Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 20:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Lucid Puppy 5.1 Bug Reports and Fixes
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 25 [364 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 17:11    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
is remove-builtins just one step to alter the distro and then one has to remaster *before* one is able to resume using Lucid 5.1 (or Quirky)?


No. Remastering is just a way of removing the 'white space' left by removing original built in programs, plus combing the changes you have made. The advantage of remastering is that once done, you can start with a fresh 'save' file (compulsory), and then if you bork it, just delete your save file and you are back to your clean re-master again. Its a great way to perform radical changes, because you can always go back.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 18:02    Post subject:  

Builtin remover in Quirky: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=422950#422950
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4367
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Aug 2010, 18:06    Post subject:  

Thanks!

I had printed the instructions the other day and forgot to print the link to the PET or to download the PET.

Sigh ... need more sleep ... or more coffee! Smile

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 05:06    Post subject:  

Wireless printing using Apple Airport Express works with Hp1020.

I used rcrsn51 great advice. Still valid Smile http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=263662#263662

Minolta magicolor 2200/2300/2430 DL,HP LaserJet 1018/1020/1022/P35,
HP LaserJet Pro P1102/P1102w/P1566/P1606dn > all these printers needs foo2xxx printer driver package because of firmware hotplugin.

foo2xxx_r220909-0.0 (zjs/xqx/slx/oak/hp/xxx) package (11MB): http://www.datafilehost.com/download-bf13c069.html

I havent tested latest hpijs package if it handles hotplugin though, I dont wanna play with CUPS. If it aint broken dont even think about fixing it Smile
But above foo2xxx works fine with Lupu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mdisaster2

Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 107
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 06:35    Post subject: minor annoyance with set timezone.
Subject description: theis also happened in previous version (at least 5.01 and 4.32)
 

When I set my timezone to GMT+1 and hover on the clock applet in the tray the tip says GMT-1. If I choose GMT-1 the tip says GMT+1.Not sure whether this is only a cosmetic issue or if it can actually cause wrong time display, for example if the hw clock is set to UTC.

Workaround: instead of GMT+1 I choose Europe/Rome, which seems to be ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 08:10    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Minolta magicolor 2200/2300/2430 DL,HP LaserJet 1018/1020/1022/P35,HP LaserJet Pro P1102/P1102w/P1566/P1606dn > all these printers needs foo2xxx printer driver package because of firmware hotplugin. .

Patriot's foo2xxx package is still the best choice for these printers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SirDuncan


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 836
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 09:36    Post subject: Re: minor annoyance with set timezone.
Subject description: POSIX can be confusing . . .
 

mdisaster2 wrote:
When I set my timezone to GMT+1 and hover on the clock applet in the tray the tip says GMT-1. If I choose GMT-1 the tip says GMT+1.Not sure whether this is only a cosmetic issue or if it can actually cause wrong time display, for example if the hw clock is set to UTC.

Workaround: instead of GMT+1 I choose Europe/Rome, which seems to be ok.


If I'm remembering correctly, POSIX compliant systems (like Linux) represent time offsets in reverse (-5GMT is +5POSIX). Barry labeled them the way we expect to see them (offset from GMT), but the clock likely shows the POSIX offset. Nothing was actually wrong, just highly confusing. It's probably best to choose the timezone name, as you have done, to avoid that confusion.

_________________
Be brave that God may help thee, speak the truth even if it leads to death, and safeguard the helpless. - A knight's oath
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
weffy

Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 10:30    Post subject: Startmount doesn't work now  

Startmount isn't working for me in 510. Tried uninstalling and reinstall. It shows drives being probed, but no gui opens up after that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mdisaster2

Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 107
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 11:29    Post subject: Re: minor annoyance with set timezone.
Subject description: POSIX can be confusing . . .
 

SirDuncan wrote:

If I'm remembering correctly, POSIX compliant systems (like Linux) represent time offsets in reverse (-5GMT is +5POSIX). Barry labeled them the way we expect to see them (offset from GMT), but the clock likely shows the POSIX offset. Nothing was actually wrong, just highly confusing. It's probably best to choose the timezone name, as you have done, to avoid that confusion.

Yes, that's the case. I tried with other offsets and the sign of the offset is always reversed on the clock tip, so it's definitely consistent. Sorry for the wrong report and thx for the explanation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4367
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 11:33    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
pemasu wrote:
Minolta magicolor 2200/2300/2430 DL,HP LaserJet 1018/1020/1022/P35,HP LaserJet Pro P1102/P1102w/P1566/P1606dn > all these printers needs foo2xxx printer driver package because of firmware hotplugin. .

Patriot's foo2xxx package is still the best choice for these printers.


I am using that package somewhat successfully with a HP Laserjet P1006.

I say somewhat because it handles text files but it won't print PDF files, it causes a blank page to come out and then generates an error in the Print Jobs area.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 16:35    Post subject: Re: Startmount doesn't work now  

weffy wrote:
Startmount isn't working for me in 510. Tried uninstalling and reinstall. It shows drives being probed, but no gui opens up after that.

Hmmmm... I can't reproduce that, works fine for me.

How many drives do you have and what filesystems?

Best way to let me know is by running probepart in a terminal.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 17:37    Post subject:  

mdisaster2,

If you set your timezone as you have done it will follow the Summer Time settings and should alter your clock whenever there's a change.

If you set UTC it will not follow this.

I've always found it more convenient to be on correct 'local' time. Very Happy

In fact when I wrote Psync I insisted on it for the servers to sync correctly and set your time correctly, else they will set your clock to the region you select.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
weffy

Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun 22 Aug 2010, 18:56    Post subject:  

01micko,

Here's results of probepart.

/dev/sda1|ext3|10233342
/dev/sda3|ext2|61432560
/dev/sda4|none|2
/dev/sda5|ext2|10233342
/dev/sda6|ext3|60018776
/dev/sda7|ext2|10281536

I probably have created the last one since installing my last OS, lupu-500.

Thanks, Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 00:10    Post subject:  

Thanks weffy,

Did you always have that tiny partition with 'none'? I gather not formatted?

That could potentially bork Startmount, I'll look further into the issue when you respond.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Tasgarth

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 202
Location: France, Besancon

PostPosted: Mon 23 Aug 2010, 02:45    Post subject: probepart  

Quote:
weffy :

Quote:
01micko wrote :

Did you always have that tiny partition with 'none'? I gather not formatted?

That could potentially bork Startmount


Perhaps partition extended ?

Maybe look at what does fdisk -l ( start and end of blocks and cylinders...) ?

I have the same :

# probepart
/dev/sda1|ext3|26282276
/dev/sda2|swap|2972024
/dev/sda3|none|2
/dev/sda5|ext3|42813162

.............

# fdisk -l

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 1636 13141138+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 1637 1821 1486012+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3 1822 24792 184514527 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 1822 4486 21406581 83 Linux




my tiny...

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 25 [364 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1056s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0224s) ][ GZIP on ]