Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 00:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
KDPUP = KDE 3.5.10 + dpup 484 beta 4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 16 [239 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 02:05    Post subject:  

Yes, in konqueror file manager you can use Right click -> Open with then in command box put "filemnt"
If you use rox it has usual puppy file associations.

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 502
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 08:30    Post subject: Opening iso's -- solved!
Subject description: filemnt
 

Thanks. Now my KDPup is perfect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 502
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 17:40    Post subject: Can't Access Sites with Firefox  

With KDPup and Firefox 3.6.10 I can't access some internet pages; in particular, links in Ebay and other commercial sites. I get a message that the server cannot connect. I never had this problem with other Puppies or with Firefox. Does KDPup come with some sort of firewall or other security device, and how do I turn it off?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 19:09    Post subject:  

Uh oh, um, no, there's no firewall by default but I did add the hosts file that blocks ads and similar stuff, try to replace it and see if those sites work then, here, these are contents of puppy's original hosts file:

Code:

127.0.0.1 localhost puppypc
192.168.1.1 pc2
192.168.1.2 pc3
192.168.1.3 pc4


hosts file location is in /etc/hosts

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 502
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 22:08    Post subject: Browser Limitation solved!
Subject description: Now I get the ads
 

Thanks for the help. I never would have found the solution myself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bwh1969

Joined: 25 Oct 2010
Posts: 132
Location: Allentown, PA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Nov 2010, 18:26    Post subject: Graphics not detected properly on Asus 1201T  

The screen has a resolution of 1366x768 with a RS780M/RS780MN Radeon HD 3200 Graphics controller. It would not start X: I did manage to get X to start by replacing /etc/X11 contents with the contents that were created on Puppy511 Lucid. This got me to a 1024x768 screen maximum even though the xorg.conf listed the 1366x768 as the only option using the "radeon" driver.

FYI - just so if you work on a later release. I fiddled with it for a while and it looks great except the lower res sort of ruins it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 03 Nov 2010, 18:45    Post subject:  

Thanks bwh1969, not sure what causes it but I'll remember that.
_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Bligh

Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 484
Location: California

PostPosted: Tue 30 Nov 2010, 23:33    Post subject:  

Thanks for kdpup. It is great having pup and kde3 in the same distro. Is there a way to install Seamonkey? I installed sm 1.1.18 and had a long list of missing dependencies and no sign of Seamonkey.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 03:06    Post subject:  

Yes sure I guess precompiled tarball from their site should work, 2.0.10 is newest seamonkey version.
http://www.seamonkey-project.org/releases/

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Bligh

Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 484
Location: California

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 05:53    Post subject:  

That worked, but about the time I tried to edit the start menu the keyboard plug came out. I now have an icon in the system tray. Then I figured out the plug was out. Also have an exti link on the desktop.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CosmiCat


Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 03 Dec 2010, 14:28    Post subject:  

Hi dejan555

my PC: mb: Asus P4PE-X TE with 512mb memory, P4 2,4 Ghz
v. card : Matrox Millennium G550
scsi adapter: Adaptec AVA-2904

I’m a new user. I wanted to try KDPUP but during the boot at the “Performing a Switch_Root to the layered file system” stage I get this message: Kernel Panic - Not Syncing: Attempted To Kill Init !
The keyboard LEDs flashing and nothing more.
Also, for my needs, there should be the scsi driver in the kernel, why it is often left out from the distros?

p.s. I installed the Kpdf package that you posted in april 2009. All works great and thanks to the KDELIBS4c2a.pet, even K3B is running perfectly. Thank you very much Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 03 Dec 2010, 15:32    Post subject:  

Hi CosmicCat I'm sorry that it doesn't work for you.
Do you have any swap besides that memory?
Try the lite iso maybe if not, full might be too big to load in 512 MB if you don't have swap.
Frankly no idea about scsi drivers I based this onto dpup 484.
New lupu has scsi drivers iso maybe you can use it with iguleder's trinity sfs to get kde desktop.
Good that kde apps work, yeah I made separate pet for kdelibs because then you can get most additional kde applications working.
Thanks for report, might be usefull if osmeone has same specs machine.

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
CosmiCat


Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 03 Dec 2010, 17:06    Post subject:  

Hi dejan555
Thanks for the suggestion. Some time ago I had tried KDPUP on another machine, slightly more powerful (similar motherboard, nvidia based graphic card and same amount of memory) with the same result. If it can be a problem of memory , I’ll try KDPUP on a more powerful PC of a friend of mine (and attract one more to the magic of Puppy Linux).
In addition I’ll try the lite version as soon as I can and I’ll submit a report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bligh

Joined: 08 Jan 2006
Posts: 484
Location: California

PostPosted: Mon 06 Dec 2010, 13:20    Post subject:  

I am running kdpup 484 on 768mb mem. Also I am trying the light version on less memory, how can additional apps be installed in the light version? Vector linux kde classic live can be run and installed with 256 mb mem. It looks good also, but of course does not have the puppy extra's.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2718
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Tue 07 Dec 2010, 10:17    Post subject:  

you can install most kde apps from debian lenny repo debs for kde 3 since all core kde libs are in light desktop. If you have some specific requests I might repackage it as pet.
_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 16 [239 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0719s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]