Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 00:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Put Desktop Icons on a Launchbar
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jun 2010, 12:47    Post_subject:  Put Desktop Icons on a Launchbar  

This .pet will install an autohide launchbar at the top of your screen with the standard desktop icons included. You can then remove the icons from your desktop, but still have them available. The bar is configurable, so you can add your own customisation as required. Tested in 4.3* and Quirky.



It is dead easy to install. First, just run the .pet included here. Then open a terminal/console window, and just type fixmenus and hit 'enter'
Not much will happen. A couple of lines will appear on the screen, then it will stop. Takes about 5 seconds. Close the terminal window.

Go to the menu button at the bottom left of the screen, click it, and select shutdown>restart jwm.

The screen will flash, and voila, your new menubar will be installed and activated. Just move the mouse pointer to the top of your screen, at it will appear.
Icontray.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Icontray.pet 
Filesize  2.4 KB 
Downloaded  828 Time(s) 

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jun 2010, 12:58    Post_subject:  

Under The Hood

The .pet just installs a very tiny text file into the /root/ directory called .jwmrc-tray-top, and adds a line to the menu template in /etc/xdg/templates to activate the text file. Running fixmenus configures it, and re-starting JWM makes it available. The file in /root/, .jwmrc-tray-top is a hidden file, so you must set Rox filemanager to show hidden files before you can see it. If you want to change something, just load it into a text editor and go for it. The syntax is easy to follow.
If you make edits and want to test your syntax, save your changes, open a terminal window and type jwm -p
This will check for errors for you.
If you get in a dreadful mess, just re-install the .pet Smile

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jun 2010, 13:15    Post_subject:    

Nice one Dave, just installed it in my own dpup build and it works a treat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 15 Jun 2010, 14:18    Post_subject:  

have a look at menu>desktop>change window manager>flwm {as opposed to jwm} in puppeeerc5 or fluppy03. it has all the icons along the top.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bones01

Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Location: Melbourne, Aus

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jun 2010, 19:15    Post_subject:
Sub_title: jwm on quirky
 

Does Quirky 1.00 use JWM? (I know it might seem a dumb question, but I thought it used something else)
Bones

_________________
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again)
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jun 2010, 01:39    Post_subject:
Sub_title: jwm on quirky
 

bones01 wrote:
Does Quirky 1.00 use JWM? (I know it might seem a dumb question, but I thought it used something else)
Bones


Certainly Q1.2(latest release) is JWM. Maybe some of the earlier beta releases did not?

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5757
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jun 2010, 02:23    Post_subject:  

I no longer have Quirky 1.00 installed (moved up to 1.20) but I seem to remember that Quirky 1.00 used Openbox/Fbpanel as default window manager.
HTH.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jun 2010, 08:23    Post_subject:  

yes im pretty sure Quirky 1 was Openbox/Fbpanel
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0551s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]