Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 14 Dec 2017, 22:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Maximum Ram for 32- or 64- bit Puppies
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 226

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 21:20    Post subject:  Maximum Ram for 32- or 64- bit Puppies
Subject description: What's the most RAM a Puppy can use?
 

Simple question, what is the maximum ram that Puppy (Linux) can see/use?

I put together a AM3 system, dual core processor and installed 4 gig of DDR3 ram (2 sticks). System info shows 3374 MB memory, 197 MB used. Does this mean that I have a defective stick of ram? Crying or Very sad

Cheers

Puppy 4.32 V3 Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4421
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 21:36    Post subject: Re: Maximum Ram  

Fishy wrote:
Simple question, what is the maximum ram that Puppy (Linux) can see/use?

I put together a AM3 system, dual core processor and installed 4 gig of DDR3 ram (2 sticks). System info shows 3374 MB memory, 197 MB used. Does this mean that I have a defective stick of ram? Crying or Very sad

Cheers

Puppy 4.32 V3 Very Happy


Maximum Linux can see is about 3.5gb; think it's a 32bit os limitation;
not sure.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11738
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 21:39    Post subject:  

Do you have on-board video or a separate video card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 226

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 21:50    Post subject:  

On board video Radeon HD3300. SidePort memory 128 meg DDR3 but maximum shared memory 512MB.

Mystery solved I think.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11738
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 21:52    Post subject:  

There is a nice explanation here of other ways that your OS eats up memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15235
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 08:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
what is the maximum ram that Puppy (Linux) can see/use?


I think Puppy is set for 4 gig
Any Linux (including Puppy) with a different kernel setting can use 64 gig
A 64 bit Puppy like Fatdog could use more
http://puppylinux.org/news/releases/fatdog64-500-is-released/

_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4421
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 08:28    Post subject:  

More about the 3.5gb limit.

http://www.vistaclues.com/reader-question-32-bit-vista-memory-limits/

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Fishy

Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 226

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 09:42    Post subject:  

Thanks for all the help and tips. I have read some of the articles already.

Nicest thing about Puppy is the people on the forum. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 758
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 16 Nov 2017, 17:22    Post subject:  

Rehashing an old thread, in a rush but will chase this 3.5ish Gb RAM limit issue up in the appropriate avenues at a later time.
I have a large-ish workstation with an 8-core i7-2600 3.4GHz CPU, 20Gb DDR3 RAM, and 3 HDD's - a 160GB and two 1 TB drives I used for backups on other computers, in the process of getting culled. So I installed TahrPup64 6.0.6, Linux 3.14.79 (i686)...

What the...?

Well it seems I have been running FSLInt on the slow boat to China - accidentally running Fslint on a fresh install of 32-bit TahrPup, when I thought it was 64-bit. Took a day and a half to process duplicate files on *one* TB drive - I gave up on having both storage drives compared. Will report back if TahrPup64 also fails to make use of all the RAM I have in this machine.
Embarassed

UPDATE: Hmm well a systemic brain-fart had occurred, of unusual proportions even if I say so myself... a fresh install of TahrPup64 3.14.79(x86_64) is registering all 20GB RAM. Soon to test improved processing speed in fslint...

Update: Upgraded the TahrPup64 kernel to 4.9.30, fslint with 32-bit compatibility loaded seems to be chugging along using 17GB of 20GB available.

_________________
What I get up to when I'm not on the Puppy Linux Murga forum:
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=EMQxfgYAAAAJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0438s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0112s) ][ GZIP on ]