Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 11:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Browse as user "Spot"
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 01:27    Post subject:  Browse as user "Spot"
Subject description: Is this .pet any good?
 

Ok, forget the poll, that's ancient, but I have a new package for browsing as Spot
(that is, not the "root" user). It has the option of installing an icon to the desktop.

It's still ONLY compatible with mozilla browsers, that is, Firefox, Seamonkey (and if you still use them Netscape and Mozilla,
but if you are worried about security then these old beings would be long dead).

________________________________________________________________________
brssafe.png
 Description   
 Filesize   95.39 KB
 Viewed   1981 Time(s)

brssafe.png

browsesafe-0.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  browsesafe-0.5.pet 
Filesize  7.65 KB 
Downloaded  612 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Fri 22 Apr 2011, 08:54; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 01:42    Post subject:  

I never use Spot, but would vote 'yes' to keeping it simply because I hate to lose any facility.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 01:48    Post subject:  

Ahhggghhh! stoopid polls! (yeah I'll blame them, or bugman or cthisbear, not my fault)

This the second one I've managed to foobar, actually it's my second one Embarassed

I'm not editing again! Any new stuff goes here!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5726
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 01:56    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
I never use Spot, but would vote 'yes' to keeping it simply because I hate to lose any facility.


I agree. Smile

I prefer being root and I'm comfortable being root............................but for those who aren't it probably would be useful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1890
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 03:40    Post subject: Re: Browsing as user "Spot"
Subject description: Is it any good?
 

01micko wrote:

1) I'll splash a message that Spot can only download to /root/spot and that Spot can't really download much at all.


An average user doesn't know what spot is. Ahem, user friendliness? Better do it silently and make sure the user doesn't even notice he's running the browser as spot. Make it transparent to the user.

Also, let's say you want to start the browser through the console. You type "firefox" or whatever and your browser opens, but without your settings and under root's GTK theme. That's bad. If you intend to create a wrapper for each browser that does "su -c $browser" that's a different story, but face it, some people download their browser from its website, they won't have your spot thing.

Another thing to consider is the mess in /root/spot. /root/spot/Downloads and /root/my-documents ... I think it's quite confusing to have two locations for personal files.

Moreover, let's say you want to download stuff to somewhere in the file system ... or let's say you want to download a PET. Normally, you'd open it with PPM and install it right away instead of downloading it ... but with spot you just can't. Now you need to modify PPM to alert you're not root. But hey, the user doesn't know what spot is ... so that's an epic fail. But that's just my opinion, do whatever you want.

01micko wrote:

2) I think the gtk theme not being present is kinda cool It certainly lets you know that you are browsing differently. Perhaps a special gtk colour them could be made just for spot. That would be even cooler Cool .


It's just one application that runs with a different theme. That's weird. Also, you'll need to write some wrapper for gtk-chtheme that generates color schemes for each theme you pick. You'll have to take all colors from a theme in hex, then perform some math on each hex and save them. BUT, some themes don't have the colors, because they use the engine's default, so you can't do that with some themes.

I think that if you can't do that with all themes perfectly, you shouldn't bother. I want my system easy to use and working. 100% working. If it doesn't work under all cases, better leave it. Again, that's my opinion.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 04:06    Post subject:  

Hi Iguleder

I like your comments. Not that I agree with all of them but I like them Wink

Here's the deal. If spot didn't exist I would not care. I'm not the one who wants to browse as spot, it's others.

As for user friendliness, which I agree totally with you on that one, if this thread takes off then that will evolve. If it dies then so be it!

But the fact that some users want to browse as user "spot" isn't going away. I answered a post about this today. A fellow reckons he couldn't browse as "spot" in Puppy 5. He didn't read the manual too well and posted a bug report!

Of course browsing as "spot" does work in Puppy 5/501. It's actually really useless to me and I might drop it completely. Anyone can post whatever solution to whatever problem (re topic) they want right here.

The discussion has started now and we'll let it roll along.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ajlec2000

Joined: 27 Jan 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 19:33    Post subject:  

I don't use spot but it might come in handy someday. So I have to go with DaveS on this one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Varmint


Joined: 26 Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 22:28    Post subject: browsing as "spot"
Subject description: same
 

I actually had a copy of Multi-User Puppy here on my machine once for just such purposes. I can't recall who created that version, but I recall he did it mostly to show others how it could be done for those that don't want to run as root. While running as root is condemned by The Ten Commandments For Linux Users, it is still a whole lot safer than using Win, where everyone is root also.

At least now there's another choice for folks that don't want to run as root. By the way....the multi-user version should be in the archives under 4.x series, and I found it to be somewhat touchy....or is that buggy? It may need some tweaking, so if anyone tries that, be sure to read the docs. It may save you some grief.

73

_________________
In all of human history, not one single society has ever been taxed into prosperity.
~Varmint
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 02:33    Post subject:  

If browser can run as spot, so can gtk theme changer
Code:
su spot -c gtk-chtheme

will setup spot's gtk theme.
Wink
As for downloads problem maybe a symlink in /root to spot's Downloads dir?

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1890
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 04:35    Post subject:  

That solves the problem with Firefox ... well, sort of. But what if it's another program that uses .config or something? What if a user wants to create backups of all configuration files?

The average user is used to a single-user system as in Windows. A "user" is a person who uses the computer for the average user. He or she has no idea what a system user is or what "spot" is.

Now go and tell people there are different users in Puppy, but they're not users, they're users Wink

You can't tell people they have to choose 2 GTK themes.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 04:45    Post subject:  

Different browsers don't use different gtk configs, it's always the same one ~/.gtkrc Razz
plus copy of gtkrc can be in spot's dir by default or it could be symlink to root's gtkrc
Code:
ln -s /root/.gtkrc /root/spot/.gtkrc

When root changes theme from main menu in gtk theme changer, spots gtk will read same file.

For browser config files every browser creates own .dot config automatically, users that don't know about spot user will likely not be at that level of manually editing config it's done thru browser preferences settings.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 05:02    Post subject:  

BTW Mick, why it works only for mozilla based browsers, can't you do su spot -c defaultbrowser ?
Not sure why it wouldn't for others, any of them have permission to make own config dir in spot's home dir, if permissions are bad then

Code:
chown -R spot /root/spot


I saw many applications complaining for running as root, but not for running as restricted user Razz
Anyway, I think browsing as spot IS more secure, does user know or not know how is different story.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7797
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 08:52    Post subject:  

New version uploaded, takes care of gtk theme and also adds a desktop icon (optional Wink )

Only supports mozilla browsers


See main post

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1111
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 09:33    Post subject:  

Hi,

I have installed the pet and opted for the desktop icon.

Firefox 3.6.16 is set as my Lupu 5.25 default browser.

If I click on my original browse icon Firefox loads with my installed add-ons and bookmarks, but

if I click on my new browsesafe icon I see a pristine Firefox without add-ons or bookmarks.

Would someone please be so kind as to advise how I can load the add-ons and bookmarks using browsesafe?

My regards

Addendum:

I apologize as I forgot to say my .mozilla folder is in /mnt/home and my .mozilla folder in root is an absolute link,

Last edited by Jasper on Fri 22 Apr 2011, 12:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 10:37    Post subject:  

Jasper wrote:
Hi,

I have installed the pet and opted for the desktop icon.

Firefox 3.6.16 is set as my Lupu 5.25 default browser.

If I click on my original browse icon Firefox loads with my installed add-ons and bookmarks, but

if I click on my new browsesafe icon I see a pristine Firefox without add-ons or bookmarks.

Would someone please be so kind as to advise how I can load the add-ons and bookmarks using browsesafe?

My regards


I am not sure since I can't run anything as spot so I can't test it, but I suppose you can fix it like this:

Code:
# cp -ax /root/.Mozilla /home/spot/
# chown -R spot /home/spot/.Mozilla


Run the browser again and see if you got all your preferences back. If that doesn't work, try again like this:

Code:
# cp -ax /root/.Mozilla /root/spot/
# chown -R spot /root/spot/.Mozilla


Or perhaps you could symlink one to another, so both are always "in sync."

Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0939s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]