Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 21:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.1- A Full-Featured Compact Distro
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 127 of 145 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, ..., 143, 144, 145 Next
Author Message
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 11:11    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Hi stu90

Quote:
(snip) ...and downloaded the 3.0mb "stellarium_0.10.5-0ubuntu1~ppa1~lucid1_i386.deb"
and installed on puppy lucid 5.1 now when i start stellarium is shows as .0.10.5 - does that mean the whole stellarium has been updated ?


I just did what you did and same result.. however, did you notice that there was a 35M data file in that link also? Don't know for sure, but a fair bet would be that that is part of the full update.

Cheers


hi 01micko just updated my post before reading yours - i have installed the 35M date file as well now as some things (plug-ins) were not working with just the 3 M download - every thing seems to work as it should with both installed Cool

Also booted pfix=ram and installed all the dependences for 0.10.4 (but not stellarium 0.10.4 its self) from the ubuntu repo along with the 35M and 3M 0.10.5 .deb files from launchpad and it works so both are .deb files are needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 14:43    Post_subject: dreamchess for Lucid  

Here's another game for Lucid 5.1:

Dreamchess 3D chess game where you can rotate the board viewing angle. Comes with a few themes. Just under 5MB.

Get it here:
http://www.datafilehost.com/download-ed913c71.html

Tested on Lucid 5.1 I'm not sure about Quirky as yet. I'll have a go later tonight.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website AIM 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 16:03    Post_subject:  

Can anyone recommend a USB fax modem compatible with Lucid?


@scsijon
Thanks for the tip about the video refresh frequency. Sure enough lowering it to 30-80 from 30-85 did the trick and I am now at 1024x768 with my Intel 865G video!

@sinc
Now I can see the WM Switcher menu entry thanks to scsijon Smile

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 17:34    Post_subject:  

Béèm wrote:
playdayz wrote:
Quote:
At each connection to the puppy forum I get 'address not found' try again.
I push try again and I get the next post or whatever I did.


I thought that this was because murga-linux.comn is very slow in responding many times. I think sometimes a request gets lost and if I click Stop and then again click the link it often goes through. But if it is not that then we can add an update when the solution is found.
The fact that murga-linux.com was slow was my first idea also.
But I have the same issue with other web sites.
For the moment I exclusively use lucid.
But the fact that the nameserver entry just disappears is strange no.
In order to make this reply, I had to run the connection setup again.
The response I typed earlier is lost in cyberspace.
Just after posting this, I booted from quirky 1.2 and used it up to now.
I never had the issue that the nameserver entry in /etc/resolv.conf disappeared. I didn't have to setup the connection again either.

However some times I had to push 'try again' in SeaMonkey.
It looks to me also that SeaMonkey did run snappier in quirky.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 18:57    Post_subject:  

Béèm, Right now Firefox is running perfectly for me--no delay at all <well almost>. I took a hint off the forum and Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Network -> Settings and checked No Proxy. It hasn't worked this well in a while.

If others could try that we could put it in an Update if it really helped.

The suggestion is from DaveS
Quote:
Good chance as I have had something similar with Firefox in both Quirky02 and Quirky NOP, though the connection remains intact. try changing the way Firefox connects to the internet, edit>prefs>advanced>network>settings, no proxy, or maybe configure that differently. No Proxy has been working for me.....

BTW, I also set the cache at zero..
.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Tronkel's Dreamchess game and also Seamonkey 1.1.18 (as per rjbrewer's suggestion) are now in the puppy-lucid repo of Puppy Package Manager.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/Packages-puppy-lucid-official

You can download the index file and copy it into /root/.packages in order to avoid the hassle of updating the repos. The seamonkey is the package from Puppy 4 but it seems to work nicely. Seamonkey shows missing library files--but they are not really missing. I will fix that.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 19:29    Post_subject:  

Playdayz, FireFox isn't SeaMonkey, but I am certain you knew. Wink
I use SeaMonkey.
As far as I knew I never use a proxy and the option has normally been set at such, but nevertheless I checked.
And to my surprise proxy was set to 'use system proxy setting'.
Don't know how that comes, I didn't do it on purpose.
I changed also to no proxy now. Will see if there is a change.

Some 3 hours ago I installed wary 030 and am running it now.
The nameserver entry in /etc/reslov.conf didn't get erased.

Tomorrow I'll retry lucid with no proxy. Too late now at 01:28 am.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 20:26    Post_subject:  

Béèm wrote:

And to my surprise proxy was set to 'use system proxy setting'.


I believe that is the default, I will ask on the Seamonkey support discussion list for an explanation.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 21:52    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Béèm, Right now Firefox is running perfectly for me--no delay at all <well almost>. I took a hint off the forum and Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Network -> Settings and checked No Proxy. It hasn't worked this well in a while.

If others could try that we could put it in an Update if it really helped.

The suggestion is from DaveS

.


do you mean that by default your proxy is on, strange, as mine has been off from the start and my record book of default settings say I haven't played with this setting.

you may also find it can increase further by installing the "googlesharing" extension in add-ons, it actually does the reverse but still allows you to control whether you are or not. I know it gives me a positive bump when on dialup.

regards
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 22:16    Post_subject:  

Quote:
do you mean that by default your proxy is on, strange, as mine has been off from the start and my record book of default settings say I haven't played with this setting.

No, it was set to Use System settings for proxy, which I also believe is the default.

All of my browsers seem to be running well tonight--no trace of the Try Again message.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
LXDE

Would anyone like to fix this up for us--or would a group collaborate on it? I got a tip from Eyes-Only today that he had it running so I made the pet.; It needs some work but it could be very useful. For one thing, it (Openbox) is compositable, at least I understand that it is, which means compiz could run, and that is a goal for our next version.

http://www.diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Lxde-0.5.0-Lucid.pet

I installed the pet and then started it by exiting to a prompt and running 'xwin lxde' Eyes-Only said he had written or rewritten the startup script--maybe he will send it. Thanks.

The menu is a mess and lxterminal does not run--those are two things I noticed. And, oh yes, the onlyw ay I could exit from it was CTRL-Alt_Backspace.


.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 22:22    Post_subject:  

It appears from one site that it will run on 32 or 64 bit, so good in Lucid and Fatdog64. Yes?
_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 23:33    Post_subject:  

playdayz wrote:

No, it was set to Use System settings for proxy, which I also believe is the default.

All of my browsers seem to be running well tonight--no trace of the Try Again message.
.


strange, maybe it was turned off back in the 3.5.5 pet which i used as a base. Nowadays I just over copy the personal data and amend the pointer file in .mozilla after install on a new system.

oh well

5.1 seems to be doing it's job now, take a deep breath, next up 5.2 Laughing

scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sat 14 Aug 2010, 00:58    Post_subject:  

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5867
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 14 Aug 2010, 01:10    Post_subject:  

Cool. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5237
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 14 Aug 2010, 01:49    Post_subject:  

If Puppy had the support Ubuntu has, it would be #1.
No. 2 means you can still get better and I know Puppy Linux will! Cool Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 14 Aug 2010, 03:11    Post_subject:  

7 day ranking Laughing
could we make it to 1 tomorrow?

woof woof
dog biscuits all around

Anyone started a bit torrent for 5.1?

I am waiting for Playdayz to start a 5.2 thread
for 'Luci' - using that name for slight differentiation Smile

ideas can be added here (comments won't need registering until we get a spam problem)
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Puppy52

Puppy Can Can
Woof Powered

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 127 of 145 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 125, 126, 127, 128, 129, ..., 143, 144, 145 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1193s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0290s) ][ GZIP on ]