Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 17:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Learning gtkDialog (pmenu project)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Sat 11 Sep 2010, 17:52    Post_subject:  

Hey afishe2000

well I made another small edit and added the Exec=
to see the code used to launch the desktop with

*I added an icon this time and desktop so it could be packaged
for another version (I use a TXZ format)

the reason I hacked out this part of the code is because it can be re used
for other apps the way you set up the reading of the comments is very clever Very Happy




Joe
desktop-edit2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   43.5 KB
 Viewed   1765 Time(s)

desktop-edit2.png

desktop_view2.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  desktop_view2.tar.gz 
Filesize  20.85 KB 
Downloaded  384 Time(s) 

_________________
debian wheezy ,linux mint, slackware I use them all and they all have good points
Mint would be best for general users though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
afishe2000

Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 04:11    Post_subject:  

See the first post for more details...

pmenu-3.0.0.pet

The pet for 3.0.0 REQUIRES /usr/bin/switch2 from gtk-theme-switch-i386.pet.

Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 21 Sep 2010, 23:47    Post_subject:  

After I run pmenu, depending on what gtk theme I was using, the gtk menus are messed up - the highlight color doesn't show.

Do you have any idea if it can be fixed? Otherwise, it's brilliant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
afishe2000

Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 06:07    Post_subject:  

Hum,

That's not good, trying to recreate it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
afishe2000

Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 06:21    Post_subject:  

jemimah,

Ah, found the issue - seems to happen to the right click menus.

Looking to see if zigbert's code causes the same problem?

Just wondering if it's a gtk-theme-switch problem or if I implemented his technique incorrectly.

Thanks,

Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
afishe2000

Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 09:48    Post_subject:  

Ok,

After further research I cannot recreate the problem.

I'm switching between the Brushed and Clearlooks themes using CHThemes.

Brushed looks perfect.

Clearlooks has white highlight text and is hard to read when you use the right click menus. (That is what I thought the problem was.)

This is a problem on my machine with the theme straight out of the box un-modified.

Maybe you can post a screenshot of the problem.

Unless you are talking about "Atom", "Barbee", "Celeron"... themes.

Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 09:59    Post_subject:  

I have the problem with both Brushed and Faraway. (No problem with IceWM themes).
It is a problem with the right click menus - you can't tell what item you're hovering over.

A screenshot would just look like a menu with nothing highlighted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
afishe2000

Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 10:03    Post_subject:  

Here are two screen shots.

Is this what we are talking about?
Clearlooks.png
 Description   
 Filesize   15.67 KB
 Viewed   1606 Time(s)

Clearlooks.png

Brushed.png
 Description   
 Filesize   40.22 KB
 Viewed   1614 Time(s)

Brushed.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 10:16    Post_subject:  

Both of those are working. When it breaks, there is no highlight at all.

I'll play with it again when I get home from work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 17:55    Post_subject:  

The problem seems to only affect ROX. And maybe it's only ROX-2.10 from Puppeee4.4 and Fluppy05.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
afishe2000

Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu 23 Sep 2010, 07:01    Post_subject:  

Downloaded a fresh copy of 4.4 beta 1 and put in on my SD card.

Running Rox as my desktop and Icewm as my windows manager.

Still can't recreate the problem.

If we can't figure it out, I'll revert back to 2.0.1 version without the icons, add the Exec data and develop from there.

Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 23 Sep 2010, 09:01    Post_subject:  

I'll try it on a fresh install later today. Maybe it's only my dev box - it does get hosed up from time to time. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
afishe2000

Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun 26 Sep 2010, 17:22    Post_subject:  

Ok,

Finally able to duplicate the problem, and it's a weird one.

I'm using a fresh full install of Puppeee 4.4 beta 2.

Change your theme to Brushed.

Open Chrome and Geany and test the menus work normally.

Open pmenu and select a program from either list so the icon shows.

While pmenu is still open test the menus on Chrome and Greany. (Should function normally)

Close pmenu and check the menus again. (No highlighting for the menu system)

Close and reopen Chrome and Greany and check the menus again. (Should function normally)

You can also fix the problem by re-applying the theme.

Doesn't seem to effect Firefox, still checking other programs.

May take some research to figure this one out....

Jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
its-me-again

Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jan 2011, 05:48    Post_subject:  

Hi in quirky 1.2 pmenu 3.0.0 crashes the desktop background and all apps currently running. is this normal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
its-me-again

Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jan 2011, 05:51    Post_subject:  

afishe2000 wrote:
Ok,

Finally able to duplicate the problem, and it's a weird one.

I'm using a fresh full install of Puppeee 4.4 beta 2.

Change your theme to Brushed.

Open Chrome and Geany and test the menus work normally.

Open pmenu and select a program from either list so the icon shows.

While pmenu is still open test the menus on Chrome and Greany. (Should function normally)

Close pmenu and check the menus again. (No highlighting for the menu system)

Close and reopen Chrome and Greany and check the menus again. (Should function normally)

You can also fix the problem by re-applying the theme.

Doesn't seem to effect Firefox, still checking other programs.

May take some research to figure this one out....

Jeff


Jeff what version of pmenu are you using. you have an old puppy version. try the older ones. from here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=40277
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0698s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]