Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 22:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.00 G 185M
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 15 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 22:07    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Taskbar volume Icon problem
 

When I click on the taskbar volume icon, I normally expect a volume slider.
But I get a sgmixer window open instead.
Normally, this would be ok.
But....
When I click the Exit button in that window, the taskbar volume icon disappears and I have to restart X to restore it.
So how about a true volume slider for the icon and sgmixer as a menu item?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 23:05    Post_subject:  

Hi 8-bit,
Yes, sGmixer is missing from the menus--I will fix that for the next release. Meantime, Zmixer is in the Multimedia Menu. What I do is minimize the mixer after using it.

I don't know how to put a proper volume slider in the IceWM tray. I think all the other WMs in Lighthouse do have that feature, although Xfce's may require Mariner.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
CLAM01

Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 00:26    Post_subject: volume  

Taz0c and 8-bit,
I like the volume control in Icewm as is. I run zero-volume most of the time, then, when I need, click it up with the tray icon, adjust, then click down, clicking on the icon again. Since the window is a good puppy it stays and reappears next time where it was told to stay. Mine right over the tray icon with the buttons down behind the tray, out of oops way. If you only adjust volume you can put the window down with only that slider showing and have only the roll-over disappear feature missing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Stormson5150

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 11:31    Post_subject:  

I commented out the standard mixer in /root/.icewm/startup and tried replacing it with absvolume, but it doesnt work at startup... Also tried linking it to the startup folder, that didnt work either... No problem, I just made a desktop icon and click on it at startup... Seems to work fine after that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 15:15    Post_subject: Streamtuner2, Vlc-1.0.6, Pidgin-2.6.5  

Streamtuner2 SFS Internet radio browser for Lucid Puppy, Slackpup or Lighthouse Pup 5

[2010.07.22 Updated VLC for Lupu and Slackpup]
Vlc-1.0.6-i486b.sfs 38M md5.txt A media player, encoder and streamer for Lucid Puppy, Slackpup or LHP 5

Pidgin-2.6.5b.sfs 5.1M md5.txt An easy to use, free chat client for LHP 5
-TazOC
Streamtuner2_VLC.jpg
Description  Screenshot of Streamtuner2 and Vlc in Lighthouse Pup
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Streamtuner2_VLC.jpg 
Filesize  508 KB 
Downloaded  257 Time(s) 

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1821
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 17:11    Post_subject:  

tazoc Streamtuner2 did not work for me.

I'm using a frugal Lucid Puppy 5.0. I mounted the sfs file by clicking on it. Navigated to /usr/bin/streamtuner2 [clicked]. It said it was borderless and starting streamtuner2 but it did not. When I ran it from a terminal it could not find a python command.

# ./streamtuner2
./streamtuner2: line 12: python2.6: command not found

Does it also provide a menu entry when mounted as I couldn't find a menu entry in multimedia or internet.

Thanks

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 18:12    Post_subject: Xscreensaver_fix#2-LHP5.00-C.pet  

Barburo wrote:
... also get this error with Voyager's screen saver each time a new saver is selected. Came up for first run of Voyager. Directory exists and file has universal read/write permissions. Operator error or ? B.
Here's a bugfix for the Xscreensaver "Error: Couldn't write /home/spot/.xscreensaver". It repairs the ownership of /home/spot recursively.

Please install this pet after installing LHP_5.00-C_update1.pet
-TazOC
Xscreensaver_fix#2-LHP5.00-C.pet
Description  Xscreensaver bugfix #2 for LHP 5.00 Cu1
pet

 Download 
Filename  Xscreensaver_fix#2-LHP5.00-C.pet 
Filesize  825 Bytes 
Downloaded  261 Time(s) 

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 18:41    Post_subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
tazoc Streamtuner2 did not work for me.

I'm using a frugal Lucid Puppy 5.0. I mounted the sfs file by clicking on it. Navigated to /usr/bin/streamtuner2 [clicked]. It said it was borderless and starting streamtuner2 but it did not. When I ran it from a terminal it could not find a python command.

# ./streamtuner2
./streamtuner2: line 12: python2.6: command not found

Does it also provide a menu entry when mounted as I couldn't find a menu entry in multimedia or internet.

Thanks
Hi smokey01,
It installs the same way as other Puppy SFS add-ons do. (This is different from installing a PET.) The procedure is described here. Once this is done there should be a Streamtuner2 entry in the Multimedia Menu. If not, open a terminal, type fixmenus and restart JWM.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 19:48    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Abiword PDF printing.
 

I load Abiword, insert some scanned images of pages with a page break after each page and if I select save as PDF, the processor maxes out and the save fails.
But if I save the file as an Abiword file, exit, and run PuppyPDF to convert the file to PDF, it works.
Since PuppyPDF uses Abiword for the conversion, is there a bug in Abiword as to directly saving to PDF within Abiword?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 21:49    Post_subject: Abiword  

Thank you for the workaround 8-bit. Smile Yeah, Abiword is buggy, I tried different versions and it didn't help. Considering it's <8M with plug-ins I think its good enough for now. If OpenOffice (>175M with JRE) was small enough for the base ISO, I'd use it to replace Abiword in a heartbeat!
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 01:15    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Personal Storage spave tray applet errors
 

I made a 512 meg personal spupsave file by using the prompts on my first install.
I added a few apps and 4 SFS files using Puppy Boot Manager.
Then Seamonkey updated to 2.06
The Personal Storage space tray applet showed 503 megs with 175 megs free.
So I used the option from the menu to increase personal storage space (spupsave).
I selected 512 megs as an increase and rebooted to LHP.
The tray applet still showed 503megs with 175 free.
I then did another size increase of 1024 megs and rebooted to LHP.
The Personal storage size and free space still did not change from the initial 503 megs with 175 megs free.
So is this a definite bug with the tray applet.
Edit:
Also, when I right click on the spupsave.2fs file, the size is shown as 2048 mbytes. Also, Pwidgets also shows it as a 504meg pupsave.

Also, running a filesystem check the unmounted pupsave from another version of Puppy showed block errors and other errors.
So isn't the Personal Storage space tray applet supposed to pick up the new pupsave size and display it properly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 14:01    Post_subject: Personal Storage tray applet discrepancy  

8-bit wrote:
...So I used the option from the menu to increase personal storage space (spupsave).
I selected 512 megs as an increase and rebooted to LHP.
The tray applet still showed 503megs with 175 free.
I then did another size increase of 1024 megs and rebooted to LHP.
The Personal storage size and free space still did not change from the initial 503 megs with 175 megs free.
So is this a definite bug with the tray applet.

Also, running a filesystem check the unmounted pupsave from another version of Puppy showed block errors and other errors.
So isn't the Personal Storage space tray applet supposed to pick up the new pupsave size and display it properly?
The large discrepancy between the freespace indicator and the actual size of the pupsave can occur when the pupsave has file system errors. You were on the right track with the file system check from another Puppy.

Let's assume your pupsave is named spupsave.3fs and is located on /dev/sda2 at /mnt/home/lhp/spupsave.3fs. Repeat the pupsave repair with the pupsave and its host partition, both unmounted, by booting from the Lighthouse 5 LiveCD with puppy pfix=ram,fsck at the boot menu. unmount the host partition sda2 with Pmount and check its file system in a terminal: e2fsck -vy /dev/sda2 Repeat until it runs clean. (If the pupsave is on a FAT or NTFS part, run chkdisk and defrag in Windows and reboot LHP with pfix=ram)

Next mount the host part and cd /mnt/sda2/lhp to change to the directory of your pupsave, type e2fsck -vy spupsave.3fs and repeat until the check runs clean. Then type resize2fs -pf spupsave.3fs (I learned that trick by studying the commands issued by GParted when it executes a Repair on a Linux ext3 partition.) Finally click on the pupsave to mount in ROX, navigate up to the icon in /mnt of the mounted pupsave and right-click | properties to verify the size and freespace. Unmount the pupsave by clicking again on spupsave.3fs and reboot.

My current setup includes pfix=fsck on the kernel line in GRUB, which in Lighthouse should run a file system check and resize2fs -pf on both the host part and the pupsave prior to mounting each. My pupsave is spupsave.3fs, in ROX size is 384M, freespace indicator is total 372M, free 169M. The minor discrepancy is due to the overhead and journal of the ext3 file system.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 14:59    Post_subject:  

I have a 40 gig partition on sdb3 formatted to an ext2 file system.
All other versions of Puppy, frugal installs in subdirectories, work fine and report the correct pupsave file size as well as free space on them.
But even after booting from a live CD of Puppy 431 scsi and doing
e2fsck -vy /dev/sdb3 and also then mounting sdb3, navigating to the light house pup directory and doing e2fsck -vy spupsave-500.2fs, I still got the Puppy Personal space tray applet showing 504 megs with 175 megs free.
I uninstalled the googleearth pet as a test and the free space increased.
But I am still at a loss as to the discrepency.
If I select properties of my spupsave-500.2fs file, the file size is shown as 2048 megs.
Also, if I boot back and forth between Puppy versions to check the spupsave-500.2fs file with e2fsck, I get block error reports, and a bunch of other errors that it corrects.
I run e2fsck twice each time and the second time, it comes up clean.
At this point, I am ready to just ditch the pupsave file and start over fresh with a BIG pupsave file.
BTW, Light House Pup with the Mariner SFS loaded is the only Puppy on sdb3 that has given me this problem.
Puppy 500 always has the pupsave file check out clean when checked with another version of Puppy running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 15:27    Post_subject:  

Sorry about the difficulties. Please carefully follow all of the steps in my last post, especially booting from the Lighthouse 5 LiveCD with puppy pfix=ram,fsck at the boot menu, e2fsck -vfy spupsave-500.2fs (try -vfy this time) then resize2fs -pf spupsave-500.2fs

I just resized my 384M spupsave.3fs up 128M with Resize Personal Storage file, rebooted and now freespace indicates 496M total, Freespace 298M. In ROX the pupsave is now 512M. I have 21 SFS files enabled in BootManager, including the Mariner SFS.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 17:41    Post_subject:  

I tried your suggestions as to recovering from the Personal Storage space tray applet displaying correctly and nothing changed until I did a resize from command line on my unmounted pupsave file.
I gave it a command to resize to the same size my pupsave file already was.
After that, and a reboot, the correct size was shown.
Thank you for the heads up though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1192s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0318s) ][ GZIP on ]