Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 17 Nov 2017, 19:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Add 'Home' Button to Nav. Toolbar, SM2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 01:45    Post subject:  Add 'Home' Button to Nav. Toolbar, SM2
Subject description: Easy, but counter-intuitive
 

By default, the 'Home' button in Seamonkey 2 is on the Personal Toolbar, which seems daft to me as the intuitive place to put it is on the navigation bar, especially if, like me, you keep the personal toolbar hidden to maximise window space.
Here is how to get it onto the navigation bar:
Set the browser to show the personal toolbar.
Right click on the personal toolbar and from the pop-up select 'customise...'
A panel of available buttons will appear. Drag the 'Home' button OFF the personal toolbar and on to this panel. Close panel.
Right click on the navigation toolbar, select 'customise' and drag the 'Home' button to the place of your choice.
Job done!

I post this because the whole process seems a bit counter-intuitive to me, and took me weeks to figure out, but then, maybe I am just a bit thick....................

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2082
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 02:35    Post subject:  

Would the extensions to add the home button to the main toolbar work with SM2, as well? Very Happy
_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * [ Puppy Precise 5.7.1 JP, Frugal install ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 03:44    Post subject:  

Makoto wrote:
Would the extensions to add the home button to the main toolbar work with SM2, as well? Very Happy


The instructions I posted are for Seamonkey 2. as far as I know there is no extension that does the same thing as none is needed Smile

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2082
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 03:48    Post subject:  

Perhaps, but would the extensions that added a Home button to the main toolbar still work? Smile
_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * [ Puppy Precise 5.7.1 JP, Frugal install ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 04:03    Post subject:  

Makoto wrote:
Perhaps, but would the extensions that added a Home button to the main toolbar still work? Smile


Just tried it for you, sadly no....................

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2082
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 05:43    Post subject:  

It could just be that particular extension that doesn't work. Razz

Heh. I figured it probably wouldn't work - they implemented a completely different way of handling extensions in SM2, more or less, didn't they? Of course, given the internal changes, whatever the extension's hoping to change might not exist where it's looking, anyway...

Thanks. I don't have any plans to install SM2 at the moment, but I was still curious. Probably not a good combination. Embarassed

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * [ Puppy Precise 5.7.1 JP, Frugal install ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0340s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]