Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 06:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.00 G 185M
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 16 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
efiguy


Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 21:40    Post_subject:  

Hi Tazoc,
- Have a mostly operating (cd boot+sda1) LHP-500c+Mariner. With so much "stuff" in Pprocess, how did you get it SO FAST!!!! -It is "Right There" at the end of a click!!!

-Plus really like the multiple Shell switching, but don't know enough yet to understand which might be better for building a TV viewing system - based on a 640x480 PC-video to NTSC Scan Converter. -Any Suggestions?

- About 9 or so months ago was experimenting with a Puppy (maybe LH-D) that would resize on the fly, which worked OK - except menus became so large at 640x480 that the position of a needed menu selection couldn't be reached as it was off screen. -I notice you have a neat global font size selection, is there any easy way of doing the format resize? It would be OK to stay in 640x480 mode if other programs and menus resized. With the current auto-start features - have not explored changing current screen size of 1024x768, more concerned now with TV streaming.

-By the way, how does one find addresses for the TV stream tuner?
-How can Gxine use the new encryption format that networks are moving towards?? (RTMP)

-Also, the future use would use a dedicated TV streaming machine (Dell Optiplex) with some limitations on clock and ram, is there a chance for paring packages to a minimum for lower ram quantity. Is that something like uninstalling menu items? -Can a newbie who does little inside Puppy accomplish that task?? -What kind of soft/hardware resources are required to remove packages?

-Appreciate your attention to detail, Website- [url]http://www.lhpup.org/download500.htm#SFS[/url] - do hope there might be some screen solutions, Appoligize for all the Questions,

Jay

Experimental PC
Have a frugal install of 490sfs (had to use the Mariner update to get a Gxine library to start the engine)
Gateway W340UA - with LHP 5.00c (co-existing with XP)
Nvidia GE Force 6100 Vesa Force Could use a driver- have 195, 173, and 96 on HD
WIFI RTL 8185 Driver (WIN) 5.1114.917.2009 not working, Not critical
ethernet Nvidia (WIN) 1.00.04.05027 Operating swell
Added Firefox -3.5.6.tar pet DEC 01-17-2009
(Did an about:config and toggled the 2 css "leaks" entrys to false - what were they thinking!?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jul 2010, 12:50    Post_subject:  

efiguy wrote:
Hi Tazoc,
- Have a mostly operating (cd boot+sda1) LHP-500c+Mariner. With so much "stuff" in Pprocess, how did you get it SO FAST!!!! -It is "Right There" at the end of a click!!!
Because it's based on Puppy/Quirky/Slackpup/Woof.
Quote:
-Plus really like the multiple Shell switching, but don't know enough yet to understand which might be better for building a TV viewing system - based on a 640x480 PC-video to NTSC Scan Converter. -Any Suggestions?
That depends on your preference--try them and go with what works best for you.
Quote:
I notice you have a neat global font size selection, is there any easy way of doing the format resize? It would be OK to stay in 640x480 mode if other programs and menus resized. With the current auto-start features - have not explored changing current screen size of 1024x768, more concerned now with TV streaming.
If you are asking for a resolution changer, see Menu | Settings | Wizards | Xorg Wizard | Resolution Changer, or just type xrandrshell in a terminal. Results may vary, and you may prefer to directly edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf to specify a particular resolution. Unfortunately some apps are difficult to fit in 640x480, though 800x600 usually works. If an app's window is cut off, hold down the Alt key and drag the window as required. If the menus are cut off I would try JWM or another WM. KDE4's Alternative Plasma Netbook interface might work well on small resolutions, but still needs recent hardware.
Quote:
-By the way, how does one find addresses for the TV stream tuner?
I'm not familiar with a TV stream tuner, can you be more specific?
Quote:
-How can Gxine use the new encryption format that networks are moving towards?? (RTMP)
I have no idea about Gxine. I understand VLC has quite a few codecs and formats supported.
Quote:
-Also, the future use would use a dedicated TV streaming machine (Dell Optiplex) with some limitations on clock and ram, is there a chance for paring packages to a minimum for lower ram quantity. Is that something like uninstalling menu items? -Can a newbie who does little inside Puppy accomplish that task?? -What kind of soft/hardware resources are required to remove packages?
I use Edit-SFS in the Utility menu to manually add/remove files from the main file. You might consider starting with the latest Slackpup as it is easier to build up a puplet than to slim-down an existing one.
Quote:
Nvidia GE Force 6100 Vesa Force Could use a driver- have 195, 173, and 96 on HD
I would try the NVIDIA 195. If it doesn't work please type report-video at the command line before switching back to vesa or nv and attach /tmp/root/report-video-full.gz
Thanks,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
efiguy


Joined: 06 Sep 2006
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jul 2010, 13:29    Post_subject: Lighthouse Pup 5.00 C 231M Xorg-xserver 1.7.7
Sub_title: resolution changer
 

Thank you Tazoc,

The resolution changer operated Perfectly, I'm sure that by using global font size that a menu compromise will be found, but thanks for the Tip for using the ALT key.
Also Thanks for the links and advice. - Probably use LH as is, works so well. -But someday need to learn how to do some of the "behind the scenes" work just to appreciate and understand Puppy construction even more.

Again thank You, a swell product
Jay
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 22 Jul 2010, 14:47    Post_subject:
Sub_title: rc.shutdown replacement
 

I tried out the rc.shutdown replacement script you sent me.
Glory be. It works fine with my spupsave.2fs reporting clean when doing an e2fsck.

The file gets placed in /etc/rc.d directory and replaces the original one.
I am attaching it for others that may want to try it.
rc.shutdown.tar.gz
Description  Replacement script for clean shutdown.
Put in /etc/rc.d directory, run a file system check on the unmounted spupsave file and then reboot.
gz

 Download 
Filename  rc.shutdown.tar.gz 
Filesize  15.64 KB 
Downloaded  228 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 13:01    Post_subject: OxygenOffice Professional 3.2.1
Sub_title: Is there interest in this?
 

@All,
I've built an SFS of OOOP - OxygenOffice Professional 3.2.1. It is very large at 425M and JRE (Java Runtime Environment) is not included. (I anticipate more frequent updates to JRE and JRE is already included in Mariner.) I haven't used the standard OpenOffice 3.2 enough to decide whether OxygenOfficePro is much better or just much bigger...

I'm disappointed that the online update feature responds with "Checking for an update failed" and the OOoWikipedia macro is broken (it was written for OOo 2.) I think the best part about OxygenOffice is the extra fonts, templates--and the LanguageTool extension I pre-installed so that you don't have to manually download and add with the extension manager. But I could probably do the same for LT with the standard OpenOffice SFS.

The OOOP site is http://sourceforge.net/projects/ooop and a rather outdated home at http://www.oxygenofficepro.com

If there is any interest in OOOP I will upload this so you can try it. If not I will try adding LanguageTool and a few Lighthouse tweaks to a future OpenOffice release.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 15:30    Post_subject: Re: OxygenOffice Professional 3.2.1
Sub_title: Is there interest in this?
 

tazoc wrote:

If there is any interest in OOOP I will upload this so you can try it. If not I will try adding LanguageTool and a few Lighthouse tweaks to a future OpenOffice release.
-TazOC
Definitely interested, but I don't know about it's advantages over OOO.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jul 2010, 02:34    Post_subject: Web Cams + wifi  

Hi TazOC,
I just frugally installed Lucid Puppy 5.03 and I see a webcam app is included called LUVCview by Michel Xhaard. It's basic but it works for my set up.
Any chance you could take a look and see if it is compatible with LHP? So far I have not been able to make my webcam work in LHP with Mplayer, VLC or any of the other media programs.

I still have a weird problem with getting connected the way I like to connect to wifi. I have a connect script that, when run from a terminal, always connects me. However, when I add the same script to the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local I find that it runs correctly maybe one in ten times (i.e. the sidebar shows me connected to wlan0 after the screen comes up after booting). If I look in /var/log/messages I see that the connection is established OK but it subsequently reports an error that "DHCP is already running" when it tries for a lease and then it disconnects. When it does work there's no such message.

You advised me earlier in this thread to add a line to my connect script that stops any dhcp process (which I did) but I have found that it doesn't solve my problem.

My reason for using a script is that I could not get the session to perpetuate using the wizard. I had to run the wizard each time I logged on so I set up the script. Running it after booting up is not difficult as the command is stored and an up arrow and enter runs the script each time but it's frustrating not being able to work out why it fails from rc.local.

I've tried tracing through where the init process could possibly be getting information about dhcp, I've followed rc.network (as far as I can make sense of it) but I cannot discover any process that does this. Could it be a timing issue? As I mentioned occasionally there will be no problem but I cannot see any difference when it does execute correctly.

The only other thing I can think of is that when I set up this version of LHP first, I used the network wizard that asks you if you want to keep these settings for the next logon. I had clicked "Yes" before and I assume that stores information somewhere (anyone know exactly what it does?) so that Puppy can attempt to wi-fi connect you next boot. Plus I've searched the forum and there's some references to folders and files (previous versions of puppy) that I don't see. Those that I have been able to find (in var/lib and etc) I have deleted but problem doesn't go away.

B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CLAM01

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jul 2010, 20:53    Post_subject: Oxygen Office  

Hi TazOC,
I'll try out OOOP if you provide an sfs. I do quite a bit of office application, using in a task instead of development environment.
I suspect that Oxy-Office is mostly a bulked up Open Office, with templates and clipart and such included, probably most grabbed from the ooo repositories .
The heart of all of what is now all OO (Open Office, Oracle Office, Oxygen Office) is Open Office. Oracle Office, the newest, is the new name for Sun's proprietary version that was Star Office. Releasing Star Office to open source was a smart move by Sun. The open source Open Office carries development ahead of Sun, for which the proprietary version that's part of Sun's applications suite, and that people pay for, is always behind the free ooo version, which it from time to time catches up with by incorporating the free developments.
My guess is that Oxygen is, and will be, doing the same thing, depending on the Open Office open development community for development and incorporating the developments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 25 Jul 2010, 01:27    Post_subject: Re: Web Cams + wifi  

Barburo wrote:
Hi TazOC,
I just frugally installed Lucid Puppy 5.03 and I see a webcam app is included called LUVCview by Michel Xhaard. It's basic but it works for my set up.
Any chance you could take a look and see if it is compatible with LHP? So far I have not been able to make my webcam work in LHP with Mplayer, VLC or any of the other media programs.
Hi Barburo,
I will have a look at LUVCview. I haven't been able to get my webcam to work in LHP.
Quote:
I still have a weird problem with getting connected the way I like to connect to wifi. I have a connect script that, when run from a terminal, always connects me. However, when I add the same script to the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.local I find that it runs correctly maybe one in ten times (i.e. the sidebar shows me connected to wlan0 after the screen comes up after booting). If I look in /var/log/messages I see that the connection is established OK but it subsequently reports an error that "DHCP is already running" when it tries for a lease and then it disconnects. When it does work there's no such message.
I studied the network connection scripts and couldn't find the reason why the wireless WEP settings seem to be forgotten on reboot. So the best workaround I have is to adapt your script to autorun at login (PET attached) and retry interactively if the first attempt fails. The script can be adjusted for startup delay and retry delay as desired. So far it works for me on the first try after rebooting ~60% of the time and the retry ~40%. If you're not in range of your access point, move the mouse pointer over the 'retry in 20 sec' splash to cancel the connection.
Hope it helps,
TazOC
LHP_ConnectWireless-0.1.pet
Description  WEP connection workaround for LHP 5.00 C
pet

 Download 
Filename  LHP_ConnectWireless-0.1.pet 
Filesize  1.99 KB 
Downloaded  221 Time(s) 

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Sun 25 Jul 2010, 20:02    Post_subject: Wireless pet  

Thanks Taz,
It worked for me! I never thought to try symlinking to startup.
Nice implementation with the "Connecting to Wireless" and "Wireless Connected" messages. I can't tell whether it needed to do any retries but I'll keep it in there and report anything I find. Thanks again for your reponse on this.
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 25 Jul 2010, 22:44    Post_subject: OxygenOffice Professional 3.2.1  

CLAM01,
Thanks for the information about Oxygen Office. Here is the SFS:
OxygenOfficePro-3.2.1.sfs 425M md5.txt

It has an optional Quickstarter trayicon. To enable, move OpenOfficeTray from /Startup/DisabledItems into /Startup.

Barburo,
I'm glad that ConnectWireless is connecting! Smile I will include the script and symlinks in DisabledItems for the next release.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1074

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jul 2010, 11:47    Post_subject:  

Ive had no luck with TrueCrypt 7 as of yet... running into a few problems that im trying to work around... i'll eventually figure it out. Razz
_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jul 2010, 14:01    Post_subject: TC7  

Hi Q5sys,
Don't sweat it, I just found a Slackware package of TC7 that works fine and plan to include it in the next Mariner. Just needed fuse-2.8.1-i486-1. It doesn't need the mount-FULL-puppy and wrapper script, it just works fine with the default mount-FULL. The compile, or slackbuild as they call it has a patch or two and some tricks I don't quite understand at http://connie.slackware.com/~alien/slackbuilds/truecrypt truecrypt.SlackBuild in the build directory. The binary is in the /pkg/13.1 directory.
Thanks for your time and effort,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jul 2010, 14:13    Post_subject:  

Hi TazOC,

Thanks for the OxygenOffice sfs, works fine, although I haven't used it enough to discern differences between it and OpenOffice. I'm still amazed at how fast and stable the new KDE4.4 is even with all the special effects. Now I hardly ever boot into Kubuntu since your implementation is better and faster.

Incidently there is a minor update to Bibletime.

Cheers,
Jim Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jul 2010, 04:13    Post_subject: WirelessConnection  

WirelessConnect Script:

It works. I've seen the re-try message a couple of times.
The placement of the sky-blue messages (Connecting and Connected) at the bottom interferes a bit with wbar on my screen. (I need to right mouse click to get wbar to reset). As the script is symlinked to startup it runs every time you reload X or change window managers, but I have not seen any failures when it runs like this, and it only takes a a second or two.

I decided to do a test with a new save file and discovered I can get wifi connected consistently through a script in rc.local if I do not run the connection wizard and answer "yes" to "Save for next boot?"

I thought that there may be something "left over" from the wizard that causes this. I booted 5c using pfix=ram and made a new save file called test. I did not run the wizard to connect to wifi, only my original script, which connected OK. I added the script to to rc.local, and rebooted several times - no problem getting wi-fi connected. I switched window managers and still no problems on boot. I decided to use your pet on my test save file, so I ran the wizard to get the parameters (I really didn't need to do this but I was following the instructions). I removed my original script and added ConnectWireless to startup, and found that sometimes it works first try and sometimes it doesn't, hence my conclusion.

So there are a couple of options but I guess the important thing is don't run the wizard if you intend using a connection script.

B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1272s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0140s) ][ GZIP on ]