Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 14:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
KDE 3 (Trinity) For Puppy Beta
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 12 Nov 2010, 20:22    Post_subject:  

It doesn't work isn't very helpful.
You have to give details about what you see.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 12 Nov 2010, 20:26    Post_subject: Re: Bluetooth in Trinity  

Béèm wrote:
I saw a Gnome bluetooth Wizard in Trinity.
Did anyone succeed in using it?
dbus is already in Trinity.
But I suppose Bluez and other apps might be necessary to install.
Anybody an idea?
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 00:58    Post_subject:
Sub_title: kmail
 

will you be including kmail soon?
how do you set konqueror as default browser? i had opera set as default before installing kde.

edit- i changed the file found here /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser to konqueror.

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
darkduck

Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 06:54    Post_subject:  

Béèm wrote:
It doesn't work isn't very helpful.
You have to give details about what you see.

When I type xwin startkde, screen flickers, then returns to the same prompt where it recommends launch xorgconf. But that does not help, still same black screen with few lines of text after re-configuring.
And JWM starts without any problem.

_________________
My blog: http://linuxblog.darkduck.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1365
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 07:20    Post_subject:  

Hi darkduck

Did you keep the same pupsave after removing the earlier sfs's and starting with the latest?

I think you will need to start again with a clean pupsave......there is some residue in your old pupsave that is stopping the new kde starting.

From bitter experience I always try 1st a new pupsave, then a COPY of my old pupsave so I can always go back if there are problems. Takes a bit longer but is better for peace of mind.

Cheers
Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 12:39    Post_subject:  

I agree with peebee.
Always start with a fresh save file. (so pfix=ram on first boot)

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1868
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 15:10    Post_subject:  

Tomorrow I think I'm going to start the trinitypup experiment, but I'm still not sure about the package sources - Debian Squeeze or Ubuntu Maverick. I want to try Ubuntu first (for its later X), I want to take a break from Debian Smile

The SFS approach doesn't seem to work well, for many reasons:
1) KDE, in contrast with GNOME, is known for the superb integration between its applications and components, this means it's hard to package it in a modular way, since many parts of it are shared; different KDE packages share many dependencies, that's why KDE packages in package managers like APT are small. Most of the dependencies of KDE applications are either dependencies of the KDE core (things like the base KDE libraries, aRts/Phonon, Qt) or shared between many packages. Distros like Arch achieve modularity by using meta-packages. However, Puppy doesn't have this in its SFS extensions and packaging Trinity in PET packages is not a practical solution to this problem, since PPM is a weak package manager without meta-package functionality and because save files don't like the huge size of Trinity.
2) We're in the Woof age of Puppy, it's hard to make one set of packages for all 5th generation puppies.
3) SFSs are not user friendly.
4) SFSs are a very primitive way for package management. Since KDE has many dependencies, it causes problems. For example, if the KDE SFS has libroflzomg and the use wishes to compile the third-party KDE application Kroflzomg, he has no idea that this package is present on the system. That's confusing, install the package "libroflzomg" or "libroflzomg_DEV"?
5) It's hard to trim KDE; it uses exotic file types (for instance, .la files) for some things that normally go to the "exe" package. In other words, when you attempt to create a "DEV" package for KDE, you must keep those .la files in the main package, while with all other packages you do the opposite. This makes it a big effort to package KDE.

If you consider this, the modularity challenge and the compatibility issue, it becomes very clear why I'm so frustrated by this. I guess a Puppy that comes with Trinity built-in is the way to go.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 16:18    Post_subject:  

Iguleder, don't be frustrated.
We take Trinity as it comes.
I had instability also with a gnome version, a year of two ago.
Therefor I now install my programs outside the save file and being up and running again is a matter of minutes.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 17:18    Post_subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
I want to try Ubuntu first (for its later X)

+1

I guess a Puppy that comes with Trinity built-in is the way to go.

+1


I can't wait Very Happy

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1365
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 16:08    Post_subject: Trinity time problem solved  

I have solved the time problem when using Trinity on luci23x - there was a missing #!/bin/sh line in the settime file in /root/Startup.

If edited to:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

#added by playdayz to make timezone persistent
hwclock --hctosys --localtime


then the time is displayed correctly and both hwclock and date show the same correct time.

Cheers
Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkduck

Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 19:32    Post_subject:  

peebee wrote:
Hi darkduck

Did you keep the same pupsave after removing the earlier sfs's and starting with the latest?

I think you will need to start again with a clean pupsave......there is some residue in your old pupsave that is stopping the new kde starting.

From bitter experience I always try 1st a new pupsave, then a COPY of my old pupsave so I can always go back if there are problems. Takes a bit longer but is better for peace of mind.

Cheers
Peter

Hi,
I removed my save file, renamed it into .bak from another OS.
After Puppy restart, I had to make all the initial configuration again, and then create new save file at exit.
Nevertheless, after activation of Trininity SFSs and another restart, I have the same picture - KDE is not starting, giving me the same screen flicker and few lines on the black screen after xwin startkde command.
Now need to return back to my initial save file.

_________________
My blog: http://linuxblog.darkduck.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1365
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 19:38    Post_subject:  

hi Darkduck

I don' know if this will make a difference but you should use the WM Switcher to activate Trinity......not the xwin command

Cheers
Peter

p.s. you can rename the pupsave files using puppy itself....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkduck

Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 19:57    Post_subject:  

peebee wrote:
hi Darkduck

I don' know if this will make a difference but you should use the WM Switcher to activate Trinity......not the xwin command

Cheers
Peter

p.s. you can rename the pupsave files using puppy itself....

Hi Peebee,
I only have JWM and IceWM options in WM switcher...

_________________
My blog: http://linuxblog.darkduck.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1365
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 20:05    Post_subject:  

If you have loaded the trinity-core sfs through the boot manager you should also have trinity in the list.

Sounds like you have something wrong.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkduck

Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 20:12    Post_subject:  

peebee wrote:
Sounds like you have something wrong.....

Probably... But who knows what?

_________________
My blog: http://linuxblog.darkduck.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0855s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]