Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 09 Dec 2016, 21:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
HowTo - Turn Puppy into a Home Media Center with Boxee
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 13:22    Post subject:  HowTo - Turn Puppy into a Home Media Center with Boxee
Subject description: In a couple of easy steps.
 

Boxee is a Media Center and extender (that can be hooked up to your TV) which allows you to organize and watch local, networked and streaming media.

Step 1.
Head over to Portable Linux Apps and download Boxee
http://portablelinuxapps.org/

Step 2.
Right click on the downloaded Boxee file go to File>Properties and tick the 3 boxes under Exce.

Step 3. Register an account on Boxee
http://www.boxee.tv/

Step 4. Thats it click on the Boxee file and enjoy your media.

A picture paints a thousand words so here is a video of Boxee running on my Lucid 5.1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqDgnxuNmQs


Running Lucid 5.1 with Xorg-High driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4705
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 13:46    Post subject:  

I don't have a lot of time for, or interest in, most commonly-popular media so I may be missing some of the value-added of Boxee vs some alternative interfaces.

Can you describe what Boxee does that http://yippy.com or http://hulu.com or http://crackle.com do not, please?

I am guessing, other than running the app on the local PC, rather than a crackle/hulu/yippy "cloud" of sorts Boxee may have more options than the others?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 14:01    Post subject:  

I have not used those other sites - Boxee is a media center you run on your computer not a website.
It allows you to organize and play media that you have on your computer as well as media on the Internet in one environment.

For instance on the video i posted - in the Movie and TV sections those files are on my hard drive, Boxee connected to the net and downloaded all the film and TV shows information, show descriptions and covers.

Boxee's interface is all so set up for easy navigation when connected to a TV , so instead of seeing a PC interface or website you see a nice media center with all the relevant information about your media in a nice clean layout plus the option to watch online media as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4705
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 14:06    Post subject:  

Ah, OK, then it is more robust!

It looked real good on your Youtube demo.

BTW: What did you use to create that?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 14:55    Post subject:  

For the screen recording i used Xvidcap-1.1.7 .pet

The scrolling text at the start is with ROXTerm terminal and Lobsters Autocue script.

For editing the video and music i used the portable versions of Avidemux and Audacity from portable linux apps - i have openshot video editor installed but as my laptop is not the best spec it takes an age to transcode a HD file - Avidemux allows you to edit / cut /join and add music etc with out transcoding.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper

Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1350
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 16:29    Post subject:  

Hi,

stu90, thanks to your most helpful instructions I was able to register and try boxee, but I shall be pleased if you, or someone, could help me with two queries:

Everything was really slow, cursor movements and typing my chosen name and password, however my question is - how does one get to log out?

and

I had to install Xorg High before clicking on the icon worked, but my question is Quickpet says Xorg High is 14 MB though my save space reduced by 46 MB - was that expected?

My regards

Added:
I should have explained that boxee itself was not in my save space.

Last edited by Jasper on Tue 24 Aug 2010, 16:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4214
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 16:34    Post subject:  

I have:
1. [Within Lupu-510 loaded from "live" CD-RW, with 1GB pupsave on its own 1.3GB partition on a Flash Drive]...
Downloaded the Boxee executable file [to /00].

2. [In Xfe] Right-clicked on it and chose "Properties", clicked the "Permissions" tab, and ticked the "Execute" boxes for "User", "Group", and "Others".

3. Registered at the Boxee website.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PROBLEM
1. Unable to run the Boxee executable file. Sad
How would I do that? In Xfe?
I can open a terminal in the folder, but it doesn't see the file [command not found].

2. My TV is a new Sony...
Includes a USB wireless dongle [Network Interface] already set up to [successfully] connect to the web direct [not yet networked to the PC] via a D-Link wireless router connected to a Webstar cable modem, and via the co-axial cable to the ISP and the web.
The PC is successfully connected to the router by wire.
Here's the history:
LCD TV Sony Bravia KDL-32EX503: wireless connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 20:22    Post subject:  

Sir Jasper wrote:
Hi,

stu90, thanks to your most helpful instructions I was able to register and try boxee, but I shall be pleased if you, or someone, could help me with two queries:

Everything was really slow, cursor movements and typing my chosen name and password, however my question is - how does one get to log out?

and

I had to install Xorg High before clicking on the icon worked, but my question is Quickpet says Xorg High is 14 MB though my save space reduced by 46 MB - was that expected?

My regards

Added:
I should have explained that boxee itself was not in my save space.


To log out use back space or Esc and go to the top left item in the menu - or from the home screen to little circle icon in the top left of the screen next you your log in name and Boxee logo.

As for slow speed i'm not sure maybe a graphics issue or lack of ram? I have a radeon xpress 200m shared graphics and 850mb ram works ok here.

Can't recall how much space the Xorg High driver takes up but Boxee puts a directory in /root containing user setting, apps, cache, temp files etc so that probably accounts for some of the space used , just looked at mine and it is 20mb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper

Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1350
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 20:43    Post subject:  

Hi stu90,

Thank you for your comprehensive responses to my questions and comments.

Cheers

Added:
Subsequently, it worked quite well using the arrow keys (rather than the mouse). Thanks again - there is almost no chance I would have tried it except for this thread (and even less chance I would have had it working).

Last edited by Jasper on Wed 25 Aug 2010, 06:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 24 Aug 2010, 20:56    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
I have:
1. [Within Lupu-510 loaded from "live" CD-RW, with 1GB pupsave on its own 1.3GB partition on a Flash Drive]...
Downloaded the Boxee executable file [to /00].

2. [In Xfe] Right-clicked on it and chose "Properties", clicked the "Permissions" tab, and ticked the "Execute" boxes for "User", "Group", and "Others".

3. Registered at the Boxee website.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PROBLEM
1. Unable to run the Boxee executable file. Sad
How would I do that? In Xfe?
I can open a terminal in the folder, but it doesn't see the file [command not found].

2. My TV is a new Sony...
Includes a USB wireless dongle [Network Interface] already set up to [successfully] connect to the web direct [not yet networked to the PC] via a D-Link wireless router connected to a Webstar cable modem, and via the co-axial cable to the ISP and the web.
The PC is successfully connected to the router by wire.
Here's the history:
LCD TV Sony Bravia KDL-32EX503: wireless connection.


I never used Xfe i use pekwm right now and it works ok, maybe try switching back to to default icewm or jwm to test.

Sounds like you made the file executable all you need to do for it to run is click on it, no terminal.

I just uninstantiated the Xorg - high driver and Boxee wouldn't run so it needs extra driver.

There is a graphics card test in the driver tab of Quickpet, try installing what that recommends and see if Boxee will run.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pistoi0

Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Hartford, CT

PostPosted: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 00:27    Post subject:  

I am getting an error message to the effect that Boxee is missing libmms.so.0, and thus cannot open shared library files: No such file or directory.

Where to get this lib and where to install it ?

Thanks.[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4214
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 04:29    Post subject:  

1. My video card:
nVidia NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 model 64/model 64 pro] (rev 15)

2. Tried "Quickpet->Drivers->Click here to test...", and all 3 nVidia drivers one after the other.
They resulted in all [icons, menus, windows] but the screen wallpaper becoming very tiny.
Boxee file wouldn't run whilst any of these drivers were installed.
Rebooted, and chose to "not save the session", and each was gone in turn.
Now back as things began.

3.
(a) Tried using Rox-filer to run the file, but that failed [nothing happens][just like with Xfe].

(b) Then used Rox-filer to display "Properties" for the file.
It shows:
Contents indicate...
ISO 9660 CD-ROM filesystem data
UDF filesystem data
(unknown version, id "NSRO....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 08:18    Post subject:  

pistoi0 wrote:
I am getting an error message to the effect that Boxee is missing libmms.so.0, and thus cannot open shared library files: No such file or directory.

Where to get this lib and where to install it ?

Thanks.[/code]


This is a portable application it shouldn't need any extra dependencies. What puppy are you using is it Lucid 5.1, i have only tested on Lucid 5.1.

There is a libmms in the ubuntu repository in puppy package manager, maybe try that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1399
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 08:36    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
1. My video card:
nVidia NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 model 64/model 64 pro] (rev 15)

2. Tried "Quickpet->Drivers->Click here to test...", and all 3 nVidia drivers one after the other.
They resulted in all [icons, menus, windows] but the screen wallpaper becoming very tiny.
Boxee file wouldn't run whilst any of these drivers were installed.
Rebooted, and chose to "not save the session", and each was gone in turn.
Now back as things began.

3.
(a) Tried using Rox-filer to run the file, but that failed [nothing happens][just like with Xfe].

(b) Then used Rox-filer to display "Properties" for the file.
It shows:
Contents indicate...
ISO 9660 CD-ROM filesystem data
UDF filesystem data
(unknown version, id "NSRO....


To be honest i have no idea why it is not working for you - i can only guess it is something graphics driver related.
Did you try all your tests in the default IceWM and JWM windows managers?

With the extra drivers installed -
Do you have high performance DRI show in HardInfo>Display:


Does GLXgears run in terminal .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pistoi0

Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Hartford, CT

PostPosted: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 10:53    Post subject:  

Thank you, Stu. Now all is well. I had mistakenly download the Debian version and unpacked that. I have since gone back and followed instructions more closely ('Embarassed')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0637s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]