Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 13:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.00 G 185M
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 46 [688 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jul 2010, 11:40    Post subject: Re: LH 500C on Medion MD8818  

Béèm wrote:
I tried LH 500C now on my Medion MD8818 desktop. Ram 1GB, processors 2 (1.6GHz each), HDD 320GB sata. Nvidia GeForce 7650

With pfix=ram I got messages do_IRQ: 0.107 No irq handler for vector (irq-1)
But where I should have got the screen to select the keyboard I got a black screen.
Only the big power off button was active.

I added acpi-of then.
When booting from the CD you can type ram or puppy pfix=ram (one is a shortcut for the other). When booting from a GRUB bootloader, please add xforcevesa nomodeset to the kernel line. If and only if these fail, then add pci=noacpi or noapic or acpi=off or acpi=force, again with xforcevesa nomodeset, which is necessary to disable KMS for some video adapters in Xorg-xserver 1.7.7 and k2.6.33.2. xforcevesa does not actually force Vesa in Xorg, it basically tells KMS keep away!
Quote:
This time I got the keyb selection screen, but when I came to the X configuration and selected xorgwizard, I got a black screen again and had to hit the big power off button.

So again pfix=ram and acpi=off, but in X config did select the Nvidia entry and selected nv. I came to the desktop then.

I would like to know where this IRQ error comes from, forcing me to run with acpi=off. I prefer full functionality of acpi for standby/hibernating/proper power off etc....
If xforcevesa nomodeset is not enough and you do indeed need the acpi or apic kernel options, please google for more information as that is beyond my expertise, and none of my hardware needs it so I cannot experiment. You might also consider trying some BIOS settings, such as toggling the plug and play OS setting, if your BIOS setup has one.
Quote:
Htop indicates the two processors are active. Nice.

Needles to say, I have the same issue with accented characters in wine.
Did you try my PET in response to your earlier post on this bug? I'm putting together a service pack for 5.00C which includes the fix.
Quote:
Oh I almost forgot.
I have a strange problem with the 'hello' when coming to the desktop.
The sound repeats rapidly but in fractions. First the H then E etc... till after a while the sound stops.
The same at shutdown with the goodbye.

But a flv video or mp4 video play ok with sound.
However a video from youtube plays, but without sound.
Hmm, not sure about that, could acpi=off be related? Or maybe a conflict between the audio and video drivers? Maybe this machine just isn't compatible with LHP 5.00C. There are so many combinations of hardware, software and kernel out there, it's hard to support all of them!
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jul 2010, 16:25    Post subject: Update 1 for LHP 5.00 C  

A service pack PET for Lighthouse Pup 5.00 C is attached to the end of this post. It includes the following:

- CUPS Windows Printer via Samba bugfix (thanks to drblock2)

- Google Chrome wouldn't run as a normal user; /dev/shm permissions updated in /etc/rc.d/pup-dip

- Network_tray update (thanks to Barry K)

- Pnethood WinXP share password bugfix (thanks to Shinobar & drblock2)

- Qps bugfix (thanks to Barburo) qps is a process manager for Mariner or KDE

- ROX-Filer focus bugfix (thanks to drblock2)

- Wine keyboard layout bugfix (thanks to Béèm)

- Xscreensaver bugfix for Voyager (thanks to Barburo)

Install to LHP 5.00 C anytime, then restart X.
-TazOC
LHP_5.00-C_update1.pet
Description  Update 1 for LHP 5.00 C only
md5: 53d803cae5de1a69b141a96559178eb4
pet

 Download 
Filename  LHP_5.00-C_update1.pet 
Filesize  624.28 KB 
Downloaded  577 Time(s) 

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jul 2010, 17:39    Post subject: accented characters i wine  

tazoc wrote:
Did you try my PET in response to your earlier post on this bug? I'm putting together a service pack for 5.00C which includes the fix

I am sorry, tazoc, but somehow I missed that reply.

But I applied the service pack on my laptop.

Thank you, for applying a fix.
Happily typing accented characters now in wine also.

P.S. Will go back to the desktop later on and apply your advice.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jul 2010, 19:36    Post subject: LH 500C on Medion MD8818  

tazoc wrote:
When booting from the CD you can type ram or puppy pfix=ram (one is a shortcut for the other). When booting from a GRUB bootloader, please add xforcevesa nomodeset to the kernel line. If and only if these fail, then add pci=noacpi or noapic or acpi=off or acpi=force, again with xforcevesa nomodeset, which is necessary to disable KMS for some video adapters in Xorg-xserver 1.7.7 and k2.6.33.2. xforcevesa does not actually force Vesa in Xorg, it basically tells KMS keep away!
With xforcevesa nomodeset pci=noacpi I don't have that do_IRQ message anymore.

So I don't have acpi=off now, but that sound problem on hello and goodbye is still there.
Where could I disable this (prevent from running this hello and goodbye)?

And as expected, the wine patch took care of the accented characters on the Medion desktop as well.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jul 2010, 22:06    Post subject: broken login sound workaround  

Hi Béèm,
You might try this first. Copy and paste this into a terminal:
Code:
cd /usr/local/bin
mv wavplay wavplay.save
ln -sn /usr/share/mplayer-bin wavplay
That switches the wave audio player wavplay to mplayer (no gui). Then restart X to see if the login sound is normal.

If not, disable the login/logout sounds by renaming the symlinks:
Code:
cd /usr/share/audio
mv login.wav login.wav.save
mv logout.wav logout.wav.save
Hope that helps,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jul 2010, 17:31    Post subject: Re: broken login sound workaround  

tazoc wrote:
Hi Béèm,
You might try this first. Copy and paste this into a terminal:
Code:
cd /usr/local/bin
mv wavplay wavplay.save
ln -sn /usr/share/mplayer-bin wavplay
That switches the wave audio player wavplay to mplayer (no gui). Then restart X to see if the login sound is normal.

If not, disable the login/logout sounds by renaming the symlinks:
Code:
cd /usr/share/audio
mv login.wav login.wav.save
mv logout.wav logout.wav.save
Hope that helps,
TazOC
As a precaution, I configured alsa again.
I found 2 devices:
Code:
DESCRIPTION: VIA Technologies, Inc. VIA High Definition Audio Controller
VENDOR: 1106  DEVICE: 3288  KERNEL MODULE: snd-hda-intel

DESCRIPTION: Philips Semiconductors SAA7133/SAA7135 Video Broadcast Decoder
VENDOR: 1131  DEVICE: 7133  KERNEL MODULE: saa7134
but only the hda-intel one is offered to configure.
I did so, but there is no change.

I then reconfigured to use mplayer-bin. The sound login and logout plays normally except the last second or so is repeated. A little better but no cure.

I had to use the final idea and renamed the symlinks.

In the meantime I had installed quirky 1.2 and I have the same issue there. The 2bark.au at the welcome keeps repeating as long as the welcome.html is open.

However in none of the versions of lucid I have this problem with the same machine.

I may be wrong, but I had in mind that lucid, quirky and LH all have the same roots in woof, so I wonder why lucid is ok.

So for the moment I don't have that ugly repeating sound, which is a blessing.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jul 2010, 18:07    Post subject: Re: broken login sound workaround  

Béèm wrote:
In the meantime I had installed quirky 1.2 and I have the same issue there. The 2bark.au at the welcome keeps repeating as long as the welcome.html is open.

However in none of the versions of lucid I have this problem with the same machine.

I may be wrong, but I had in mind that lucid, quirky and LH all have the same roots in woof, so I wonder why lucid is ok.

So for the moment I don't have that ugly repeating sound, which is a blessing.
Hi Béèm,
Thanks for the updates, glad the workaround at least stopped the repeating sounds. I just fired up lupu 5.01, then quirky 120 in VirtualBox and found that lupu has alsa 1.0.22 while quirky and LHP have 1.0.21 and 1.0.20 respectively. That's according to alsactl --version anyway. Not sure if the alsa version is related to the repeating sound, but it might be.

I will put an alsa update on my to-do list anyway. The latest spup 040 has alsa 1.0.23. That's probably what I will use for the next LHP. I'm also updating ffmpeg and MPlayer, recently compiled by Barry K. That's needed for an updated Kdenlive 0.7.8 SFS based on Battleshooter's work. I'm also putting together a VLC 1.1.0 SFS for the next release.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 16 Jul 2010, 19:07    Post subject:  

TazOC, thanks for the update.
You seem to have nice plans.
Looking forward to see them.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stormson5150

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 11:36    Post subject:  

Hey Taz...

Long time no type... Been pretty busy these past few months... How are you doing?

Seems that you've been pretty busy too! Checking out LHP5c.... And all I can say is WOW man.. just wow!

Each LH seems to get better, but this one is the best yet, and seemingly rock solid...Awesome work bro!

There IS one deal breaker though... And its one I cant seem to figure as yet...Truecrypt.

When attempting to access an encrypted container, I get the following result:

mount: according to mtab, truecrypt is already mounted on /tmp/.truecrypt_aux_mnt1

However, /tmp/.truecrypt_aux_mnt1 does not SEEM to exist, or I would attempt simply deleting it...

I get this response even with a clean frugal install... Installing truecrypt 6.3a from the install.bin garners the same result as well. Incidentally, you're truecrypt is not readily visible on the menu that I can tell...

As I encrypt pretty much everything, and am still interested in building a security pup at SOME point, possibly using LHP as the perfect base, this is a fairly large problem for me.... Any ideas?

Also, though not very important to me, it may be of interest to you, that Amarok's script engine is fairly well unusable, as opening the script control shoots the CPU up near 100% and locks Amarok up, staying that way and requiring the entire application to be killed...

Other then that, all seems well as far as my testing has gone...All the following are full slackware 13.1, installed from the PPM.. Installing stunnel took some pretty serious reconfiguring of the stunnel.conf,but that is due to slackware's config... tor required the addition of libevent-1.4.so.2 which seems to reside happily alongside so.1 with no problems... And tork of course required the addition of the KDE3 libraries, but works fine once the full KDE3 libs are added, which seem to have no ill effects on the stardard KDE4 libs...

Thats about all I can give ya right now in way of testing... As all else seems to work fine out of the box from my limited tests... I do hope very much that we can get to the bottom of truecrypt this issue...

Thanks for all you're hard work and I hope this helps some....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 13:42    Post subject: TrueCrypt workaround; Amarok 2.3 scripts  

Stormson5150 wrote:
There IS one deal breaker though... And its one I cant seem to figure as yet...Truecrypt.

When attempting to access an encrypted container, I get the following result:

mount: according to mtab, truecrypt is already mounted on /tmp/.truecrypt_aux_mnt1

However, /tmp/.truecrypt_aux_mnt1 does not SEEM to exist, or I would attempt simply deleting it...

I get this response even with a clean frugal install... Installing truecrypt 6.3a from the install.bin garners the same result as well. Incidentally, you're truecrypt is not readily visible on the menu that I can tell...
Hi Stormson5150,
I just mounted an encrypted ext3 container file (AES 256) from an ext4 partition in TrueCrypt 6.3a with no errors. First make sure the "Do not use kernel cryptographic services" is checked in TC Settings | Preferences | System Integration. Also check /usr/bin/truecrypt in ROX-Filer. It should be a script that switches the symlink /bin/mount-FULL from the Slackware mount-FULL-slackware to the puppy version /bin/mount-FULL-puppy. If you don't use PcManFM or Dolphin file managers, just type in a terminal
Code:
ln -snf /bin/mount-FULL-puppy /bin/mount-FULL
truecrypt-bin
and TC should mount your encrypted container to /media/truecrypt1 with no errors.

If this fails or you do need the aforementioned file managers or TC is not in your Utility Menu, mount your Mariner SFS (5-Mariner-5C_490.sfs) in ROX and restore /usr/bin/truecrypt (the script) and /usr/bin/truecrypt-bin (the binary) to /usr/bin, and the .desktop file /usr/share/applications/truecrypt.desktop. You may also need to restore /bin/mount-FULL-puppy and its symlink /bin/mount-FULL from the spup-490.sfs main file.

Refresh your menus and TC should be in the Utility Menu. If not, let me know which window manager you're using.

If TrueCrypt still won't mount even with /bin/mount-FULL linked to mount-FULL-puppy, let me know what file system you chose for the encrypted file and what file system the container resides on and I'll repeat my test with that setup.

Re: Amarok, yes the Script Manager panel does not work. Amarok 2.3.0.90 in Lighthouse 5C's KDE SFS is a beta version as the final requires Qt4.7, and will be updated as soon as I am able to incorporate Qt4.7 into KDE. Also the Shoutcast browser script in Amarok was broken by recent changes in the Shoutcast website and platform. StreamTuner's Shoutcast browser is broken for the same reason. Both Amarok and VLC have been forced to remove their Shoutcast plugins by contractual/closed source license conflicts and adware demands of AOL's Shoutcast management. You can still export your existing playlists and import them into other players or open any stream's URL in Amarok (Playlist Menu | Add Stream.)
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1048

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 15:21    Post subject: Intel driver Q1-2010
Subject description: Clutter-1.2.8 Cairo-1.9.6 Xf86-video-intel-2.11.0
 

Clutter-1.2.8 & Cairo-1.9.6 & xf86-video-intel-2.11.0
Here is the Q1 driver for Intel graphics. I was going to go ahead and include cairo-1.9.8 in this, but decided it needed a bit more time to see if it was stable.
You will still need to use the KMS stuff that TazOC has previously mentioned in this thread.

I have run into no issues as of yet with this, if you do... please let me know and i'll see if I can figure out a work around or how to fix it.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stormson5150

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 15:41    Post subject:  

Hi taz...

Sorry, no good news to report so far...

Have replaced the truecrypt script, the truecrypt-bin binary, as well as mount-FULL-puppy and mount-FULL link... Hehe and the .desktop as well. And yes kernel services are off...

Still no love.... from ROX or the CL... I'm at a total loss here...

The container is 50G, formatted FAT (so as to have access from various computers\OSs), and resides on an external USB drive, on a 200G ext2 partition. LHP is a frugal install, running from an ext2 partition on the internal drive, but get its save and .sfs files from an ext3 partition on the external USB drive....

Havent tried using the FMs you mention, will do so shortly...

Should be pointed out as well that I have been using this setup for some time, but this is the first time I've run into this particular hiccup on any puppy, including previous LHP's... ~shrugs~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1048

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 16:23    Post subject:  

Stormson5150 wrote:
Hi taz...

Sorry, no good news to report so far...

Have replaced the truecrypt script, the truecrypt-bin binary, as well as mount-FULL-puppy and mount-FULL link... Hehe and the .desktop as well. And yes kernel services are off...

Still no love.... from ROX or the CL... I'm at a total loss here...

The container is 50G, formatted FAT (so as to have access from various computers\OSs), and resides on an external USB drive, on a 200G ext2 partition. LHP is a frugal install, running from an ext2 partition on the internal drive, but get its save and .sfs files from an ext3 partition on the external USB drive....

Havent tried using the FMs you mention, will do so shortly...

Should be pointed out as well that I have been using this setup for some time, but this is the first time I've run into this particular hiccup on any puppy, including previous LHP's... ~shrugs~


I just followed the instructions TazOC posted on a clean install and was able to get TC to mount a FAT formated encrypted partition. At first I got the same error you did, but when I changed used
Code:
ln -snf /bin/mount-FULL-puppy /bin/mount-FULL
truecrypt-bin
in the CLI, it then worked fine. attachments of TC1 was prior to using the shell command, and TC2 is after I did and then loaded TC and was able to mount the partition.
(I dont use dolphin or pcmanfm)


EDIT:
Ok so I just noticed this... if from the command line:
If I launch with the command
Code:
truecrypt
I get no error.
If I launch with the command
Code:
truecrypt-bin
I get the error.
This is AFTER I did the command line entry that I listed above.
Try running each version of the command from the CLI and see if the same happens with you.
TC2.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  TC2.png 
Filesize  269.67 KB 
Downloaded  360 Time(s) 
TC1.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  TC1.png 
Filesize  315.79 KB 
Downloaded  356 Time(s) 

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stormson5150

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 17:16    Post subject:  

Hmm.. Ok... Starting to get someplace now... Though not sure WHERE LOL

Re-did a fresh install and loaded ONLY the Mariner sfs...And the CL did indeed work...

Thing is I have a bunch of SFS's loaded in my main system, as well as numerous software installs...

When I get a chance later, I will begin going through each SFS in turn, as that is the most expedient, and testing to see if any of them break it.... If it isnt one of them, then I'll start looking at the applications, though THAT would end up being a nightmare due to the amount involved...

I did notice a .hal-mtab file under the media directory where truecrypt1 was mounted, and the error was that mtab was reporting it already mounted... I will go back and look for that file under my main system and check that out as well....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 17:37    Post subject:  

Stormson5150 wrote:
Hmm.. Ok... Starting to get someplace now... Though not sure WHERE LOL

Re-did a fresh install and loaded ONLY the Mariner sfs...And the CL did indeed work...

Thing is I have a bunch of SFS's loaded in my main system, as well as numerous software installs...
Maybe one of the software installs replaced /bin/mount, which is a puppy-based script in LHP. If a Slackware /bin/mount is present that would explain why TC is giving an error as the mount script calls /bin/mount-FULL, whereas a Slackware binary /bin/mount would not. I have not been able to figure out exactly why TC won't work with the Slackware mount except that IIRC TC in Mariner was compiled in Puppy 4.x.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 46 [688 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1345s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]