Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 13:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fluppy 013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 39 of 133 [1983 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 22:09    Post subject:  

jonlowe wrote:
rcrsn51,
Thank you, that worked! I note that the filter package is newer than the one in PPM, which must be a key to this working. You are a master of CUPS, which I wish wasn't necessary for Linux. A print system that "just worked" would be a godsend for Linux. The 2600n has always been somewhat problematic, but I will say that the Ubuntu 10.10 handled it well, although I don't like much else of it. Too big and fat.

Jerimiah,
Can you put those pets in the PPM for Fluppy 007? They would greatly simplify things.

Thanks again,

Jon



We can have our own PPM, but between supporting and developing both Puppeee and Fluppy, I don't have time to maintain it. I need dedicated help by someone familiar with packaging to make it happen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 22:16    Post subject:
Subject description: Power management
 

8-bit wrote:
I actually am new to this thread of Fluppy so if this has been noted before I did not know.
But I just did my first boot of Fluppy on a Compaq Presario PC with 3 gig ram, AMD Athalon X2 4800 Dual-Core Processor, and Nvidia GeForce 6150 SE Graphics.
My eth0 was automatically set up and using xorg for my video card worked too.
But the thing that amazed me was that when I ran Hardinfo and selected sensors, it showed my PC temperatures as running almost 10c cooler than with other Puppy versions.

This might be off thread, but with that kind of difference, I think that feature should be part of Puppy 6, currently under development.


I'm hoping this will mature enough to get Barry to put it into woof - but a lot of it is still at the duct tape and bailing wire stage. Wink Making it work on diverse hardware is a challenge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jonlowe

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 22:20    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:

We can have our own PPM, but between supporting and developing both Puppeee and Fluppy, I don't have time to maintain it. I need dedicated help by someone familiar with packaging to make it happen.


Jemimah,
I understand. I wish I had the skills to help.

BTW, I just realized that I was reading and spelling your name wrong. My apologies!

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 642
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 03:32    Post subject:  

Hi all

Jemimah i just about know my way around http but I am happy working with ftp servers, packaging wise my limit is dir2pet etc and I know very little about adding dependencies to packages. but I will have at least an hour a day to help (doing anything I can), If I can be of any use just let me know what you want me to do and I will try to help

Stripe

Forgot to mention have about 500gb of spare storage space as well
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 10:19    Post subject:  

Awesome Stripe! I can help you if you get stuck. I'll send you a PM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jonlowe

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 10:34    Post subject: Chrome Fonts  

I've got Fluppy 006 working pretty much the way I want it now. Printing works, suspend and lid switch works, it looks good, fast and responsive. The last thing that is bugging me is font rendering in Chrome. Take a look at this page in Chrome:

http://deals.woot.com/sellout

The fonts are all messed up, especially on the right hand side.
Is there a font package I can install, or setting I can change to fix this? I did some searching, but didn't find anything really relevant.

Thanks for all your help.

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 11:08    Post subject:  

Read here: http://puppeee.com/bb/topic/chrome-and-firefox-browser-not-showing-fonts-properly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8557
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 11:57    Post subject:  

jonlowe wrote:
Do you know what changed in CUPS between Fluppy 005 and 006?

I tracked down a copy of 005 to see, and I don't think that anything changed. The various printing problems that were in 005 have continued into 006. You may have installed a patch in 005 that fixed something and have forgotten.

There are two issues:

1. The missing Ghostscript filters.

2. The foomatic-rip filter problem. This one has always been an issue when Puppy 4.3.1 is upgraded to CUPS 1.3.11, and there are a couple of fixes. The easiest one is to install the new binary version (as opposed to the current Perl scripts) as was recommended above. People using Gutenprint drivers won't see this problem, because Gutenprint doesn't depend on the foomatic-rip filter.

BTW, some acknowledgment from the lead developer about this situation would be appreciated. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 12:01    Post subject:  

Yup, I'm on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jonlowe

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 12:21    Post subject:  

jemimah wrote:
Read here: http://puppeee.com/bb/topic/chrome-and-firefox-browser-not-showing-fonts-properly


Thanks. I forgot that you have your own forum also.

BTW, the script for extra fonts has a mistake in it. An stray " is in it. I posted a correction on your forum.

The fixes you describe fixed the display issue. Can you suggest some default fonts and sizes to use in Chrome that display well on small screens?

Thanks again.

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 14:17    Post subject:  

I actually think the included deja vu fonts look pretty nice.

I'm been meaning to remove the hard coded minimum font size (or set it much smaller), but I keep forgetting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 18:21    Post subject:  

gnash in Seamonkey fails to render the video here:
http://www.syfy.com/rewind/warehouse13/1250146/

I get only a blank box. Anyone else seeing the same?

It works OK with Lucid 5.1.1, Seamonkey, and Flash.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 642
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Thu 07 Oct 2010, 04:25    Post subject:  

Hi all

The firefox sfs has been updated to 3.6.10
could someone please test it before it is uploaded to the petstore?

link: https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0BwWD08HgAd2yMDJhNzg2NTEtNDkyOC00NmM0LTk2N2QtZTMyODc0NDVhNWZi&sort=name&layout=list&num=50

Thanks
stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonlowe

Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri 08 Oct 2010, 09:56    Post subject:  

Jemimah,
Any chance you can fix the Fluppy 006 iso and repost it? I've got an old laptop I'd like to try with it, and it can't boot from USB, only CD.

Thanks.

Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Oct 2010, 10:01    Post subject: Re: Chrome Fonts  

jonlowe wrote:
I've got Fluppy 006 working pretty much the way I want it now. Printing works, suspend and lid switch works, it looks good, fast and responsive. The last thing that is bugging me is font rendering in Chrome. Take a look at this page in Chrome:

http://deals.woot.com/sellout

The fonts are all messed up, especially on the right hand side.
Is there a font package I can install, or setting I can change to fix this? I did some searching, but didn't find anything really relevant.

Thanks for all your help.

Jon


The problem is more subtle but exists in Seamonkey 2.0.8 as well.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 39 of 133 [1983 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0818s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0179s) ][ GZIP on ]