Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 22:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fluppy 013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 119 of 133 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
csshin

Joined: 14 Oct 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 11:18    Post_subject: Problem with full install
Sub_title: Full install boot up and stuck with sh-3.00#
 

To Jemimah or anybody that can help with full install

I have been using Fluppy 013 for a while. Added Chinese language pack and other packages, remastered it and used the remastered copy on several several machines successfully. Recently I bought a new PC without any operation system but an empty 500G hard disk. I tried to do a full install and used grub4dos to make the disk bootable.

When I boot, grub runs successfully, giving me a list of boot choices I set before. Then it displayed one or two lines and came to a halt with sh-3.00#.

With a usb keyboard, I cannot key in anything and the machine seems to have gone dead. With a ps2 keyboard, I can type in commands. An ls let me see the directories in the disk. It cannot run xorgwizard, probably it has not loaded it. xwin gives an error saying that it cannot a read-only file /etc/.xloaded.

I tried to use a fresh download of fluppy 013.iso or .zip to do the full installation. I also try to do it on several machine. No luck.

I suspect a bug in the full install procedure or in vmlinuz. I knew very little linux and puppy to get any further. Can anybody help. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 15:42    Post_subject: full install of Fluppy  

I don't have experience with a full install
but the first thing I would suspect is an
improper kernel line in my grub configuration file.

(Note that for grub2 it is called the linux line
because the word 'kernel' is replaced by the word 'linux')

You must point the bootloader to the right
partition

For instance if you have installed in hda9
you put root=/dev/hda9 in the kernel line


Here are the links to explain grub
http://www.troubleshooters.com/linux/grub/grub.htm
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1598&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=48

Other than that I know nothing Laughing

_____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
csshin

Joined: 14 Oct 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 08:02    Post_subject: Full install boot up and stuck with sh-3.00#  

I think I have get grub to direct to the correct partition, as after the booting hung, I do a ls and can see the directories of the full install fluppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 18:54    Post_subject:  

If you post your menu.lst file, we can have a look at it. Usually in the /boot directory.
_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
csshin

Joined: 14 Oct 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 21:05    Post_subject: Full install boot up and stuck with sh-3.00#
Sub_title: Full install boot up and stuck with sh-3.00#
 

My menu.lst file is as follows. It is generated automatically by grub4dos and I have edited the title and commented out the window boot section. Frugal boot is OK.

# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.7
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
timeout 10
default 0

# Frugal installed Puppy
title Fluppy013 Frugal
rootnoverify (hd0,3)
kernel /puppy013/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd psubdir=puppy013 nousbwait=1
initrd /puppy013/initrd.gz

# Full installed Linux

title Fluppy 013 (sda1/boot)
uuid 5a45137c-d016-4aa1-b42c-5923aec1aacb
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro


# Windows
# this entry searches Windows on the HDD and boot it up
#title Windows\nBoot up Windows if installed
# errorcheck off
# find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /bootmgr
# chainloader /bootmgr
# find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /ntldr
# chainloader /ntldr
# find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /io.sys
# chainloader /io.sys
# errorcheck on

# Boot from Partition Boot Sector

#title Fluppy 013 (sda4:PBS)
# uuid 5a45137c-d016-4aa1-b42c-5923aec1aacb
# chainloader +1

# additionals

title Find Grub2\nBoot up grub2 if installed
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /boot/grub/core.img
kernel /boot/grub/core.img

title Grub4Dos commandline\n(for experts only)
commandline

title Reboot computer
reboot

title Halt computer
halt
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr 2011, 14:37    Post_subject: media codecs missing  

Parole Media generates an error message on playback of one of its defaults. Anyone know anything about this media player and how to resolve this?

Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Mon 18 Apr 2011, 17:00    Post_subject: Re: media codecs missing  

gcmartin wrote:
Parole Media generates an error message on playback of one of its defaults. Anyone know anything about this media player and how to resolve this?

Thanks in advance

What type of file are you trying to play?
Here is a link to parole
http://goodies.xfce.org/projects/applications/parole

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM MSNM 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 14:29    Post_subject: grub4dos instructions  

csshin wrote:

# Full installed Linux

title Fluppy 013 (sda1/boot)
uuid 5a45137c-d016-4aa1-b42c-5923aec1aacb
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro


I have no experience with grub4dos but
shouldn't your hard disk be referred to as hda1
rather than sda1

I thought that was the convention.
Here's a couple of pages on grub4dos
http://diddy.boot-land.net/grub4dos/files/basics.htm
http://diddy.boot-land.net/grub4dos/files/syntax.htm

___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3437
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 14:38    Post_subject: grub4dos  

More info from

http://diddy.boot-land.net/grub4dos/files/multiboot.htm


To create an entry for Linux Puppy, add the following text/entry -
title Linux Puppy
hide (hd0,0)
hide (hd0,1)
unhide (hd0,4)
unhide (hd0,5)
hide (hd1,0)
find --set-root /vmlinuz
kernel /puppy400/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=puppy400 pkeys=uk
initrd /puppy400/initrd.gz

or,
title Linux Puppy
hide (hd0,0)
hide (hd0,1)
unhide (hd0,4)
unhide (hd0,5)
hide (hd1,0)
kernel (hd0,4)/puppy400/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=puppy400 pkeys=uk
initrd (hd0,4)/puppy400/initrd.gz rootnoverify (hd0,4)


_________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
myke


Joined: 15 Mar 2011
Posts: 102
Location: Québec

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 14:40    Post_subject:  

Most modern Linux distributions refer to hard disks as sda, sdb, etc. rather than hda, hdb, etc

That's because the drivers for these hard disks have been changed in the kernel.

The old pata drivers referred to hard disks with hd whatever while the new libata drivers refer to the same hard disks as sd whatever.

myke

_________________
AA1 D255E-keucr slacko 5.3;luci;mijnpup; tw-os; with:Emacs,gawk,noteboxmismanager,treesheets, freeplane, libreoffice, tkoutline, Sigil, calibre, calendar. magic&Noteliner(wine), kamas (DOS)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
csshin

Joined: 14 Oct 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue 19 Apr 2011, 22:20    Post_subject:  

Quote:


don570 wrote:
Quote:

csshin wrote:

# Full installed Linux

title Fluppy 013 (sda1/boot)
uuid 5a45137c-d016-4aa1-b42c-5923aec1aacb
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro


I have no experience with grub4dos but
shouldn't your hard disk be referred to as hda1
rather than sda1



I have actually tried hda1, sda1, hd(0,0). The results are the same. I think grub located the partition correctly. Only that vmlinuz stuck at some point.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 09:42    Post_subject:  

I still fail to get Pwidgets to work. Should one have to activate it in some odd way? or does it only work after reboot. Yes one should go to File? and start it somehow. Wow very frustrating. It doesn't behave that way on other puppies.
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1741
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 12:39    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
I still fail to get Pwidgets to work. Should one have to activate it in some odd way?


It''s not an odd way....turning on Pwidgets is in one of the menus....I had the same question and finally found the icon....one needs to search for it.

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 12:46    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
I still fail to get Pwidgets to work. Should one have to activate it in some odd way? or does it only work after reboot. Yes one should go to File? and start it somehow. Wow very frustrating. It doesn't behave that way on other puppies.


See here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=496230#496230
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 12:51    Post_subject:  

Thanks! It is all about logic and preferences. Smile
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 119 of 133 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1155s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0284s) ][ GZIP on ]