Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 14:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
KDPUP = KDE 3.5.10 + dpup 484 beta 4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 16 [239 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2086
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jul 2010, 21:26    Post subject: KDPUP = KDE 3.5.10 + dpup 484 beta 4
Subject description: wine
 

I made a pet of wine1.2rc5 in Quirky 1.2 and used it in kdpup, works great.I downloaded the windows version of the apple safari browser and tried it out in wine, it's works well too!Things to do when you get bored Smile
oldcrow.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  oldcrow.jpg 
Filesize  136.89 KB 
Downloaded  413 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
noabody

Joined: 08 Jun 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul 2010, 17:47    Post subject:  

This is a really nice distro. It's packed with great programs. I added Citrix, Java, and x2go. This really works great! Thanks to the creator.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 11:26    Post subject: wbar invisible
Subject description: var no fix
 

I can't get to see wbar. The file is there, and I followed the advice to change the file in var to show "true" instead of "false." It didn't work; maybe I changed the wrong command. Since I can't get the right click on the desktop to show applications, the wbar would be very valuable for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 12:03    Post subject:  

If you change wbon file to true (don't forget to save it before close Razz ) then it should run - try to launch it from terminal if it doesn't start from wbar gui
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 13:35    Post subject: Still no wbar
Subject description: tried the suggestions
 

I had changed the wbon to "true" from "false" (and saved it). Going back, I noticed that the wbar files in root and elsewhere had a space preceding each item in the first (background) set. I took out the spaces, but that made no difference either. Any other suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 13:42    Post subject: Wbar from the terminal
Subject description: no good
 

Trying to launch from terminal I get:
using /root/.bar88
using a superbar
I did take out the spaces in /root/.wbar
I don't know what a superbar is.
Still languishing without wbar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 487
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 13:42    Post subject: Wbar from the terminal
Subject description: no good
 

Trying to launch from terminal I get:
using /root/.wbar for config file
using a superbar
I did take out the spaces in /root/.wbar
I don't know what a superbar is.
Still languishing without wbar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 02:04    Post subject:  

I will take a look later and make a pet or something, I think gposil had some patch related to wbar.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 02:51    Post subject:  

And remember - you can also add another kde panel and add launchers to it Wink
wbar totally works too, just need to check what prevents it from starting.
BTW, try to take full wbar command from /root/Startup/dpupstart script and run from terminal.
/root/.wbar is fine as it was, no need to change anything.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 05:50    Post subject:  

Hey people, what do you think, should I make a lighter version of kdpup?
I was thinking kde desktop only + konqueror, konsole and maybe few more apps, without additional printer drivers, games, media editing apps that probably noone uses, etc...

Which apps should I keep?
Maybe gimp and amarok / vlc?

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 07:11    Post subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
Hey people, what do you think, should I make a lighter version of kdpup?
I was thinking kde desktop only + konqueror, konsole and maybe few more apps, without additional printer drivers, games, media editing apps that probably noone uses, etc...

Which apps should I keep?
Maybe gimp and amarok / vlc?

I'd love to get my hands on the slimmest KDE pup you can make... Very Happy

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 07:45    Post subject:  

Oh so slimmest one? Smile
Well, if I just add kde on top of dpup it would be about 230 MB I think.
If I removed some apps from dpup I guess I could squeeze it into 200 - mini CD size Razz but I doubt I would manage that - can't be bothered to remove stuff, only to add Laughing Still, kde + konqueror/konsole and ff would be some bare minimum.
GIMP and VLC are kinda must have apps too but I can try to make kde desktop only base iso.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 16:55    Post subject:  

I just made an iso - it's 218 MB without firefox (well, since konqueror is also a browser, not just file manager it can serve at least to download different one if you don't like it Laughing
Other then firefox I think I haven't removed anything that was in dpup so it should be possible to trim it down to 200 MB. Rolling Eyes

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5723
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jul 2010, 17:28    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:

I'd love to get my hands on the slimmest KDE pup you can make... Very Happy


Me too. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2648
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 11 Jul 2010, 09:48    Post subject:  

I'm gonna upload iso when I get the chance - it's 220 MB with konqueror browser only - no extra apps and stuff but most applications from dpup are still there too.

BTW, anyone knows how to solve screen locking problem when running kde screensaver locker? Auth system fails, I've read about this on net - kcheckpass is not a problem since it's already running as root so it has all permissions it needs so I guess it's a problem in pam daemon/configuration I have no idea how to write one.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 16 [239 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0786s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0113s) ][ GZIP on ]