Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 10:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Need Windows driver for Atheros 5bmb5 wireless card
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [31 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
M.Gregg


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 124
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 05 Feb 2006, 12:16    Post subject: Switch  

Hi,

dd if=/dev/mem bs=1 skip=983040 count=65535 2>/dev/null | strings | egrep "NEW-PC|Insyde Software MobilePRO BIOS"
Insyde Software MobilePRO BIOS Version 4.20.10
#
insmod /root/pbe5.o.gz radio=0
echo 1 > /proc/pbe5/radio
#
#modprobe ath_pci
warning: loading /lib/modules/2.4.29/wireless/madwifi/ath_hal.o will taint the kernel: non-GPL licence - Proprietary
See http://www.tux.org/lkml/#export-tainted for info

Module ath_hal loaded with warnings
Module wlan loaded with warnings
Module ath_rate sample loaded, with warnings
Module ath_pci loaded, with warnings
iwconfig
lo no wireless extentions
eth0 no wireless extentions

Any thoughts?

Kind regards
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
M.Gregg


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 124
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 05 Feb 2006, 12:22    Post subject: Just for info  

Hi,

modprobe pbe5 radio=1
modprobe can't locate module pbe5
#

What am i doing wrong?

Kind regards
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 05 Feb 2006, 19:17    Post subject:  

"modprobe" only works for modules located in /lib/modules/2.4.29/... after "depmod" has been run to update the modules dependency file.
You can put the pbe5.o.gz module here if you prefer, but it won't survive reboots.
So "insmod" is a perfectly suitable alternative.

It looks like the driver is not working ... although I would really like to know what "ifconfig -a" reports after you load the ath_pci module.
At this stage I can only suggest some low-level troubleshooting.
1. Make sure your bios is set for "PnP OS = NO" This is important for all Linux installations.
2. Does "dmesg" or "lspci" show the card?
3. Does "cat /proc/interrupts" show an irq conflict?

The Puppy 1.0.7 liveCD allows the option of booting with ACPI on (1 default) or off (2), you could try reversing your original choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
M.Gregg


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 124
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 06 Feb 2006, 15:34    Post subject:  

Hi,

Here are some results that may help:
The tulip driver is the eth0


hci_hcd 00:10.3: irq 10, pci mem dc869000
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
ehci_hcd 00:10.3: USB 2.0 enabled, EHCI 1.00, driver 2003-Dec-29/2.4
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 6 ports detected
usb-uhci.c: $Revision: 1.275 $ time 10:58:54 Jun 17 2005
usb-uhci.c: High bandwidth mode enabled
usb-uhci.c: USB UHCI at I/O 0x1200, IRQ 11
usb-uhci.c: Detected 2 ports
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 2 ports detected
usb-uhci.c: USB UHCI at I/O 0x1220, IRQ 7
usb-uhci.c: Detected 2 ports
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 3
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 2 ports detected
usb-uhci.c: USB UHCI at I/O 0x1240, IRQ 5
usb-uhci.c: Detected 2 ports
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 4
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 2 ports detected
usb-uhci.c: v1.275:USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver
Registering unionfs 1.0.14
hdc: attached ide-cdrom driver.
hdc: ATAPI 24X DVD-ROM DVD-R CD-R/RW drive, 2048kB Cache, UDMA(33)
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.12
Linux Tulip driver version 0.9.15-pre12 (Aug 9, 2002)
ndiswrapper version 1.1 loaded (preempt=no,smp=no)
ndiswrapper: driver neta3ab (D-Link,09/03/2004,3.3.0.1571) loaded
PCI: Enabling device 00:06.0 (0000 -> 0002)
PCI: No IRQ known for interrupt pin A of device 00:06.0
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 00:06.0 to 64
ndiswrapper: request for irq 0 failed
ndiswrapper (NdisWriteErrorLogEntry:273): log: C000009A, count: 4 (db8ee160), re turn address: dc91ba46, entry: dc91c180 offset: 4294965446
ndiswrapper (ndiswrapper_add_one_pci_dev:188): Windows driver couldn't initializ e the device (C0000001)
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2002 Netfilter core team
ip_conntrack version 2.1 (3583 buckets, 28664 max) - 288 bytes per conntrack
eth0: Setting full-duplex based on MII #1 link partner capability of 41e1.
pbe5: Radio turned ON
ath_hal: 0.9.14.9 (AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413)
wlan: 0.8.6.0 (EXPERIMENTAL)
ath_rate_sample: 1.2
ath_pci: 0.9.6.0 (EXPERIMENTAL)
PCI: No IRQ known for interrupt pin A of device 00:06.0
ath%d: request_irq failed
#

Kind regards
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
M.Gregg


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 124
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 06 Feb 2006, 16:15    Post subject: Fault finding  

Hi,

# lspci
0:0.0 1106:0259
0:0.1 1106:1259
0:0.2 1106:2259
0:0.3 1106:3259
0:0.4 1106:4259
0:0.7 1106:7259
0:1.0 1106:b198
0:6.0 168c:0013 (rev 01)
0:16.0 1106:3038 (rev 80)
0:16.1 1106:3038 (rev 80)
0:16.2 1106:3038 (rev 80)
0:16.3 1106:3104 (rev 82)
0:17.0 1106:3177
0:17.1 1106:0571 (rev 06)
0:17.5 1106:3059 (rev 50)
0:17.6 1106:3068 (rev 80)
0:18.0 1106:3065 (rev 74)
1:0.0 1106:3118 (rev 02)
# cat /proc/interrupts
CPU0
0: 115796 XT-PIC timer
1: 291 XT-PIC keyboard
2: 0 XT-PIC cascade
5: 0 XT-PIC viaudio, usb-uhci
7: 0 XT-PIC usb-uhci
8: 0 XT-PIC rtc
9: 0 XT-PIC acpi
10: 0 XT-PIC ehci_hcd
11: 4064 XT-PIC usb-uhci, eth0
12: 33510 XT-PIC PS/2 Mouse
14: 3213 XT-PIC ide0
15: 19 XT-PIC ide1
NMI: 0
ERR: 0
#
Kind regards
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 06 Feb 2006, 19:41    Post subject:  

ndiswrapper and ath_pci are "competing" to control the same device.
I suggest you disable ndiswrapper for now (I think you delete stuff in /etc/ndiswrapper) and try MADWiFi again.
If MADWiFi is no good, obviously then try ndiswrapper.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
M.Gregg


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 124
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2006, 13:51    Post subject: Radio on  

Hi,

Radio is shown as turned on so the switch must be working.

So how do i turn it on at startup ?

I assume that this has to be put in a startup file?

insmod /root/pbe5.o.gz radio=1

I will need this with either Madwifi or ndiswrapper.

so this is one thing that i can do.

Kind regards
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2006, 00:28    Post subject:  

Your "personal" startup script is /root/.etc/rc.d/rc.local. Yes, add the RFSwitch command here, as well as other wifi setup commands when you eventually work them out.

Your 5BMB5 wifi adaptor's pci id, 168c:0013, is reported on the web as being "AirPlus XtremeG DWL-G650 Wireless PCMCIA Adapter".
So the 5BMB5 appears to be a mini-PCI clone of the Cardbus G650 revB or revC. So you could probably use the G650's Window$ driver with ndiswrapper, and overcome the problem of the 5BMB5 driver's missing .inf file.
But try MADWiFi first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
M.Gregg


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 124
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2006, 15:45    Post subject:  

Hi,

I have attached a png of the results from dmesg. I have re-installed puppy to remove the ndiswrapper conflict. Both the old and the new madwifi drivers create the same irq fail. I have put the radio switch in the startup file and it apears to work O.K. This is reflected in the dmesg file. I assume that the dmesg file always tells the truth and that the radio is on as stated?
I notice that this thread is creating a lot of interest, i will not use ndiswrapper again until i am sure that there is no other option. Do you have any other ideas that we could try to get madwifi working? or is there anything we could do to improve the driver?


Kind regards
Michael
dmesg.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  dmesg.png 
Filesize  33.67 KB 
Downloaded  1423 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2006, 21:03    Post subject:  

I'm working on the assumption that the 5BMB5 is a mini-PCI (internal) adaptor.

As I look back on your previous posts I see that there is no irq listed for the adaptor. I think this is the core problem. It's worth noting that "cat /proc/interrupts" will not list irq's for serial devices, and this leads us to our first possibility -

1. The system could be trying to assign the card to irq3, but this irq is already taken by your internal modem.
On a full HD installation this can be fixed by modifying /etc/pcmcia/config.opts to exclude irq 3 as a resource, but this may not work in a liveCD situation.
It might be easier to try to disable the modem in bios.

2. ACPI could be messing up irq allocation. It's possible to specify various ACPI behaviour as boot options, but the most comprehensive boot option is "acpi=off", and Puppy already has this as boot option 2. Try it.

3. USB interfaces are taking several irq's. You could temporarily disable USB in bios ... at least USB2.0.

4. While you're in bios, you might as well disable the LAN adaptor, too ... this will free up irq11.

5. All of the above.

Whether the radio is truly on or off is a secondary issue. Even if off, this should only disable the transmitter, not the entire device.
You are really aiming at eliminating that "request_irq failed" message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
M.Gregg


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 124
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 11 Feb 2006, 17:05    Post subject: acpi  

Hi,

Bugzilla shows the same problem with the irq failing:

they say the cure is

acpi=on

and they had the same fault as we have with the irq fail

question is where do i enter this command#?
this is the link to the info:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/long_list.cgi?buglist=118767

Kind regards
Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 11 Feb 2006, 22:42    Post subject:  

At the boot prompt enter the number of your boot choice (1-5), then a space, then any additional boot options you may want, each separated by a space. So -
boot: 1 acpi=on

My understanding is that the Linux kernel enables ACPI by default, and the only valid boot option is to disable it ... but I just booted Puppy on my Pentium3-500 desktop and after running "dmesg" I see this -
"ACPI disabled because your bios is from 2000 and too old
You can enable it with acpi=force"

I suggest you check dmesg to see if you have a similar situation. Perhaps "acpi=force" would be more effective than "acpi=on"?
And I like that bug report's original suggestion of using "pci=biosirq".
Here are three other boot options you could try -

pci=noacpi
acpi=noirq
noapic

If Puppy is installed to hard drive it's easy to modify lilo or grub to include these boot options.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
M.Gregg


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 124
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 12 Feb 2006, 07:30    Post subject: Bios.  

Hi,

I have noticed that the Bios is not readable. I also notice no mention of ACPI, unless I am missing some thing?

I have attached a copy of dmesg the fist line reflects the bios problem. I see no mention of acpi, the bios is (NEW-PC|Insyde Software MobilePRO BIOS).
Is this worth mentioning to Barry for Pup2?

I am using a hard drive install, but i thought that we should address both issues for anyone that may be interested. So please put any options for both HD install and run fron CD that you can think of.
How do I edit grub for acpi=on I have tried editing the commands for Hda 6 which is the partition for PUPPY but it will not save them? dmesg still does not reflect the "one off "acpi commands
Thanks again for your help

Kind regards
Michael
Bios.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Bios.png 
Filesize  41.54 KB 
Downloaded  1317 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 12 Feb 2006, 09:44    Post subject:  

Your xterminal is not showing you the complete output of dmesg. Create an xterminal with a bigger scrolled-line buffer, like this -
rxvt -sl 300
Now run"dmesg" in this new xterminal. This will be the first time you have seen the full dmesg, so don't add any boot options until you see what the ACPI situation is normally. If you see "ACPI disabled ..." or "ACPI: Interpreter disabled" then obviously you must use "acpi=on" or "acpi=force".
But if you see a positive ACPI response like "ACPI: RSDP ...0x..." then I think you should try the other ACPI-irq-related boot options I mentioned.

This is the first I've heard that you have a full HD install, and apparently you have several partitions, so you're probably multi-booting at least two operating systems.
I'm a little "rusty" with Grub, but I think there will be a /boot/grub directory containing menu.lst. Open this file in a text editor and add your boot option(s) to the "kernel" line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
M.Gregg


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 124
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 12 Feb 2006, 14:54    Post subject:  

Hi,
As you said the irq problem is now shown on the new xterm.
Line 8 shows the irq fail.

So it looks like a re-think regarding the problem!

I am booting three systems. I assume that acpi is working from the Dmesg. So why would the irq not be set at boot for the card I assume that the irq's are set by the bios?

Kind regards
Michael
x term dsm full.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  x term dsm full.png 
Filesize  38.15 KB 
Downloaded  1290 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [31 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1011s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0190s) ][ GZIP on ]