Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.1.1 Release - This is the official release
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 40 of 51 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, ..., 49, 50, 51 Next
Author Message
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 14:36    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I suspect that the gtk-dev package plus its dependencies are missing in Lucid.

tronkel, Forgive my ignorance please. I have searched packages.ubuntu.com and the PPM with the Ubuntu repositories enabled for variations of 'gtk-dev' but can't find anything that appears to be the package you mentioned. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 14:51    Post_subject:  

Sorry playdayz,

Got that info wrong. It looks as if the library you need is called libgtk2.0-dev and not gtk-dev as I mentioned before.

This info came from here originally and solved the Ubuntu problem.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Vala

All I did in Ubuntu was to select libgtk-2.0-dev for install and let Synaptic take care of the dependencies for that. It may well be though that you actually only need libgtk-2.0-dev.
Worth a try for starters.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 15:12    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Since I cannot connect with a pfix=ram installx of 511, am I out of luck? With the working wdialconfig from 510 copied to 511, clicking connect gives no such device ttyUSB0 error get the same for USB1 when I specify it Crying or Very sad

Gortonc, dejan555, and pemasu. There is now an Instant Update 001 for Lucid Puppy 5.1.1. There was a problem with some modem scripts in Woof and this update rolls them back--I think they might have applied to Lucid Puppy 5.1.1 (as pemasu suggested). The update also includes some fixes for very new wifi chipsets. Thanks.
http://diddywahdiddy.net/LupuNews/

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 15:27    Post_subject:  

Hi everybody!
I have just a little answer, hoping it isn't a low newbie problem!

I installed Lupu 5.1 - frugal mode - few days ago, appying all the necessary settings.
All runs fine, but now I see there is a new version , 5.1.1 . Smile

I'm happy for this, because it means it's plenty of life...

But, does anyone has suggestion for the best way to upgrade?
Should I re-install it again or maybe there is a less dramatic and simpler procedure?

Thanks a lot for any info about!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 15:44    Post_subject:  

Quote:
does anyone has suggestion for the best way to upgrade?

The upgrade will be automatic if you burn and boot the newest version, usually. I am very careful myself and I usually boot the new version with the parameter 'puppy pfix=ram' until I make sure that it has no problems. You can also make a new install of the later version and begin with it from scratch. To be most careful you can make a copy of the lupusave file before you upgrade--just in case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
svgt

Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 15:54    Post_subject: System requirement for 5.1.1  

I am looking for system requirements for this Lucid Puppy. I just tried to start the live-cd and looked at kernel panic.

My very old hardware is 500MHz 256MB
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 15:54    Post_subject:  

Yes !!! Acer announced new BIOS version for my acer 5820TG laptop and now ACPI works straight. Battery status works and also other ACPI info. No need to compile kernel with patched acpi.ec module.

Well... hibernation is still something which needs added to kernel with Lupu. At least suspend works straight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 17:29    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I am looking for system requirements for this Lucid Puppy. I just tried to start the live-cd and looked at kernel panic.

My very old hardware is 500MHz 256MB

That is right on the edge. I run Lucid Puppy on my Pentium 3 800MHz Thinkpad with 256MB ram however. Kernel panic sometimes comes because of a bad copy on the CDrom. One of the Puppies that targets older hardware might be more conducive--say Wary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 17:46    Post_subject:  

Quote:
All I did in Ubuntu was to select libgtk-2.0-dev for install and let Synaptic take care of the dependencies for that. It may well be though that you actually only need libgtk-2.0-dev.
Worth a try for starters.

tronkel, ValaIDE opened and ran for a bit with this pet (the same as the libgtk2.0-dev-2.20.0 deb file). Would you be able to test it with compiling? Thanks either way.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/libgtk_DEV-2.20-lucid.pet

BTW, PPM thought that I would need 50MB of dependencies to install libgtk2.0-dev.... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 18:31    Post_subject:  

Firefox 4.0 b5 is now linked in Lupu news. It also updates through earlier versions that are installed. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 19:16    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
One of the Puppies that targets older hardware might be more conducive--say Wary.

Sigh. Now that Wary is being distributed as a mix-and-match setup, it's not much use to someone who doesn't already have a working Puppy.

Better to recommend something from the 4 series.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 20:48    Post_subject:  

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Seamonkey-2.0.7-Lucid.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 20:49    Post_subject:  

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Seamonkey-2.0.7-Lucid.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3437
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 22:22    Post_subject:  

Again I ask >> Tronkels >> Teamviewer pet

Can it be included in quickpets?

File: teamviewer_wine.pet Size: 17.75 MB

http://www.datafilehost.com/download-e3aa28b8.html

I cannot understand why it is not there.
A killer app to help people out.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/

Textmaker-2002-Lucid.pet 01-Aug-2010 02:28 3.6M
[ ] Thunar-1.0.2-Lucid.pet 29-Jul-2010 22:30 4.3M

TEAMVIEWER.........missing in action.

[ ] Thunderbird-3.1-Lucid.pet 28-Jun-2010 06:33 12M
[ ] VLC-1.0.6-Lucid.pet 29-Jun-2010 04:21 28M

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gortonc

Joined: 12 Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Location: Costa Rica

PostPosted: Wed 08 Sep 2010, 22:30    Post_subject: 5.1.1 breaks modem  

Playdayz,

Thank you for the tip, but unfortunately nothing has changed. Reinstalled 5.1.1 pfix=ram, installed upgrade, reboot to create save file open pdial no modem found. Copy working wvdial.conf to /ect/ restart pdial and it correctly shows modem; click on it to confirm existence and am told no modem found. Oh well . . . Confused

Grace & peace

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 40 of 51 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, ..., 49, 50, 51 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0856s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]