Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Nov 2017, 08:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
MiniDLNA media server
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 6 [79 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2098
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jan 2016, 13:19    Post subject:  

Code:
minidlna
should work in a terminal if installed correctly.

If it's installed, see where it's installed with this in a terminal
Code:
which minidlna


If it returns
Code:
/usr/bin/minidlna
try that in a terminal.
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Slacko
Currently using full install: DebianDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4716
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jan 2016, 16:34    Post subject:  

BJF wrote:
When I do /etc/init.d/minidlna restart the cursor drops to the next line and waits as long as I do. There is simply nothing going on
Actually, that indicates that there IS something going on. Or at least minidlna thinks there is. The question is what? I will PM you with a couple of suggestions. (also included some notes about how to control/check firewall since it appears that LxPupPrecise does not have a firewall icon)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BJF

Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 242
Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jan 2016, 16:41    Post subject:  

trapster: I did as bid...


Code:
# minidlna
Usage:
   minidlna [-d] [-f config_file]
      [-a listening_ip] [-p port]
      [-s serial] [-m model_number]
      [-t notify_interval] [-P pid_filename]
      [-w url] [-R] [-V] [-h]

Notes:
   Notify interval is in seconds. Default is 895 seconds.
   Default pid file is /var/run/minidlna.pid.
   With -d minidlna will run in debug mode (not daemonize).
   -w sets the presentation url. Default is http address on port 80
   -h displays this text
   -R forces a full rescan
   -V print the version number
# which minidlna
/usr/sbin/minidlna
# /usr/bin/minidlna
bash: /usr/bin/minidlna: No such file or directory
#


...and got this.

greengeek: roger that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4716
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jan 2016, 13:08    Post subject:  

BJF wrote:
trapster: I did as bid...
Code:

# which minidlna
/usr/sbin/minidlna
# /usr/bin/minidlna
bash: /usr/bin/minidlna: No such file or directory
#
...and got this.
Interesting. The response suggests that the actual minidlna binary is in /usr/sbin not /usr/bin

I don't think that your best answer is to start the binary directly though. I feel you should stick to the syntax suggested by Shinobar. I still think your best option is to prove the basics using a CD boot first - then we work out whats wrong with your full install.

Just my 2c
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4716
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2016, 04:57    Post subject:  

Apparently external drives can be problematic for minidlna due to the number of files that need to be catalogued before the database can be built. The server can't start till the database is populated. If anyone is having problems like this I recommend trying a small usb stick with a few files and see if the server starts ok.
(You can check if the server has started by looking for the directory /tmp/minidlna - if it is not there then the server is not running, or at least has not finished building its database).

Some external drives go to sleep quite quickly so this might also cause problems for minidlna.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jan 2016, 11:21    Post subject:  

Multimedia files can be in a folder for DLNA use. External devices might not be necessary.

Again, for anyone new to the DLNA scene, starting by using @ETP's effort can save you time and allow you to gain understanding of DLNA on a network where you will play your multimedia files on a DLNA device. The primary benefit is that it runs, without anything local on the PC being in the way to test and insure you can stream and see those streams on DLNA home playback systems. Once you are comfortable that this "works", then you have a greater level of understanding and can replicate functionality, easily. NOTHING has to be done to begin using it. It is already preset with sample files and comes ready to go. If one chooses to extend media, you add it to the predefined location and it is instantly available to any LAN/Wifi DLNA device. This is just too too easy to see, test, understand, implement and add media.

Further, for other playback, SAMBA is built in similar to all the modern PUPs.

Hope this is helpful.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4716
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2016, 03:38    Post subject:  

Does anyone know if there is a dlna client available to run in a Puppy? It would be nice to stream between puppies using dlna.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 1994
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2016, 05:03    Post subject:  

google chrome has extensions dealing with dlna. Very simple, but turn firewall off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4716
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2016, 23:19    Post subject:  

@BJF - I don't know if you are still interested in trying to get dlna running in Puppy but I just wanted to make a couple of suggestions that may have had an impact on the non-starting of minidlna on your system :

1) I have noticed that there appears to be a typo in the original pinstall.sh installation script:
The pinstall.sh script contains the following:
Code:

RC=/etc/init.d/mnidlna
[ -x $RC ] && $RC condrestart

I have no idea what that code is trying to do - or whether it may impact operation within a full install but not within a frugal install - I guess that is a possibility. I assume that the code should read:
Code:
 
RC=/etc/init.d/minidlna
[ -x $RC ] && $RC condrestart


2) I have also noticed that the minidlna server software has a timeout somewhere and it stops responding to the network if it does not receive requests from a dlna client within a certain timeframe. Minidlna usually still appears in htop even though it has stopped answering the network.

The timeout I am referring to does not seem to be all that long - maybe 5 minutes? Is it possible that it may have timed out while you were trying to set up the TV? (I suspect this is not the case as you did not even see the minidlna in htop - but just thought I'd mention the timeout)
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4716
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jul 2016, 16:39    Post subject:  

Request for assistance - would it be possible for someone to test the following circumstance please?

- Turn off all dlna client devices (eg smart TVs, set top boxes, or any other PC or Android/iPhone etc that is capable of connecting to a dlna server) then start your minidlna server as normal.

Leave the server running for at least 15 to 30 minutes (without any connection attempts from client devices) then power on your usual dlna client device and try to access the server.

I am interested to know if the server still responds?

Under these circumstances my minidlna server is still visible in the list of running processes but does not respond to any connection attempts. I have to "restart" it before it will respond.

Thanks in advance for anyone who tests this.

cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 355
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Thu 02 Mar 2017, 21:28    Post subject:  

Nice job, Shinobar. Just loaded the sort one up in Puppy 571, and showing whatever I want from my desktop to my Roku. Thanks.
BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Devonian

Joined: 30 Mar 2017
Posts: 7
Location: U.K.

PostPosted: Thu 30 Mar 2017, 05:13    Post subject: Problem starting minidlna
Subject description: Missing file
 

When I enter restart in the terminal I get the following Message:-

'error while loading shared libraries:libavformat.so.62'.

From other posts I gather that this is because I have the wrong ffmpeg file loaded.

How can I load the correct ffmpeg with this library name. At present I have libavformat.so.8 loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2098
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Apr 2017, 11:24    Post subject:  

Try linking if the file is in /usr/lib/
Code:

ln -s /usr/lib/libavformat.so.8 /usr/lib/libavformat.so.62

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Slacko
Currently using full install: DebianDog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Devonian

Joined: 30 Mar 2017
Posts: 7
Location: U.K.

PostPosted: Sat 01 Apr 2017, 13:04    Post subject:  

Thanks Trapster,

I have now found libavformat.so.55 in that location but:-

When I enter the code:-

" In -s /usr/lib/libavformat.so.55 /usr/lib/libavformat.so.62 "

I get " bash: In: command not found. "

I'm using Slacko puppy 6.3.0 and it looks as bash is looking for different commands.

If I could find a source for libavformat.so.62 I could install it but I don't know which version of ffmpeg relates to this file.

Last edited by Devonian on Sat 01 Apr 2017, 13:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 01 Apr 2017, 13:08    Post subject:    

Try the only *other* character that could open that command.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 [79 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1345s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0158s) ][ GZIP on ]