Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 02:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Lucid Puppy 5.0 - Bug Reports and Bug Fixes
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 19 [285 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1907
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 14:29    Post subject:  

I've noticed an annoying problem of non-refreshing areas in both Firefox and Rox, I use the Rox that came with Lupu and Firefox from Quickpet.

When I put a window on top and scroll down in Firefox, the area behind it isn't refreshed. The same happens in Rox when scrolling in list view. I'm not sure about this, I think it started when I installed nvidia drivers. It needs further investigation.

Someone reported this already.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
valpy

Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 67
Location: Looking at the tapestry

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 14:38    Post subject:  

Hi 01micko

I can confirm the problem with the uk keyboard (on two separate computers).

UK keyboard does not work, you can see this by booting livecd with

boot: puppy pkeys=uk

after a short while you get

"loading 'uk' keyboard layout ........ failed"

and then the boot pauses for 60 seconds before loading the default (us) keymap.

Using other locales (e.g. pkeys=de) works.

Regards
valpy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2114
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 14:54    Post subject: Lucid Puppy 5.0 - Bug Reports and Bug Fixes
Subject description: upgrade
 

Sage wrote:
Interesting. The live CD is fine. However an attempt to UPGRADE a FULL install of Q1.0 yields a broken Xorg/VESA combo. The default vga=normal removed from the boot line didn't help, just get the 'run xorgwizard' every time. Wiped HD - OK, but all icons missing (lower lhs icons were overlapped on liveCD). Re-run Xorgwizard, they all appear except sr0 (no disc present!).
Lots of good ideas, needs pots of refinement and polish.


This is what I get on a full install of Lucid Puppy 5.0
screenshot.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  screenshot.jpg 
Filesize  44.19 KB 
Downloaded  639 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 15:02    Post subject:  

I always use setxkbmap se and you guys say it should be pkeys se what is the difference?
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ariel


Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 16:32    Post subject: black screen with first boot  

I'll tell you my experience so far with a frugal install of lupu and suggest to newbies some fixes for some troubles I met.

the first boot the screen on my laptop went black the moment it should have started X and freezed. after a while I discovered the xorg wizard wilfully tried to use intel i810 driver for my video card, which is not good for the hardware of my laptop (256Mb ram/ 2Ghz). I have to tell that puppy 4.x series didn't have this problem.

what I did to make it work is to boot with

puppy pfix=nox


...to stop the X server from trying to start. then I typed

xorg-setup.old

I have chosen the keybord layout and then I have chosen the generic Vesa driver with the appropriate screen resolution (if you don't know what to chose try the lowest possible resolution). After that I typed

xwin

...and finally I got lupu up and running. After reboot things were fine.


-The only thing I don't like still, is an almost imperceptible flicker of the screen. any idea on how I can settle this?

-Another glitch is that the icons of new devices always overlap in the bottom left corner of the screen.

-I've also experienced a slow pointer movement like others. I would suggest for any mouse problems to download FlSynclient pet from previous puppy versions to fix everything that might occur. It worked for me.


these few things aside, thanks guys for this new version of puppy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
upnorth


Joined: 11 Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Location: Wisconsin UTC-6 (-5 DST)

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 16:40    Post subject: blkid & ldconfig
Subject description: blkid & ldconfig
 

blkid & ldconfig should probably be included.

also in ~/.jwm/ please check on the file permissions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 17:09    Post subject:  

Just a word of warning and advice.
Always have a backup.

I experienced a nasty thing. Saw a flash about some puppypin error, but couldn't see the detail and it was gone.

After that I has troubles to continue running the SeaMonkey session.
I wanted to close but that didn't work.
I then wanted to restart X. I couldn't select from the menu.

I then did ALT-CTRL-backspace to get to the command prompt. Typed xwin, but I came to the prompt again. No way to restart X. When typing reboot I could restart the PC.

All seemed well again, except that I realized I lost all my bookmarks of SeaMonkey. Fortunately I had somewhere a copy dated half april.

I really can explain more what happened. I was just replying to a post.
Never had such an issue.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pitagora

Joined: 16 May 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 17:55    Post subject: lupu-500.sfs filename for lupu_500.sfs in Lucid Puppy iso  

I think the name of the lupu_500.sfs in the iso file should be changed to lupu-500.sfs. It took me a while to install Lucid Puppy in a manual frugal install. I extracted directly the files from the iso download and configured grub. However things did not work first time because the lupu_500.sfs file is not valid when booting in frugal mode, it had to be lupu-500.sfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 18:17    Post subject: Re: lupu-500.sfs filename for lupu_500.sfs in Lucid Puppy iso  

pitagora wrote:
I think the name of the lupu_500.sfs in the iso file should be changed to lupu-500.sfs. It took me a while to install Lucid Puppy in a manual frugal install. I extracted directly the files from the iso download and configured grub. However things did not work first time because the lupu_500.sfs file is not valid when booting in frugal mode, it had to be lupu-500.sfs.
I don't know what iso you downloaded, but the one I downloaded from the official site did contain lupu-500.sfs and not lupi_500.sfs.
Are you sure, you didn't mistype something?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
valpy

Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 67
Location: Looking at the tapestry

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 18:23    Post subject:  

@nooby

pkeys=uk as a boot parameter forces puppy to use a uk keyboard, no matter what has been set in a pupsave (or in this case, lupusave) file. psave=se would force a Swedish keyboard. This is a very crude override, but you can be sure of what Puppy should do, after setting this.

It's a one-off setting, relating only to that particular boot.... if you boot again without this boot parameter , whatever you have set as a default in your save file will be used.

My point here is that the UK keyboard does not work. If you force a boot with a UK keyboard, it fails. And if you set UK keyboard as a default using the setup gui, that doesn't work either - you always get a US keyboard.

Forcing the boot to use 'uk' proves that the 'uk' settings are broken in Lucid Puppy.

Although other keyboard settings (se, de) work, uk does not.

valpy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nickdobrinich

Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 77
Location: Cleveland OH USA

PostPosted: Sun 16 May 2010, 21:12    Post subject: ext3 save file corruption
Subject description: ext3 save file corruption
 

Gentlemen,
Great job on the Lucid 5.0 release.

I had problems when I created my initial frugal install save file with ext3.
Thinking it might be hardware related, I tried it on 2 other machines.
Same problem: creeping corruption of the save file but never a total fail.
Seems to me I have seen this ext3 problem in other recent Puppies.

When I restarted anew and saved to ext2, all was good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4790
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 17 May 2010, 02:21    Post subject:  

Re. k/b. never understood why BK didn't make the GB keyboard as default? Unless he's an Aussie Republican, in which case kb=au is utterly acceptable. The mutt has a strong Commonwealth following. Anyway, why are Aussies so disinterested in cricket this morning?!
Like Béèm, I also got an Error: something/something/usr/something pin full message. Too many 'features' with Lupu at present makes it into a kit distro, so abandoned until patches fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Mon 17 May 2010, 04:51    Post subject:  

Dvorak keyboard does not work either.First and only Puppy version that will not do it.I have posted this before with Zero Reaction. I guess that I am in the definite minority.
Enjoy the 20-20 result and wait till the real stuff starts.
Regards Dennis.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Mon 17 May 2010, 06:44    Post subject: Chromium bug?  

I got a "security cert revoked" error when accessing gmail this morning, see attachment. Firefox does not show any problem though. Other sites in Chromium OK. Thought it might be my DNS settings but I get the same result with default settings and with
Code:
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220
nameserver 8.8.4.4

Weird.
googlerevoked.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.43 KB
 Viewed   880 Time(s)

googlerevoked.jpg


_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smog

Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Mon 17 May 2010, 10:06    Post subject:  

I also cannot get the uk keyboard setting to work.

The locale and timezones don't appear to change either.

The screen flicker mentioned by others is present on both my Samsung Q35 Centrino and my Dell Mini 9 netbook. Its quite slight and happens every couple of minutes. (This sort of flicker used to happen in very early Ubuntu versions with NVidia graphics on another laptop I have, an NVida driver update fixed that). I think BK has noted this happenning in some of his blogs on other versions.

Other than that, looks good, thanks for all your work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 19 [285 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0924s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]