Fluppy 013

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#1861 Post by edoc »

Is Fluppy 013 the end of the line for development?

Just wondering.
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

Batch Scaling Jpegs?

#1862 Post by edoc »

I have several hundred large jpeg files I'd like to post online but need to reduce them to a manageable size.

Scaling them down one at a time is obviously not practical.

I read that ImageMagick has been compiled for Wary, but what about Fluppy?
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01943

Or, other recommendations, please?

NOTE1: I do have GIMP, if there is a way to do this via GIMP ...

NOTE2: Picasa is not an option, even if it would work, as I won't load anything from the privacy-disrespecting google-thugs on my computers.
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

User avatar
RetroTechGuy
Posts: 2947
Joined: Tue 15 Dec 2009, 17:20
Location: USA

Re: Batch Scaling Jpegs?

#1863 Post by RetroTechGuy »

edoc wrote:I have several hundred large jpeg files I'd like to post online but need to reduce them to a manageable size.

Scaling them down one at a time is obviously not practical.

I read that ImageMagick has been compiled for Wary, but what about Fluppy?
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01943

Or, other recommendations, please?

NOTE1: I do have GIMP, if there is a way to do this via GIMP ...

NOTE2: Picasa is not an option, even if it would work, as I won't load anything from the privacy-disrespecting google-thugs on my computers.
I use cjpeg and djpeg from the command line.

I typically make a copy of all the files, as I plan to overwrite them at the end (thus the original will be gone, and shrunk)

I typically write a script to do something like from the command line:

Code: Select all

djpeg -scale 1/8 -targa filein > filein.tga
cjpeg filein.tga > fileout.jpg
This produces a targa file (high-res, uncompressed format) at 1/8 scale, then compresses it back to a .jpg format. I find I have minimal visual losses from decompression and recompression like this (noting that jpeg, being a lossy format, cannot decompress and recompress without loss).

So I use "find" to produce the list, and my text editor (mg) to create a macro, to turn the whole list into the script above. I suspect that our resident script-guy (Bruce) could whip it into a generic script, to compress all of the jpgs in a directory.

The 1/8 scale shrinks my 10MP camera photos to a decent size for posting -- adjust sizes to taste.

Now let me look to see where I found this bundle, and how I got it working under Puppy (btw I did this under 5.20).

I believe that I may have used this .pet (I found a copy of it in my software collection):

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 770#297770

Edit: You can also do batch file processing with XNView (I just tried it with the older XnView MP 0.26). The .sfs is here (add through bootmanager to install, and reboot):

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=52508

Pemasu has created a combined .sfs in the last link.
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58615]Add swapfile[/url]
[url=http://wellminded.net63.net/]WellMinded Search[/url]
[url=http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html]PuppyLinux.US Search[/url]

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#1864 Post by edoc »

That worked perfectly! Thanks!!!

The next step in the process - now that I have 709 pictures from our recent VBS, batch-reduced to 800x600 ...

I'd like to stuff them into a simple slide show that is 'clickable'.

I found this code:

http://www.javascriptkit.com/howto/show3.shtml

The problem is that it uses specific names and I don't want to get into manually labeling every image!

Can I use a wild-card "*" for the name in code like this?

Or do I have to use another method to build a slide show that uses whatever images it finds in the folder?

I want to avoid anything proprietary like Silverlight.

Thanks!
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

User avatar
RetroTechGuy
Posts: 2947
Joined: Tue 15 Dec 2009, 17:20
Location: USA

#1865 Post by RetroTechGuy »

edoc wrote:That worked perfectly! Thanks!!!

The next step in the process - now that I have 709 pictures from our recent VBS, batch-reduced to 800x600 ...

I'd like to stuff them into a simple slide show that is 'clickable'.

I found this code:

http://www.javascriptkit.com/howto/show3.shtml

The problem is that it uses specific names and I don't want to get into manually labeling every image!

Can I use a wild-card "*" for the name in code like this?

Or do I have to use another method to build a slide show that uses whatever images it finds in the folder?

I want to avoid anything proprietary like Silverlight.

Thanks!
I know a friend of mine had set his Linux system to roll backgrounds, but don't recall how he did it.

Searching the Murga list for photo slideshow, I found this:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 667#398667

More hits for the term:

http://www.google.com/cse?cx=0159956439 ... =FORID%3A0

Also, many of the photo viewers are capable of slideshows (I believe that XNView will do it)
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58615]Add swapfile[/url]
[url=http://wellminded.net63.net/]WellMinded Search[/url]
[url=http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html]PuppyLinux.US Search[/url]

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#1866 Post by edoc »

Thanks!

I need something in the HTML, e.g. the Java, that any browser out there can handle.
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#1867 Post by edoc »

Here's another Java-based example:

http://www.codelifter.com/main/javascri ... show2.html

But it also requires hard-coding the individual image names.

This sounds possible but I am confused by the "S5" thing ...

http://meyerweb.com/eric/tools/s5/

This CSS-only solution sounds promising, but I had not been planning to bother with thumbnails at this point:

http://www.erdinc.net/image_enlarge/

This one uses PHP, which is available on the server, but I don't know if it is OK for all kinds of browsers ... WDYT?

http://askmichel.icoder.com/2006/08/21/ ... generator/

This says the code "adds slides dynamically" - will that work?
http://malsup.com/jquery/cycle/add.html?v2
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

User avatar
RetroTechGuy
Posts: 2947
Joined: Tue 15 Dec 2009, 17:20
Location: USA

#1868 Post by RetroTechGuy »

edoc wrote:Thanks!

I need something in the HTML, e.g. the Java, that any browser out there can handle.
I don't know anything about Java, but a quick Google for "browser based photo slideshow" turns up a number of hits:

http://www.google.com/search?q=browser% ... channel=np

How about cribbing from something like this:

http://panmental.de/public/programming_ ... 0in%20PHP/
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58615]Add swapfile[/url]
[url=http://wellminded.net63.net/]WellMinded Search[/url]
[url=http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html]PuppyLinux.US Search[/url]

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#1869 Post by edoc »

RetroTechGuy wrote: How about cribbing from something like this:

http://panmental.de/public/programming_ ... 0in%20PHP/
This looks very interesting ...

Are iframes compatible across all browsers?

From his text it appears as if that is so:

"To the best of my knowledge this is the first free single script solution that fades in and out of images and supports all newer browsers (IE 5.5+, Mozilla Firefox 1+, Opera 6+, Safari...)"

Thanks!
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#1870 Post by jemimah »

edoc wrote:Is Fluppy 013 the end of the line for development?

Just wondering.
Maybe. Probably until I get another job where I'm chained to a desk with nothing to do.

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#1871 Post by edoc »

Well, we sure appreciate 013 - it has been solid and well-supported with no need to look elsewhere.

I am happy for you that you are employed, albeit not where development is practical, many of us out here would like to find work in this politician-caused
long-term recession. :roll:
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

User avatar
maxpro4u
Posts: 293
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:20
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead
Contact:

#1872 Post by maxpro4u »

jemimah wrote:
edoc wrote:Is Fluppy 013 the end of the line for development?

Just wondering.
Maybe. Probably until I get another job where I'm chained to a desk with nothing to do.
I hope you get one soon :wink:
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236

yerc1
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 02:40

#1873 Post by yerc1 »

jemimah wrote:
edoc wrote:Is Fluppy 013 the end of the line for development?

Just wondering.
Maybe. Probably until I get another job where I'm chained to a desk with nothing to do.

Fluppy has been the best OS driving my netbook.
I can't thank you enough for the fantastic experience.

All the best for you Jemimah!

Volhout
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun 28 Dec 2008, 08:41

Continue

#1874 Post by Volhout »

Jemimah,

Can you think about asking someone else (TUUXXXX / TechnoSaurus / Bigpup, Barry ??) to start supporting Puppeee. It is such a pitty that soo close to the end, the project stalled. Many of the questions on the forum get an answer, but there are some things that need specialist involvement:
- some nasty bugs
- updating the puppeee pet store from 1.0 to current

You worked soo hard to get it to this level. Please make sure it gets finished !

Volhout



jemimah wrote:
edoc wrote:Is Fluppy 013 the end of the line for development?

Just wondering.
Maybe. Probably until I get another job where I'm chained to a desk with nothing to do.

Volhout
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun 28 Dec 2008, 08:41

Frisbee problem

#1875 Post by Volhout »

I post this here since fluppy 013 is very similar to puppeee, and since jemimah is out, there may be someone here to help me.

I am running Puppeee 44RC2 since release on a eee pc 1001ha. Originally from SD card. I have noticed that after a while intensive use on WIFI poluted area's (airport area) Frisbee stopped connecting. It was a test phase and I had several configurations stored (hotel, airport, home, work, other hotel, the neighbours wifi, clients office etc... At that time I needed the netbook, and I re-installed Puppeee on the SATA SSD (frugal install) but lost all diagnosics of what went wrong.

After running Puppeee from SSD for almost 2 months, the problem pops up again. This time I had 10 networks in my configuration list. I have been trying for a while to get it working again, but no luck yet. Observations:

- Frisbee scans the area correct. All networks are valid networks for the area (so wireless works). When a new encrypted network is connected, it automatically asks the question for the key. So there is wireless communication.
- Frisbee requests a IP adress, but in stead of "xxx.yyy.zzz.aaa" received the popup "wlan0 down" response comes all the time.
- Enable-ing wlan0 via the rightclick on the wlan tray item results in a double wlan0 down popup.
- Enabling wlan0 via F2 gives no result at all (the blue LED goes on and off, but no popups).
- When I try to edit the WPA configuration file (just tried....) I cannot save the file.
- I tried removing all wpa configurations except the current one, but no luck.
- I set the priority of the current one to 1 (was at 10 due to the long list I assume), no luck.
- My save file is only 1/3 used, so I don't have a storage problem.
- I installed Barry's SNS 2.1 ... just to try if it helps, and it gives at startup no name for the driver used for wireless (see attached). From there I tried to reinstall the driver "load driver" in puppeee network setup, pointing to the RT3090.BIN in /lib/firmware/, but it says "no new devices found". I think it also conflicts with the fact that network scan works.
- puppeee Network setup also shows there is no driver installed (see attached).

Is there anyone who can help me to get wlan0 working again. I am 100% sure that re-installing puppeee wil solve the problem, but I would rather remove some WIFI config files, and keep the rest of my save file. I have customized puppeee and installed a lot of stuff.

Regards,

Volhout



*********** last update **************
I rebooted the netbook from USB with the same puppeee 44RC2 install, used the save file from the SSD (the failing install) and nthat seems to work. Then I rebooted from SSD with the USB stick removed, and now the SSD install also seems to work again. Seems like the USB boot repaired something at either power up, or power down.
I'll do some more testing to find out if I get a clue.
***********************************
Attachments
puppeee_status_wifi.jpg
(109.52 KiB) Downloaded 336 times
puppeee_driver_not_loaded.jpg
(115.69 KiB) Downloaded 332 times
SNS_no_driver.jpg
(101.47 KiB) Downloaded 348 times

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

proper method to use Fluppy with nvidia

#1876 Post by don570 »

After using Fluppy for the past 4 months I've finally
found the best method to boot Fluppy and use
the 'nouveau' graphics driver which is used by
nvidia cards.

Method: Put pfix=nox in menu.lst file
Then when you boot up you will get a prompt.
Type in 'xwin' and the boot process will proceed
easily. Apparently the computer
now knows the correct vertical refresh rate to use.


EDIT : Unfortunately it's not consistent, sometimes it works
and other times it doesn't work and I have to click on test button
and edit the xorg.conf file.
____________________________________

I haven't checked this method with booting from a CD
but it should work. Just choose the 'nox' option when booting.

__________________________________________
Last edited by don570 on Thu 30 Jun 2011, 22:52, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hugh
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat 24 Jun 2006, 21:53
Location: Imperial Warmongering Dystopia of Amerika

#1877 Post by Hugh »

RetroTechGuy wrote: I don't know anything about Java, but a quick Google for "browser based photo slideshow" turns up a number of hits:

Long URL link (Hyper linked for example)

How about cribbing from something like this:

Shorter URL link (Hyper linked for example)

Hyper linking will tame those ultra long URLs which stretch
the width of the forum pages.
Various Old Computers 100MHz - 1.9GHz
First Puppy: 2.00 Presently: TahrPup 6.0.3
HDD Filesystem: FAT32/ext3; Frugal Always

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#1878 Post by edoc »

Anyone looked at Barry's work on proxy-setup?

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic ... &start=270

What proxy changing utility is available for Fluppy 013, please?

If I understand correctly could I do as below, substituting "Midori" for "google-chrome" and plugging in the desired national proxy IP?

(Presuming that Barry's modified proxy-setup is not to be preferred, or is unavailable for Fluppy, or some other utility is preferred.)

Thanks!
write a little wrapper-script to start chrome. example:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
export http_proxy="http://Proxy:80" #Fill in your data
export https_proxy="http://Proxy:80" #Fill in your data
google-chrome #or whatever the startcommand for your package is
exit
save this in your path e.g. in /usr/local/bin as start-chrome, make it executable. if you start it with start-chrome now, it should work.

aragon
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

User avatar
RetroTechGuy
Posts: 2947
Joined: Tue 15 Dec 2009, 17:20
Location: USA

#1879 Post by RetroTechGuy »

Hugh wrote:
RetroTechGuy wrote: I don't know anything about Java, but a quick Google for "browser based photo slideshow" turns up a number of hits:

Long URL link (Hyper linked for example)

How about cribbing from something like this:

Shorter URL link (Hyper linked for example)

Hyper linking will tame those ultra long URLs which stretch
the width of the forum pages.
Did it stretch the screen on yours?

I'm using Firefox, and it just wrapped the URL line on my screen.
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58615]Add swapfile[/url]
[url=http://wellminded.net63.net/]WellMinded Search[/url]
[url=http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html]PuppyLinux.US Search[/url]

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#1880 Post by edoc »

Is there a simple and reliable method to upgrade Claws-mail to 3.7.9 or does it require manually over-writing all of the various files across multiple directories, please?

I did not find anything doing a search or checking the Puppeee Petstore.

Thanks!
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

Post Reply