big box ' before, Quirky NOP booted, but video set up gave ' out of range ', while it worked - at the second attempt - on the laptop. Yet it seems quite happy with 5 series puppies Go figure!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 12:40    Post subject:  

svgt wrote:
Me again ....

James C: Please write your menu.lst

I moved vmlinuz to the /boot folder. Then I added to my menu.lst

initrd /initrd.gz

With or without this statement I got kernel panic. There is this screenshot with initrd:




Here is what I'm using......

title Ubuntu 10.04 LTS
root (hd0,0)
configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst

title Puppy Linux 430 Foxy 3 full install in sda7
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda7 pmedia=atahd nosmp

title Puppy Linux 431 NOP full install in sda8
root (hd0,7)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda8 pmedia=atahd nosmp

title Lucid Puppy 501 frugal in sda7
rootnoverify (hd0,6)
kernel /puppy501/vmlinuz pfix=fsck pdev=sda7 pmedia=atahd psubdir=puppy501 nosmp
initrd /puppy501/initrd.gz

title Puppy Linux 432 frugal in sda8
rootnoverify (hd0,7)
kernel /puppy432/vmlinuz pfix=fsck pdev=sda8 pmedia=atahd psubdir=puppy432 nosmp
initrd /puppy432/initrd.gz

title Legacy OS 2010 full install in hda12
root (hd0,11)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda12 pmedia=atahd


I made a "boot" directory, and put vmlinuz there like the newer Puppies.Posting from it now.
filesystem.png
 Description   
 Filesize   98.11 KB
 Viewed   1390 Time(s)

filesystem.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 12:51    Post subject:  

I got this advice from MinHund...

Quote:
if you put vmlinuz and initrd.gz in /boot and pup_214.sfs and zdrv_214.sfs in /, then this menu.lst entry

title Legacy OS
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PKEYS=se
initrd /boot/initrd.gz

should boot a frugal inst. on hda2 (GRUB (hd0,1)) (with swedish keyboard layout).


So if you need to do frugal install try that one. I worked for me on a HP Desktop

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
svgt

Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 04 Sep 2010, 13:30    Post subject:  

Hello James,

In your root directory I count 17 files and folders. But I have got only six things:

boot lost&found idehd initrd.gz pup_214.sfs zdrv_214.sfs. Why is there this difference?

Why did you make a /boot directory? In my full installation /boot was there from the beginning, with /grub folder inside. My menu.lst is for Legacy the same, except this atahd parameter.

Regards
Svgt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 [99 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0895s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]