Page 1 of 1

Puppy Package Manager - check dependancies via menus problem

Posted: Fri 02 Jul 2010, 08:53
by scsijon
Hi, decided to do some additions to my 4.3.1

also decided I should check their dependancies

dependancies screen came up

but my new packages didn't show, they were off the page bottom

was about to put it into the 4.3.1 problems topic, but

I went back to my 3.0.1 and added a "few" extras, same result.

It looks like there is no scroll bar inbuilt in either version

haven't checked my lupi207 yet (it's already got a showstopper problem for me) but I suspect it may also has the same problem.

could one of the programmers (or barry:-) have a look please and see what can be done

thanks
scsijon

Posted: Sun 04 Jul 2010, 01:31
by BarryK
I am afraid that there is not enough detail to describe this problem.

In Puppy 4.3.1 and later, PPM shows dependencies in tabbed windows, so can show many dependencies, a scroll bar is not required.

Posted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 03:16
by scsijon
Hope this helps (screen set to 1024x768)

Menu
Setup
Check dependencies installed pkg

can't see all packages installed (can see first 28 of my 43 installed packages)

go full screen with top right button and still can't see all installed packages with no way of seeing the rest.

regards
scsijon
4.3.1 (your cd) :lol:

Posted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 20:54
by bigpup
BarryK wrote:I am afraid that there is not enough detail to describe this problem.

In Puppy 4.3.1 and later, PPM shows dependencies in tabbed windows, so can show many dependencies, a scroll bar is not required.
Check dependencies installed pkg:
I get the same thing as scsijon.
Hope this helps (screen set to 1024x768)

Menu
Setup
Check dependencies installed pkg

can't see all packages installed (can see first 28 of my 43 installed packages)

go full screen with top right button and still can't see all installed packages with no way of seeing the rest.

Posted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 21:27
by bigpup
What about this bug? Are we the only two people that get this? For me this shows up in any version of Puppy Linux I use.

Posted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 13:23
by BarryK
Sorry about my previous post, I misunderstood the problem, I was thinking of the PPM. Ok, I'll look into it.

Posted: Fri 16 Jul 2010, 20:26
by aarf
alt+rightclick-drag?

Posted: Sun 18 Jul 2010, 09:55
by scsijon
sorry aarf, doesn't work for me.

scsijon

Posted: Tue 27 Jul 2010, 00:11
by Azpedey
Hi everyone. Checking through forum for answers and found my question. I have the same issue as mentioned, the "Check dependencies" from the Menu generates a list which overscans the screen at the bottom and is not moveable, same as image shown in post by bigpup.

I am running UPup 4.5.8 on an HP DC7600, 3.4GHz processor, 1Gig RAM, integrated video and sound, full install on hard drive.

My other issue with PPM is that although I check to download package and all dependencies, a list of missing dependencies and libraries is always generated after successful download/install. None of the packages, such as Gimp, will operate after install. Again, PPM is used to locate and install the packages.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Norm

Posted: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 03:24
by scsijon
bump, this is getting a nusance folks

Posted: Wed 25 Aug 2010, 18:05
by Karl Godt
The code might be fixable here :

/usr/local/petget/check_deps.sh

lines 138 to 165

Code: Select all

export DEPS_DIALOG="<window title=\"Puppy Package Manager\" icon-name=\"gtk-about\">
  <vbox>
   <text><label>Please choose what package you would like to check the dependencies of:</label></text>
   <frame User-installed packages>
    
   ${RADBUTTONS}
   
   </frame>
   <hbox>
    ${ACTIONBUTTON}
    <button cancel></button>
   </hbox>
  </vbox>
 </window>
" 
 RETPARAMS="`gtkdialog3 --program=DEPS_DIALOG`"
 #ex returned:
 #RADIO_audacious-1.5.1="true"
 #EXIT="BUTTON_CHK_DEPS"

 #eval "$RETPARAMS"
 #[ "$EXIT" != "BUTTON_CHK_DEPS" ] && exit
 [ "`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep 'BUTTON_CHK_DEPS'`" = "" ] && exit
 
 APKGNAME="`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep '^RADIO_' | grep '"true"' | cut -f 1 -d '=' | cut -f 2 -d '_'`"
 dependcheckfunc
 
fi
I`m googling for it right now; renaming gtkdialog3 to gtkdialog2 made the window not plopping up.

I`m not a programmer and I also tried wrapping <progressbar text-xalign="1" text-yalign="1"> from zigbert but no luck until now.

I guess 01micko could fix it :wink:

Posted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 22:52
by scsijon
just messaged BarryK as have hit the problem again while trying to build a dev system to create an amaya for puppy. Somewhere i'm a package short still!

Posted: Fri 19 Nov 2010, 06:45
by Karl Godt
/usr/local/petget/check_deps.sh

Code: Select all

TEMPO="/tmp/checkdepends-choice.tmp.$$"

ONEPKG="`echo -n "$ONEPKGSPEC" | cut -f 1 -d '|' | tr -d '|'`"
   ONEDESCR="`echo -n "$ONEPKGSPEC" | cut -f 2 -d '|' | tr -d '|'`"

echo "${ONEPKG} ${ONEDESCR}" >> /tmp/petget_depchk_buttons
 ((aa++)) 

RADBUTTONS="`cat /tmp/petget_depchk_buttons | tr ' ' ':'`"

Xdialog --title "check_deps.sh" \
		--combobox "Please choose what package you would like to check the dependencies of: \n 
		User-installed packages \n \n " 0 4 $aa  \
		$RADBUTTONS 2> $TEMPO
		
retval=$?
echo $retval
#--------clean exit------->>
case $retval in
  1)
    exit 0;;
  255)
    exit 0;;
esac

APKGNAME=`cat $TEMPO | cut -f 1 -d ':'`
note : the lines are to be found out; posted it because mine is messed up ATM

it is about Xdialog replacing gtkdialog3
inspired partially from /usr/local/jwmconfig2/focusModel

Posted: Fri 19 Nov 2010, 19:40
by Karl Godt
It seems that quirky 130 has got an improved /usr/local/petget/check_deps.sh :
if [ "$RADBUTTONS" != "" ];then #100902 test if too many installed pkgs
nRADBUT=`echo "$RADBUTTONS" | wc -l`
if [ $nRADBUT -gt 23 ];then
#layout as two columns...
RADBUTTONS1="`cat /tmp/petget_depchk_buttons | head -n 23`"
RADBUTTONS2="`cat /tmp/petget_depchk_buttons | tail -n +24`"
RADBUTTONS="<hbox><vbox>${RADBUTTONS1}</vbox><vbox>${RADBUTTONS2}</vbox></hbox>"
fi
fi
But the problem would come up again, if more than 46 or 48 pkgs are installed.

Posted: Sun 28 Nov 2010, 18:15
by Karl Godt
While looking once more into /usr/local/petget/check_deps.sh

that I am studying for gtkdialog possibillities I found another problem with packages :
APKGNAME="`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep '^RADIO_' | grep '"true"' | cut -f 1 -d '=' | cut -f 2 -d "_" `"
would cut ' RADIO_tendra_4.1.2="true" ' first into ' RADIO_tendra_4.1.2 ' and then into just ' tendra ' with the crash : cat ~/.packages/tendra.files file not found.

Code: Select all

APKGNAME="`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep '^RADIO_' | grep '"true"' | cut -f 1 -d '=' | cut -f 2 -d 'O' | sed 's/^_//'`"
would not be the best solution because it might be that there are packages like ' RADIO_PACKAGEOLD_ORIG-1.2.3 ' somewhere.

Code: Select all

A3="`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep '^RADIO_' | grep '"true"' | cut -f 1 -d '=' | sed 's/^RADIO_//'`"
or

Code: Select all

A4="`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep '^RADIO_' | grep '"true"' | sed 's/^RADIO_//' | sed 's/\=\"true\"//'`"
I think would be the better solution. ( line ~188 ) .

Posted: Sun 28 Nov 2010, 19:34
by Karl Godt
And with this 104/5 lines diff -up
the check_deps.sh
would look like this :

[EDIT : the diff -uaNd in the following post works for me now
So I deleted the diff -up attachment ]

Posted: Mon 29 Nov 2010, 20:49
by Karl Godt
diff -up isn't working which I was told at linuxquestions.org
Also there was a problem with geany or pdksh which I tested that day (public domain KornShell ~300KB ) that cutted everything behind the column 72 .

diff -uaNd does work.
(hopefully)
Excuse for any Inconvenience !

Posted: Sun 06 Mar 2011, 19:59
by paradj
ok this is going to drive me nutz :shock:
i've been trying to get this to work in puppy 5.20(lucid)*(lupu not luci)

the attached file is basically what check_deps.sh output always looks like in every distro ive tried from 4.x up thru

have tried to change in frugal, full and a few tweaked installs.
(frugal to full aka pupmode=12)

the fist update i do on any 5.20(lupu) install is to update the ppm
(PPM:Configure:Update)

i had originally tried the quickpet "Update Lupu PPM"
didn't seem to change anything

so was this .gz supposed to make the check_deps.sh look like the previous post sshot?
(http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... h&id=34943)

"diff-uaNd-check_deps.sh.patch.gz"

tried to download it an petget wanted to install, so i let it.
still looks like the attached image

can anyone point me in any direction on how to fix this? :?

[/img]

Posted: Tue 08 Mar 2011, 19:28
by Karl Godt
I thought about a long big text, but this would belong to a howto section .

Patches are applied with the

Code: Select all

patch ##--help
command

As far as I can see it : `patch` is part of the devx_PUP_VERSION.sfs

Roughly : place the patch file in the dir of the origfile , do a

Code: Select all

cd /usr/local/petget
and a

Code: Select all

cp ORIGFILE ORIGFILE.orig
unzip the patch.diff.p.patch.gz

Code: Select all

gunzip diff-uaNd-check_deps.sh.patch.gz
have a look at it

Code: Select all

geany diff-uaNd-check_deps.sh.patch &
and

Code: Select all

patch < diff-uaNd-check_deps.sh.patch
The diff command seems to work on shellscripts better with

Code: Select all

diff -U1 -aNd FILE
The patch should work flawlessly on 5.1.1 but may reject the main part on older puppies because there had been some changes [ some medium-little handwork needed ]
I had not put any changelog remarks in the head part of the file .

Anyway, thanks for the response .