Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 15 Nov 2019, 20:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fluppy 013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 110 of 133 [1992 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Author Message
KJ

Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 176
Location: Above sea level .. about 320m

PostPosted: Thu 24 Feb 2011, 12:58    Post subject: midori 0.3.2  

Hi Jemimah, I noticed that midori 0.3.2 was released a few days ago. Might this new release be a good choice for your next fluppy or at least a SFS as I run minimal frugal save files? I appreciate your craftwomanship ... keep up the good work .... KJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5370
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 24 Feb 2011, 21:41    Post subject: French version of Fluppy available  

I made a French version of Fluppy 013.
Try it out.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=498662#498662

The instructions are simple.

1) a frugal install of Fluppy
2) choose French as your language and country
3) restart x server
4) install my pet package
5) restart x server again
6) in terminal type 'fixmenus' to create the French menu

_______________________________________


However there is one bug I have found.
After installing a new application , the
labels return to English. This requires the
user to type 'fixmenus' in the terminal again to
create the French labels again.


______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 25 Feb 2011, 19:27    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Geoffrey wrote:
Béèm said
"Thank you for your intervention.
But I have people in msn and in yahoo. I have no people in wlm.
Pidgin handles this very well in all puppy's except now in Fluppy. "

msn and wlm contacts are one in the same, I tried pidgin msn in wary_510 and can get all my wlm contacts without a problem.
I replaced the protocol for my msn account to wlm.
I can't connect nor to msn, nor to wlm.

As far as i understand, i should make a wlm account now, which is no option for me.


Béèm, I have also tried the wlm protocol along with facebook and yahoo in fluppy and they all works fine for me, you don't need to create a wlm account, so it seems strange that it's not working for you, hope you sort it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lucb

Joined: 11 Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Location: Belgium - Liege

PostPosted: Sat 26 Feb 2011, 13:33    Post subject:  

All my msn accounts work too even the one with a yahoo.fr adress
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sat 26 Feb 2011, 15:15    Post subject: Re: midori 0.3.2  

KJ wrote:
Hi Jemimah, I noticed that midori 0.3.2 was released a few days ago. Might this new release be a good choice for your next fluppy or at least a SFS as I run minimal frugal save files? I appreciate your craftwomanship ... keep up the good work .... KJ


Great News! I'll try to build the new version soon.

I've been on vacation for the past week or so - having just a little trouble catching up and getting back into the groove. Plus my day job is gearing up again so the development pace will probably slow down until I get my job stabilized.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5370
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 26 Feb 2011, 17:36    Post subject: trouble with nouveau driver  

I've had a lot of trouble with the nouveau driver for nvidia cards.

I've been booting up with pfix=ram to do testing work
and I get endless travail.

I think I have a procedure that works now.


During bootup procedure I choose xorgwizard.

I click test video.-----> I see that refresh rates are left blank.
That is bad sign.

I next choose to edit xorg.conf . -----> I change nouveau to nv
and save file.

I do video test again and a nice neat dialog box now
comes on the screen with the refresh rates filled in properly
but it says I am still using 'nouveau' (probably a bug in xorgwizard)

I can now proceed to boot up in the normal fashion
and everything is fine. glxgears works faster as well.

____________________________________________________


pupclockset is hidden away


__________________________


pschedule should be upgraded to version 1.0 and
placed in the menu.

_________________________________

I was forced to downgrade gparted to version 7.0
to get a version that would show French in the menus.


_____________________________________-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 27 Feb 2011, 22:24    Post subject:  

Jemimah, you should probably be aware that Fluppy 013 does not seem to work with my HP Pavilion s7220n. Yes, it is a desktop system, *but* it uses a Celeron M (laptop-type CPU), so it /should/ work...

FWIW, Fluppy 011 boots just fine. Haven't tried 012, tho.

On a partially related topic, please check your PMs at your earliest possible convenience...

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Tue 01 Mar 2011, 01:02    Post subject:  

jemimah,

I finally got around to loading Fluppy13 onto my Mini-9 netbook (frugal) and... wow! Connected straight away to my rooted Android cell phone -- with the Broadcom wl module as the default! That's terrific!

Buttttttt.... then I turned off my cell phone and went to a wireless hotspot -- and Fluppy13 was determined to connect to my missing cell phone wifi (and nothing else). Finally deleted my cell phone's wireless profile and Fluppy connected to networks that were actually available.

I generated a before and after diagnostics, if you are interested in seeing them. Just PM me if they might be of interest to you. One other thing that I did -- told Frisbee to ignore my ethernet connection -- shouldn't/didn't cause any problems with wireless, I would think.

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 01 Mar 2011, 01:21    Post subject:  

Fluppy 13 loaded fine on the ACER Aspire 5535-5452 AMD Athlon dual-core 64 laptop w/ ATI graphics.

Also looks good on the Samsung NB30 Netbook.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

Last edited by edoc on Tue 01 Mar 2011, 09:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tinker

Joined: 06 Dec 2007
Posts: 52
Location: Midwestern United States

PostPosted: Tue 01 Mar 2011, 03:26    Post subject: fluppy 013 fine on Lenovo S10e  

The subject says it all - fluppy 013 runs fine on my Lenovo S10e. I had previously used version 010. It feels like a big leap, especially in terms of application updates and many new utilities to tweak settings. I have several other puppy (not fluppy) installations which are much older, and I can see that I need to bring them up to a more current level to get similar goodness.

Great stuff, Jemimah.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 16:48    Post subject:
Subject description: Reducing laptop power level?
 

I don't see anywhere in the BIOS of my ACER Aspire 5535 laptop to do make the following adjustment - is this supposed to be done via an app after boot?

Is there such an app in (or for) Fluppy, please?

Quote:
To reduce the heating
———————
1-go to Power Options
2-Select Change Plan Setting
3-Select Change advanced power settings
4-Select Processor power management
5-select The maximum processor power
6-thin change the tow numbers of 100% to 50%
(you can make that for all Three plans)
________________________________________________________________________
- that’s make processor works very good in just 50% of it power all time
- and you Will not feel a great change in performance

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CLAM01

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 21:09    Post subject:  

edoc,

Look on your fluppy013 desktop for a 'control center' icon (top row). Click that and you should find "power options", "change..." etc. there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CLAM01

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 21:23    Post subject: CPU Temps and BIOS controlled Fans  

In applications where CPU temperature triggers a BIOS switch to start fans, when running Puppy linux (all flavors I have tried so far) you have to boot your puppy, run until the CPU temp is high enough for the BIOS to start the fan(s), then reboot so the BIOS will start the fan(s).

Puppies don't trigger BIOSs to start fans (in my experience).

Running with CPU frequency scaling lowers running temperatures, so temps won't go so high, and will rise slower, but if you have fans, as in laptops, you need to do double-boots to start them.

Note that fans will start when the BIOS gets a critical temp signal from the CPU, but critical temp is usually up around 90C.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 22:01    Post subject:  

CLAM01 wrote:
edoc,

Look on your fluppy013 desktop for a 'control center' icon (top row). Click that and you should find "power options", "change..." etc. there.


There is no icon for "control center".

There is "setup".

Is "control center" in the generic fluppy013 install?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 22:07    Post subject:  

BIOS - the fan - Puppy - ACER

The ACER Aspire 5535 had a defective cooling system for which ACER has steadfastly refused to provide a recall. (I don't buy anything from ACER any more.)

One may clean out the cooling system and replace the cooked thermal paste to reduce the rapid overheating but it does not last as the system is simply too wimpy to handle the power.

The fan runs continuously, but even mounted on a large laptop cooler it overheats, and under stress - even with an external fan blowing across the laptop and the laptop cooler - it overheats!

Turning down the operation of the laptop by 50% is the only way to stabilize it - meaning that the cooling system was under-engineered by 50% when it was designed and manufactured and sold.

So, those of us foolish enough to trust ACER paid for power we cannot use. Sigh.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 110 of 133 [1992 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, ..., 131, 132, 133 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1305s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0627s) ][ GZIP on ]