Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Oct 2019, 16:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
How to Install Your Printer/Scanner in Puppy
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 25 of 28 [419 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12748
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jun 2016, 08:50    Post subject: Re: Scan Plugin  

MagicZaurus wrote:
I have the plugin pet installed. I didn't try without it. But if it is useful for you, I can uninstall the pet tomorrow and try again.


Don't do that. The plugin PET contains some files that are also in the hplip_scan PET. So deleting the former may break the latter.

I built it that way to support a group of HP printer-only units that need those files but don't need hplip_scan.

I need to re-think this situation. In a mainstream Linux like Ubuntu, this is academic because you would automatically install 100% of HPLIP and all its dependencies whether you need them or not.

But you can try this:

Go into the folder /usr/share/hplip and temporarily rename the folders "prnt" and "scan". See what still works.

Thanks for your help with this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun 2016, 03:27    Post subject: Test Result  

Here the result of my test. It seems both the prnt & scan folders are required.

1) Rename prnt folder to no_prnt & scan to no_scan. Printing and scanning doesn't work anymore. Peasyscan reports "Failed to open device. ... Failure during Device I/O". For printing the job gets stuck and can be seen in the CUPS web interface. I canceled the print job there.

2) Rename no_prnt to prnt. Printing works now, but scanning doesn't work with the same error message.

3) Rename no_scan to scan. Printing and scanning works normal.

In case you want to test anything else, then just let me know.

Your hplip pets are really nice and small. Thanks a lot for the time you spent to create them. Getting this printer working was much easier than I expected and I never expected that scanning will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12748
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun 2016, 07:38    Post subject:  

Excellent. I don't understand why Starhawk's colour Postscript Laserjet above does NOT need the plugin while yours does. Maybe because yours is an enterprise model with more features.

BTW, I just discovered that the new hpaio scanner backend can now auto-detect networked scanners! This means that you should not need a PeasyScan config file to find it, and that Xsane should work.

Run: scanimage -L

Is your model detected? Then run PeasyScan, but click Cancel on the initial config file window. This will make PeasyScan search for printers instead of using a config file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jun 2016, 11:32    Post subject:  

It's actually starhawk's father's printer Wink I was just asked to test it.

As for why one needs a plugin and one does not... HP is a bunch of bastards, you know Razz especially when they go to price ink.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 1935
Location: Wisconsin USA

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2016, 08:19    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
It's actually starhawk's father's printer Wink I was just asked to test it.

As for why one needs a plugin and one does not... HP is a bunch of bastards, you know Razz especially when they go to price ink.


For the price of ink, you could get a new printer that has ink in it.

_________________
....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12748
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2016, 09:09    Post subject:  

@starhawk and bark_bark_bark:

I was in the middle of a technical discussion with MagicZaurus. If you want to take cheap shots at HP, please start your own thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2016, 20:56    Post subject: Autodetect HP Network Scanners  

Hi rcrsn51,

here the result.

Quote:
root# scanimage -L
device `hpaio:/net/officejet_6500_e710n-z?ip=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx&queue=false' is a Hewlett-Packard officejet_6500_e710n-z all-in-one


That OfficeJet is another AOI device in my boss office. The LaserJet seems to not respond. I don't know if that is due to some setting on the printer. The admin interface on the printer has been locked with a password by our IT. But I just printed a document and that is fine, so the connection to the printer is ok.

Peasyscan also only detects the OfficeJet and not the LaserJet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12748
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2016, 21:09    Post subject:  

Interesting.

When you set up the printer, was it auto-detected by CUPS or did you have to manually select the socket protocol?

With my Laserjet Pro MFP m127fn, CUPS does NOT auto-detect, but scanimage -L DOES.

In any case, it's good to know that you can access the scanner through a config file.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2016, 22:36    Post subject: CUPS vs Scanimage  

Here it is the other way around.

CUPS did automatically discover the LaserJet, but scanimage -L doesn't.

Just had the idea to do a port scan on the LaserJet
Quote:
xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx : 80
xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx : 81
xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx : 82
xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx : 83
xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx : 443
xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx : 515
xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx : 631

Port 631 is CUPS. So maybe that is the reason why CUPS can autodetect the printer over the network. Now would be the question which port scanimage -L is using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12748
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 07:27    Post subject:  

Scanimage -L works by polling all the backends in /etc/sane.d/dll.conf and identifying which ones give a response. The method varies with each backend.

Some backends that are network-enabled (like Epson epkowa) work correctly this way.

Old versions of the hpaio backend did NOT detect networked units. It now has a discovery feature, but it apparently can be blocked by something in the scanner. So your boss's unit is detected but the main unit is not.

I am surprised that this block can be bypassed by supplying the URI via the PeasyScan config file.

I don't know how hpaio searches for remote scanners - possibly through some high-numbered port.

[Edit] I own an HP Envy inkjet with WiFi Direct. It can network scan via a config file, but scanimage -L does NOT detect it. Maybe hpaio discovery only works with certain models.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 10:27    Post subject: Printer Discovery  

I have downloaded the HPLIP source. It seems the code for device discovery is in /scan/sane/hpaio.c. There is a function
Code:
static int DevDiscovery(int localOnly)


My knowledge of C programming is not so good that I really understand what the code does, so I can only read the comments in the code. It seems there are 2 ways of network discovery implemented. First looking if CUPS has a print queue for a HP network printer and second using discovery of a "Bonjour" service. That "Bonjour" seems to be some Apple thing. Maybe not all printers support this Apple protocol.

At the same time it seems that for my CUPS the hpaio backend is not able to detect that I already have the printer installed.

Another possibility is that a firewall in our network router or switch blocks this "Bonjour" port, but actual scanning uses some other port which is open.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12748
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 10:50    Post subject: Re: Printer Discovery  

MagicZaurus wrote:
It seems there are 2 ways of network discovery implemented. First looking if CUPS has a print queue for a HP network printer

And yet scanimage -L could detect your boss's printer for which you do NOT have a CUPS print queue.

Who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MagicZaurus

Joined: 05 Jan 2009
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 11:07    Post subject:  

The discovery has this sequence.
Code:
/* Look for local all-in-one scan devices (defined by hpmud). */
/* Look for Network Scan devices if localonly flag if FALSE. */
/* Look for all-in-one scan devices for which print queue created */
        cnt = GetCupsPrinters(&cups_printer);
/* Discover NW scanners using Bonjour*/
        bytes_read = mdns_probe_nw_scanners(message, sizeof(message), &cnt);

In my CUPS log file I can see that somebody (scanimage -L) wants to get the installed printers, but it seems CUPS returns an empty list as response, even I have the 475dn installed. (Need to switch on Debug Mode in CUPS web interface.)

If the device can be discovered via the Bonjour service depends on the printer. The 475dn has Bonjour support, but it can be deactivated or password protected in the printer settings.

At least I would conclude that discovery happens on a different port than scanning later on and this is why even the device cannot be discovered it still works to scan from the device by providing the uri.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12748
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 11:58    Post subject:  

I would assume that HPLIP is built against the latest mainstream Linux, like Ubuntu, and the latest CUPS. So it shouldn't be a surprise if it doesn't work exactly right in Puppy.

It would be interesting to run an Ubuntu client and see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bh56

Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2016, 20:14    Post subject: Installing a Canon Lide 120  

Hope this is the right thread.
The Lide 120 is detected using lsusb but scanimage -l reports no connected scanners.
The sane webpage (http://www.sane-project.org/) lists the lide 120 as unsupported using the genesys 1.0.63 backend.
However, the same scanner is listed as having complete support using the same backend in the git or development branch.
I've tried adding:
# Canon LiDE 120
usb 0x04a9 0x190e
to /etc/sane.d/genesys.conf but still no go.
Any idea on how to get the scanner going?
Thanks
Brendan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 25 of 28 [419 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1676s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0842s) ][ GZIP on ]