Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 14:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.00 G 185M
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 46 [688 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 09 Aug 2010, 04:42    Post subject:  

Your respect is appreciated, tz. SM has caused me so much grief over the years. At 233Mb, I don't really care if it rises to 243 or even 250; now, 50Mb is an entirely different story. Better to have the world's fastest browser, a well respected standalone email client and a proper HTML reader/writer, or comprehensive office suite in lieu.
My comment was, of course. a backhanded compliment. It remains my view that such a nice piece of work is spoilt by a single/triple shortcoming. But then, Fatdog64 does have some attraction. As gcm reluctantly admits, there is indeed a rising groundswell in support of my contention regarding SM, and of which I have never made any secret. As for the Mozilla foundation, some divisions fail to impress They certainly have made a hash of Eudora since Qualcomm gifted it to them. There was a time when every top secretary in the USA used Eudora on their home PC, even if disallowed in their office.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon 09 Aug 2010, 05:52    Post subject: 5d  

Hi Taz,
I seem unable to get C-F 0.7.9-1f to run at all in 5D. It worked fine in 5C. I tried C-F in KDE, LXDE and Xfce too. To be sure I did a clean install and retried with same C-F sfs. Same problem: not recognized. Operator error or ... ?

I got to my 5D save file from 5B and 5C through the upgrade route, as I have lots of little customizations and add-ons that are a pain to re-do each time. I was testing out the Xscreensavers in Voyager and found them to be running slowly and a bit jerkily. I then saw that most of the GL screen savers were now available within KDE. (Did you put them there?) I did a little testing with sproingies because it uses lots of video resources, and found it ran faster in KDE than in the Xscreensaver but still not at the rate that I would expect. I did a comparison using AntInspect and found that both had slower FPS than the 3D test. Thought that maybe something got messed up along the way through pets I'd installed and uninstalled, so I did a clean pfix=ram install (frugal of course) and went through the set up process (2 reboots) to get a working KDE after including the pet fix.
Result - sproingies now runs at about 27 FPS in KDE (much faster than using my old savefile) but only at 13 FPS in XScreensaver. Don't know why but at least with this new savefile the video performance is back where it should be. KDE desktop effects is also faster now but somehow they don't have quite the snap or look and feel that C-F has, (even after meddling with the variables in KDE).

For what it's worth I tried Chrome but it failed on some pages that I use a lot. Firefox does open them properly. I used Seamonkey in LHPup 3 gold and liked it. As I have now abandoned traditional email clients and use gmail almost exclusively, I find the combination of Firefox with Adblock plus (which removes all of those adverts in gmail quietly and unobtrusively) is best for me. It provides the most flexibility (and great spam filtering too) plus access from any connected device.
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 09 Aug 2010, 16:02    Post subject: Re: 5d  

Barburo wrote:
Hi Taz,
I seem unable to get C-F 0.7.9-1f to run at all in 5D. It worked fine in 5C. I tried C-F in KDE, LXDE and Xfce too. To be sure I did a clean install and retried with same C-F sfs. Same problem: not recognized. Operator error or ... ?
Nope, my oversight. I switched the /usr/bin/python symlink from python2.5 to python2.6 without updating some of the C-F scripts that needed python2.5. Will make a fixed C-F SFS available soon after testing it and I will look at Xscreensavers also.
Thanks,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 10 Aug 2010, 01:40    Post subject:
Subject description: Oversight?
 

How about another oversight?
When I rightclicked on the xdelta3 file in Lighthouse-5.00-Mariner, the xdelta3 or xdelta3GUI was not a listed option in either the main or openwith popup menu.
I admit that the command line one works, but this is the first I knew of it.
If you are offering xdelta3 updates, you should also offer the program to use as an option in the right-click menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 10 Aug 2010, 02:56    Post subject:  

Hi 8-bit,
It's there for me, I have no idea why it's not for you.

Might be interesting to try booting with pfix=ram and check the same file. Of course you could always just d/l the full version of the ISO!
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 10 Aug 2010, 13:16    Post subject:  

I had already downloaded the full Lighthouse C version.
That was the one with all the extra sfs files included in it.
The MD5SUM checked ok and I had been using it for a while.
When I dl/ed the xdelta3 file for the C-D version, it was the one for the same that I had downloaded earlier.
Sure, xdelta3 is available from the command line. But it is NOT in the right-click menu. And the offering in the main menu is for Xdelta.
And when the Xdelta GUI is run and you drag and drop the ISO and the xdelta3 files to the appropriate boxes, the Xdelta GUI just creates a delta file.

After the upgrade to LHP D, the games I had installed had disappeared from the menu and the corrupted pupsave file bug was back.
Did you or did you not include the revised shutdown script in revision D?
And finally, after the upgrade, the Xdelta3 option showed up in the right click menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smellyman

Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Wed 11 Aug 2010, 09:28    Post subject:  

Here is a question I can't seem to figure out.

When I imported my bookmarks to firefox, the bookmarks toolbar is displayed on the menu bar.

How can I accomplish that on other computers? Its a great space saving trick.
toolbar.png
 Description   Screenshot
 Filesize   5.36 KB
 Viewed   1023 Time(s)

toolbar.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 11 Aug 2010, 22:08    Post subject:  

8-bit wrote:
Did you or did you not include the revised shutdown script in revision D?
Yes, I did 8-bit. Please describe the partition that contains the pupsave. Is it on internal media or flash drive? What file system, ext 2,3,4, vfat or ntfs. Even though I use ext4 for my host part and ext3 for the pupsave, I still include pfix=fsck in my GRUB entry for peace of mind. If you are booting from CD just press f at the boot menu to accomplish the same.
smellyman wrote:
When I imported my bookmarks to firefox, the bookmarks toolbar is displayed on the menu bar.

How can I accomplish that on other computers? Its a great space saving trick.
View | Toolbars | Customize | Drag 'n' drop "Bookmarks Toolbar Items" up to the menu bar. View | Toolbars | uncheck Bookmarks Toolbar. (Reverse the process to restore.)

I'm struggling with anxiety this week, finding it hard to concentrate, and have only been able to work about an hour a day so forgive me if I'm slow to respond. This happens to me regularly and usually only lasts a day or two. Thanks for your patience.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smellyman

Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Wed 11 Aug 2010, 22:55    Post subject:  

tazoc wrote:
8-bit wrote:
Did you or did you not include the revised shutdown script in revision D?
Yes, I did 8-bit. Please describe the partition that contains the pupsave. Is it on internal media or flash drive? What file system, ext 2,3,4, vfat or ntfs. Even though I use ext4 for my host part and ext3 for the pupsave, I still include pfix=fsck in my GRUB entry for peace of mind. If you are booting from CD just press f at the boot menu to accomplish the same.
smellyman wrote:
When I imported my bookmarks to firefox, the bookmarks toolbar is displayed on the menu bar.

How can I accomplish that on other computers? Its a great space saving trick.
View | Toolbars | Customize | Drag 'n' drop "Bookmarks Toolbar Items" up to the menu bar. View | Toolbars | uncheck Bookmarks Toolbar. (Reverse the process to restore.)

I'm struggling with anxiety this week, finding it hard to concentrate, and have only been able to work about an hour a day so forgive me if I'm slow to respond. This happens to me regularly and usually only lasts a day or two. Thanks for your patience.
-TazOC


Thanks Taz. I will give it a go tonight.

No worries, take it easy.

I see you're from lower columbia basin in WA. I grew up in Kelso.... I see why there may be anxiety. Smile)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Thu 12 Aug 2010, 00:38    Post subject:  

Taz,
Sympathy for your anxiety attacks and take your time - don't let the tail wag the dog. Also you seem possessed of much more patience than I in answering any and all queries.
I consider experimenting with Puppy to be fun - let's keep it that way.
Ultimately, Lighthouse Pup is your creation, and I really admire where you've taken Barry's little system that can.
Peace.
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Thu 12 Aug 2010, 18:14    Post subject: AMD Sempron Problem  

Here's a strange quirk.
I have a new desktop - AMD Sempron Processor 3000+
I cannot get the CDs for LHP 5C or 5D to load.(I verified they work on my laptop).
A CD of LHP 4.1.2 loads OK and so does Fatdog64.
After booting from the CD and getting to the splash page, I've tried every combination of boot parameters but I cannot even see any messages. All that happens is the ... loading vmlinuz and initrd.gz messages, then "Ready".
I also set up grub, and tried booting after copying the files onto the hard disk but that also fails. Any known problems with AMD Sempron?
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CLAM01

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Thu 12 Aug 2010, 18:26    Post subject:  

8-bit,

I think you may be too enthusiastic to roll up your sleeves and get under the hood when you go to x-delta upgrade your lhp-mariner-c. The way we lazy people do is, first, make sure we have somewhere with about a gigabyte and a half of extra room, since we end up with two Mariner iso's. Usually that's in /mnt/home, not in a save-file. We make a new directory there and put into it our lhp-mariner500C iso (a silver disk icon), our lhp-mariner500-C-D iso-xdelta (a page witth green text) and our lhp-mariner-500-D md5 file (the usual blue text). Then, when you right-click on either the 500C iso or the iso xdelta you should get the xdeltaGUI menu entry at the bottom of the top group, right above "customize menu". If you left-click the xdeltaGUI on the Mariner500C iso you will get a fail, so left click the xdeltaGUI menu entry on the C-D Mariner iso xdelta file, thee green page. The GUI window should appear and say it is working and to wait.... When a new silver disk icon identified Mariner 500D iso appears, right-click on it then left-click the md5sumGUI menu entry, fourth from the top. It will check the integrity of the new D iso.
It's so quick and easy even us lazy procrastinators can get around to it and do it!
Note that to directly update your current installed frugal install instead of a copy of the C iso, you have to manually add the update files. That procedure is too complicated for me, so I just run the new iso and let it update in the usual "updating from...to..." puppy fashion.
Note 2 that sometimes menu-entries of added programs get lost in updating (also in running pfix=clean). If you open a console and type the program name it will start if it is still there. When I lose menu entries I put an icon on the desktop, because it is easier for me than learning to fix the menu (which I can never remember where is).

A couple of other things I do to slide by on the easy side, that you might find equally convenient are, in abiword, when the gui comes up full of text, just hit the new button. A new blank abiword gui appears and you can blow off the text-filled one behind it. And what we who are too lazy to open the hood and pull wires do to get rid of embarrassing start and stop sounds is move the top volume slider to zero and leave it there. It stays off through shutdowns and starts until moved back up, when we have to remember to move it to zero again, so not to upset librarians, wake the sleepers around us on the night-bus, or over-excite the pekingese of the lady on the next park-bench (or the lady if the sound is "hello", instead of "woof-woof").
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 12 Aug 2010, 23:55    Post subject:  

CLAM1
I did the xdelta3 update on a seperate partition with 120 gigs of space.
That enough for you?
I also have on that partition, a directory I call ISO_files that contains most ISO's I have downloaded.
As to the menu entries for installed programs disappearing when upgrading a pupsave file, that should not happen and when it does, the backups should be placed in /tmp in a directory specified.
The directory the upgrade process says they are put in does not exist afterword to recover said files.
I guess if you have a version of Puppy up and customized you should back up your pupsave before the upgrade so as to be able to recover those files.
Either that, or say to h with any upgrades and use what you have.
Especially if you got it working the way you want!

If I upset anyone with this, so be it.
The last Puppy version that I have used without problems, after some fixes, is Puppy 431 frugal Beta 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 13:07    Post subject: Re: AMD Sempron Problem  

Barburo wrote:
Here's a strange quirk.
I have a new desktop - AMD Sempron Processor 3000+
I cannot get the CDs for LHP 5C or 5D to load.(I verified they work on my laptop).
A CD of LHP 4.1.2 loads OK and so does Fatdog64.
After booting from the CD and getting to the splash page, I've tried every combination of boot parameters but I cannot even see any messages. All that happens is the ... loading vmlinuz and initrd.gz messages, then "Ready".
What graphics chip does it have? Could this be KMS related? Also there is a BIOS setting on some systems for C1E. Disable it if present in BIOS and try again.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 14:40    Post subject: C-F bug fix and GoogleEarth update  

Barburo wrote:
Hi Taz,
I seem unable to get C-F 0.7.9-1f to run at all in 5D. It worked fine in 5C. I tried C-F in KDE, LXDE and Xfce too. To be sure I did a clean install and retried with same C-F sfs. Same problem: not recognized.
I have updated the C-F SFS for 5D:
CompizFusion-0.7.9-1g.sfs 16M C-F bug fix for Lighthouse Pup 5.00 D

GoogleEarth-5.2.1.sfs 32M Google Earth version update
8-bit,
I've been working on the Xdelta3 bug you found and discovered that the context menu item is missing when the .xdelta3 is saved to an NTFS or vfat partition. I've fixed that for the next release and will update the mimetype, default left-click action and GUI as well. CLAM01's suggestion to save into /mnt/home or another partition rather than in main file system, (pupsave) is something that hadn't occurred to me. I don't know yet if that would be related to the bug.

I haven't observed or figured out the missing menu items at upgrade yet. I'm assuming you have updated the menus (in JWM/Icewm, Menu | Refresh Menus | restart WM) or fixmenus in a terminal | restart X).

BarryK noted a bug /tmp/versioncleanup missing at upgrade. I will see if I can find and incorporate that fix.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 46 [688 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1118s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]